We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in Fremantle. The hotel is very well kept and clean. The staff friendly, helpful and courteous. We stayed in a superior room, which had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The room size was good, and the bathroom fine. We didn't have the $30 breakfast (recommend Moore and Moore 2 mins round the corner) and I felt $18 for 24 hours internet was steep, those points aside, we would visit again. If it wasn't for the above 2 points I probably would have scored it 5 out of 5.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phase_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Greta you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of the local culture, Moore and Moore is a popular Uni cafe not fer from the hotel that is patronised for cheap eats. Plenty of other options also nearby for travellers wanting to eat out and experience some great venues around the hotel.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    648
    296
    91
    36
See reviews for
221
733
61
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect location. Walking distance to the cappuccino strip in Fremantle & fisherman's wharf.
Large room with spa. Super comfy bed and pillows.
Good food in the hotel restaurant, cosy bar. Didn't really need to leave the hotel for anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
How nice to get such a positive review from a senior reviewer! I am very glad you felt at home with us and we had everything available to meet your needs! The location is excellent and getting better with all the new venues and options of activity around us, including the park over the road that generally always has some great festivals or events happening...The next big on is the Chilli Festival, it has an amazing collection of chilli, food and drinks that people rave about.. Hope we see you back with us soon.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Esplanade for the best part of a week not including a few days break visiting Margaret River. We are feeling very at home here - the staff are very friendly and helpful particularly the concierge staff. Our park view room is a good size as is the bathroom. It's all spotlessly clean. We have only had one breakfast here so can't comment on the food. There are numerous restaurants and coffee shops all very close. Fremantle is a very buzzy place and we have loved it here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinkandTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Was very pleased to read you enjoyed your extended stay at the hotel and that the concierge making a good impression when here with us. How lucky to also have visited the amazing Margaret River region, best wines in Australia in my opinion! Particularly the reds.. Hope we see you back with us again..

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife had to attend a three day conference hosted at this hotel and we decided to make a holiday of it. Firstly the conference was expertly organised and my wife was extremely impressed with the facilities. The accommodation itself was also first class. The rooms were clean and the bed was possibly the most comfortable I have ever slept on. The pool was clean and the perfect temperature and the food in the Atrium restaurant was amazing. The breakfast choices were brilliant and the bank of real toasters was a much better system than the painfully slow conveyor toasters which usual deliver burnt offerings! But the greatest asset is the staff of this hotel. Never have I encountered such friendly, helpful yet down-to-earth staff at a hotel. The Concierge especially were top notch. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Really pleased you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and the concierge team in particular made such a great contribution to your enjoyment. Have passed this note onto them to ensure they understand that they do get recognised for good service as much as we may get critical feedback if a guest doesn't enjoy something! Glad to also see your wife enjoyed the conference here, the conference team do an amazing job in a busy environment and I get such good feedback on their work and that of the kitchen.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a great stay and the food was excellent for the 2 nights and breakfast and we hope to stay here again when we run our next Perth-Sydney Classic Driver tour in July 2015.
The hotel was very accommodating, despite going through a refurbishment at the time and helped our tour group of 16 strangers get to know one another pretty quickly over dinner and breakfast together. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient. The only pre-trip glitches were in the changes of personnel I was emailing to secure the bookings for our group and did not find out about the restaurant unavailability until a week before departure from NZ, but the communal dining was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
How nice to have you stay with us for this event and what a shame its not back until 2015! Will definitely be more improvements and additions by that time for you to enjoy and ensure you let us know in advance what your requirements will be so we can look after all your needs for your event!

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the rooms here, very clean, decent size and bed is comfortable. Staff at front desk and info desk are LOVELY AND SUPER HELPFUL.
As for breaky we paid $29.50 each for buffet breaky, the selection of food was excellent however the staff were awful - one lady in particular who was behind the counter making eggs she was very unpleasant and made us feel like we were interrupting her from something when asking for poached eggs.
The barrister was great he made us the best coffee we have had in Perth.
So apart from the egg lady it was a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurendiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Sorry to see you did not have a very good experience with the egg chef! This is definitely the opposite of what the intention is with having a cook in this area in the morning, they are supposed to be friendly and have chats with the guests in the morning to ensure they have a great breakfast experience! I have passed onto the chef to investigate, hopefully whoever it was, was having a bad day and was a once off!

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The greatest positive with this hotel is the location, it is a few minutes walk from the beach area, and the main shopping area is just around the back. The room was clean and comfortable, but the sound proofing can be improved (it was OK though). The service was really good - the concierge was most excellent with knowledge and help. The only downside is value - I find it a bit expensive, however, it is somewhat expensive in Fremantle and Western Australia in general.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ice_D_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
The hotel has a very convenient location for travellers wanting to explore and enjoy the best of Fremantle, glad you enjoyed the experience.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
416 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
13 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 64 in Perth
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing