We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of Nov. Booked a Spa room which was excellent, large, nice terrace and with a spa bath (don't put anything too bubbly in and turn it on as we ended up with 5ft high bubbles in he bathroom).

Very good location, didn't eat here as looked expensive and there were plenty of eating places round the corner in town.

The only issue was what appeared to be a Christmas party for some corporate group with load music doen the corridor till late.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Littlest_Hobo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Great to have you stay with us and enjoy Fremantle, the options around the hotel are significant and we do try to stay in the market with our pricing, something we will need to review coming into the new year. Apologies the festivities of other patrons disturbed your stay, we do try to ensure this does not happen, Christmas is a very busy time for the hotel but we don't usually get too many out of control events happening..

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We checked in very late last night due to being booked into other accommodation that was terrible. Staff were very helpful. Was happy with room overlooking park and bed was comfy. We ordered late meal to room yummy. Breakfast was, we thought, one of the best we had had in a Perth hotel and the price was pretty much the same as others. I have noted people saying that valet parking is extra but I think they would find this is the case in most Perth hotels. We are regular visitors to the duxton and valet is always extra.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcciy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for the kind and practical review of the hotel and the pricing offered on services, as noted in other responses we do our best to be competitive and fair with all pricing for what is delivered and the location is ideal for travelers to enjoy the best of Fremantle!

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the start of November for a corporate event. The company that booked the hotel for me told they were trying to decide between a hotel in Perth and this one Fremantle which was closer to where the event was and all I can say is they made the right choice.

The hotel is situated on the Esplanade as the name implies and in very easy walking distance of all the things to see and do in Fremantle. On arrival I was upgraded to a junior suite (always a good start) not really a suite but decidedly a large room, with a very large bathroom with separate shower and large jacuzzi bathtub - shame I was on my own really! Check-in, and all my other dealings with the staff of the hotel, was warm and friendly - much like Fremantle itself.

Only real negative would be for what appears to a heritage hotel the rooms were a bit grey and uninspired. Nothing wrong with anything just probably could looked a bit more interesting, and that knocks it off from the five star rating. But main things comfortable bed, sensible work desk and good bathroom were all certainly there. While being a work trip I did have a bit of time to enjoy myself in Fremantle, and would say this was great place for vacation.

Didn't eat in the hotel but a taxi driver (the source of all knowledge as all travellers know!) told it was expensive but really good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Please you stayed with us in Fremantle as well! Glad you made the most of the location and the options in the area to enjoy. The ground floor went through a major upgrade in 2013 and will be working on rooms and other areas moving forward. The hotel has now been under Rydges with new owners for 12 months and in that time have achieve quite a lot of improvements and changes, with a balance of guest amentites and back of house plant and safety that was in need of upgrade. Will only get better moving forward!

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The Esplanade is 100m from the Cappucino Strip, and close to the harbor restaurants. It has a large atrium with a good breakfast buffet and a decent bar. The rooms are nice enough but they should be at nearly $300. The staff are friendly and there is a valet service ($30 per day). Overall it's a good hotel but at the price the value isn't very good. In 6 days the bill was a little over $2000 including some drinks, laundry, valet etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

pleasing to see you enjoyed the experience in Fremantle and the location worked for you with the options you have around the hotel. The pricing is dynamic and when there are shoulder periods we certainly try to add value for travelers as we recently did over summer, hopefully with further works scheduled through the hotel the value will be experienced throughout the year.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed in the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle for 3 nights in the beginning of november during attending a conference.
The personnel was friendly and I felt welcome. The only thing that "bothered" me a bit was the "easygoing"-way of the staff, which I didn't expect in a hotel in this category. But that is just the australian way I guess ;-)

The room was large and quiet. The interior looked a bit old, so was the airconditioning - but it did its job. The floor in the bathroom showed watermarks all over the place, nevertheless cleanliness was satisfying.
The room provided everything that should be found in a hotel in this category, like kettle, free coffee/tea, safe, TV, hairdryer, etc. Unfortunately, internet was not included, but could be purchased - a bit disappointing, but it seems to be common in Australia.
The queensize bed was comfortable - nothing to complain about here.

Breakfast was good, and the buffet-style-food that was served during conference breaks was of very good quality as well.
But I didn't just eat in the hotel and due to its very central location in the heart of Fremantle it was easy to find some good reastaurants and bars. Here I can recommend the pizzas/beers at "Little Creatures Brewery" and "The Monk Brewery and Kitchen" as well as "The Sail and Anchor" with its large variety of international and national beers.

My overall rating is a 3.5 ot of 5, but unfortunately this is not possible and therefore I adjust downward to a 3 out of 5 (so they have some motivation to reach the 4 if I should come back).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Was nice to see you enjoyed your stay generally at the hotel and benefited from the location. The hotel service generally a very sincere yet friendly culture, we certainly do not have a 5 star service approach if that was your point and being an Australian owned company, Rydges prides itself in the friendly down to earth delivery of service that customers normally enjoy. If the team were too casual this would certainly not be tolerated and will address this with the managers. Glad you took time to enjoy some of the local attractions and craft beer places, they are very popular and only a short walk from the hotel.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in November. Impressed with room (which overlooked pool), service and Concierge staff who were extremely helpful. Food, especially breakfast, was outrageously expensive (much cheaper option 2 minutes away!) but the hotel is conveniently placed with easy access to the centre of Fremantle and the harbour.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the location and service provided by the hotel team, we review our pricing regularly in all areas, the full buffet breakfast at $29 is generally in line with other 4.5-5 star hotels but obviously doesn't compare with cafes and the like if that is the preference. We do packages that offer value adds such as breakfast in the price that may be a good option if staying over 5 nights in the future.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for about 10 days recently during my first time in WA. In terms of location the hotel is great – right in the centre of everything and minutes walk to anything you want. The rooms are just as good, comfortable and with plenty of space. The room is expensive as you would expect but I accept that as part of the place. Being on a rate negotiated by my company, I assumed that something would be included but even on this rate very little was. Parking offered by the hotel is valet only at about AUD40, not a big deal since there is daily parking very near for about AUD$7. Breakfast and evening buffet were both very expensive too – and it felt all the sillier for how many much better options are all around the hotel for less. Internet is of course the one that bugged me the most; it was about AUD20 for so many hours. You get a small period for free but it is nothing really and it is slow and buggy – disconnecting frequently, which is a problem if you are trying to work over a vpn. Even purchased it was the same.

The hotel is comfortable in a good location but the constant charging for anything but the most basic provisions really does detract from the atmosphere. Still good, but a bit grabby in that regard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Was pleasing to see you had a long stay with the hotel in December, just to clarify a couple of your points made, the valet is $29 per day for parking, there are cheaper options in public carparks nearby however the open park across from the hotel is not secured and the Collie St Wilsons park has restrictive hours of operation, ie it closes before midnight most nights. The internet speed is generally very good, will have this checked, the system was upgraded last year throughout the entire hotel, the cost is free for first 20MB in 24hrs then $18 with discounts for PGR members. The buffet costs are also reasonable for the variety and volume presented, there are plenty of options in Fremantle also which makes the location so popular. We certainly do not go out of our way to penny pinch our guests, we try to be fair in all areas with the pricing and in line with the market. It is constantly reviewed and adjusted as required. Hope we see you back with us again.

Regards

David Bornmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
201 reviews
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
29 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $121 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing