We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensible Option but not for the Budget Minded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Esplanade for two nights on business (fully booked so good thing I made a reservation the month previous). Received a lovely upgrade upon check-in to a room that was huge - patio, large bathroom, and sitting room/lounge with couch and TV. The room appeared to have been renovated and it was comfortable and clean. I must admit, I got lost a couple of times trying to navigate the hallways (my room was tucked away in the back). Not an easy task after a few cocktails. Bring your GPS.

The breakfast buffet was quite average with a few hot items....cold (including the eggs). No restaurant option if you wanted something lighter, like a continental breakfast. I guess that would be in-room dining.

The staff were lovely and friendly.

I found the nightly rate on the high side but the location is good. Fremantle has a good 'walkable' core and I would recommend a visit. About 40 minutes by taxi to the Perth airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Very surprising to read your comments on breakfast, we have had the Rydges Rise breakfast in place now for many months, it is very comprehensive including eggs to cooked to order, omelettes’ and a wide range of continental options, fruit, cereal also a juicer to make your own smoothies...not sure what time you came down for breakfast and if they had started packing it away, the hotel selection has over 8 chasseur dishes of different breakfast products including eggs Benedict..we are in the process of renumbering all hotel rooms so they make sense, the hotel has had a number of extensions over the years and they added new number systems each time they did this, I still get lost myself when trying to find a room so can imagine how difficult it may be for a guest new to the hotel!

Kind regards


David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow what an experience. After a bad start to our weekend away we finally got the service we were looking for at this location. Greeted, serviced and spoilt by Megan - Head Concierge and Chris - Reservation Manager. Thank you for being so awesome after we had such a bad experience at another hotel. We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

How nice to receive your note for the little ray of sunshine Megan at the concierge of the hotel! Also singling out Chris in reservations; I have passed this kind note on and appreciate you taking the time to share your view with other travelers.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Came for a business event, but stayed longer as managed to get a good online deal. Rooms were well appointed and beds very comfortable. Slept well for 4/5 nights, the last being a noisy Saturday night with passing late night crowds in the halls and street easily heard through the walls and windows.
Service friendly and well intentioned, but could improve on attention to detail: concierge being more informed about non-hotel parking options around town (there is 24 hour parking available just across the road for $7/day and free overnight parking two blocks away on Suffolk street); restocking of tea and supplies by housekeeping. Front desk very helpful in printing out boarding passes and other errands.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NataliePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Good to see you had an extended stay at the hotel and enjoyed Fremantle, I will ensure the concierge update themselves ont he parking information, they should know the parking across the street at least! Nice to have some positive comments from a top reviewer!

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I organised a conference at The Esplanade and could not be more happy with my event. The group reservations manager, Danielle, made everything so simple and straight forward. On the days of our meeting, Megan our event manager, was brilliant in making sure everything was as we required. Danielle and Megan made our event the wonder it was :)

In regards to the rooms they are comfortable, spacious and well stocked with spare blankets, pillows etc. The only comment I will make about the bathrooms are be prepared for the water from the shower to run under the door and over the floor. It does drain in the outlet under the sink bench, but you do have water on the floor for a while after showering.

The hotel is still going through a revamp and is looking clean and fresh. The bar is a nice was to relax after a long day of meetings and the food serviced is delicious and covers all dietary requirements.

I would recommend The Esplanade for your next event.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellife25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

What a nice gesture e in singling out the two employees who obviously made a great impression for your recent conference. It is very kind of you to take the time to share your experience and I will certainly pass this on and congratulate the two of them as well. It is nice to have some positive feedback for the team during what has been a difficult transition with the renovations, but thankfully all done now and the areas look fabulous.

Kind regards


David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The was some renovation work going on when we arrive but it was in the lobby bar and all finished an cleared up by early evening. Fremantle is superb. Very cosmopolitan and has a great choice of bars. As a result we never ate in the hotel restauarant. We had a standard room overlooking the pool and it was huge and also very quiet. It was a great base for a superb weekend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LugubriousDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Great to see you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and that although under renovation at the time, it did not damper your getaway. The new bar and restaurant is now open and is being very popular with our guest with the best local produce available in a casual atmosphere. I hope you get back one day and can enjoy it.

Kind regards


David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Currently being revamped, the new rooms are outstanding. King beds sre comfortable, bathrooms large and well appointed.
Staff are all excellent, from the time you entrr the building all were happy and friendly. Nothing was a problem, directions, sdvice on places to eat or where to shop.
Located right across the park from Fremantle Harbour and in the midst of cafes, it' s great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Healzontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

It was very pleasing you enjoyed the hotel and the location in the heart of everything that is Fremantle! I hope with our ongoing improvements, the hotel will become even more comfortable for our guests when visiting. There is so much to enjoy in close walking distance to the hotel, it makes it very convenient.

Kind regards


David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed as part of a large group and after a very long drive arrived, and were checked-in promptly. Arrived with my friend to the room to find it was incorrect (had reserved twin bedding and given a queen). Returned to reception along with a few other people from our group who had suffered the same problem. Some charm and convincing later, the Duty Manager upgraded us to a suite which had twin bedding. The room was sufficient with a large bathroom and a lounge area. It was at the back of the hotel and had no view to speak of. It was clean and well presented however.
Service was adequate and the hotel seemed to be struggling with the high occupancy.
Hotel is in a good location for Fremantle, and all the Freo attractions can be reached by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

I am glad that after the initial issues you encountered with your reservation that the rest of your stay was incident free. I am also pleased you enjoyed Fremantle and the local culture. It is a great place to say for work or pleasure.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $130 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing