We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Cecil Park Nsw
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had 2 nights in a room overlooking the park it was very nice we were woken by a bobcat tipping bricks in dump truck but with renovations going on what can you do. The girls on reception were very helpful with any of our needs.. Breakfast was great.... Top location..

Room Tip: Room over looking park was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrnefamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I apologise that you had a disturbance from the skip being emptied in the morning, the contractors are aware of keeping noise down first thing, however we don't have much control over the trucks when they empty and drop off but will point this out to the builders. I am glad you enjoyed the remainder of your experience with us and hope we see you back here again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    655
    298
    91
    36
See reviews for
224
735
61
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manjimup, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms were clean, the curtains cast a delightfully dark shadow which convinced my sleeping brain that it was still night time, and the breakfast was excellent. On the surface, it was an excellent stay, but it wasn't to be, with some attention to detail seriously lacking.

An evening phone call to reception booked a weekend paper to be delivered the next morning. When I went to collect it, it wasn't there. With fortune smiling, an employee was walking through the corridor as I looked. He politely said 'good morning' and I mentioned to him that the ordered paper was not there. He kept walking with a smile on his face. We were given a paper when we checked out.

Whilst the above is fairly trivial, it followed an automated 5am wake up call we received. Problem was, we never ordered it. When checking out, reception apologised. Looking into it, the realised that night staff had mistakenly swapped a couple of numbers around, meaning we were lucky recipients of the call.

Upon departing, we collected our car from valet staff and drove the 25 mins to our next destination. Once I turned the car off, my keys felt different, lighter. Looking at them, I realised I was missing half of my keys. I rang the hotel to be told that they'd wondered where the extra set of keys had come from. We then had to drive back to Freo to collect the house keys which we so obviously needed. It made the whole valet thing seem fairly naff.

As I said, on the surface, it was a wonderful stay. Despite the unwanted wake up call, we slept well. It just seemed that under the surface, attention to finer things was quite lacking. Not that they have a lot of competition in the Freo area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Certainly was disappointing to read your review and the issues you encountered, regardless of the nature, they are simple tasks that should not be incorrectly processed. I have no idea how a request for a newspaper is unable to be processed and will be looking into the procedures further as another review has also made not of this item and seems to be a problem. I will also follow up the keys with valet as again this item is also quite simply not supposed to occur. I hope you will join us again in the future and not have these things spoilt you overall impression of the hotel or the team.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I want to express my appreciation of the service my wife and I experienced in Fremantle last week. While The Esplanade Hotel was going through renovations, that in no way hindered the service we received. In particular I would like to thank Sam ( our manager) as well as Tamara and Megan who worked at the reception desk for their professionalism and extremely friendly/engaging disposition. I also want to mention that staff at the front door Jim and his colleague ( a young woman ) who helped with our bags and valet service were wonderful. My wife and I also spent time in another Rydges Hotel while in Australia and we both agreed that the personal touch we experienced in Fremantle was by far superior.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
How nice it was to read your review of the hotel and the indviduals you have personally mentioned, it certainly is refreshing to have this type of detail spoken of and will share this with the team so they understand their efforts are acknowledged. I hope we see you back with us again in the furture.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are going to stay in the Perth area, don't consider any hotel other than the Esplanade Rydges in Fremantle. The location is great. It is only a few miles from Perth and is right across the street from the Indian Ocean. Also across the street are a beach,some casual, good restaurants, a brewery, and a ferris wheel that offers great views of the area.
The Esplanade is grand and charming at the same time. Probably the best feature of the hotel is the staff. They could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating. Tamara and Megan at the desk helped us with our plans to explore Fremantle and Perth. The manager (Steve) was also very helpful, accessible and gracious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review and highlighting some of the team on front desk, I am certain they will appreciate your time in making note of your experience with the hotel and Fremantle. It is a great place to spend time if visiting in WA and very convenient to all aspects that make a holiday enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is located in a great location in the heart of picturesque Fremantle. Efficient, engaging and well presented staff provide outstanding customer service. The rooms were well appointed, clean and functional. The renovations in progress during our stay did not detract from the experience and I can only imagine the added benfits they will provide when completed. I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are certainly excited about the upgrade of the bar and restaurant and public areas being executed at the hotel currently. The commitment of the new owners to upgrade the property after purchasing in January is certainly a breath of fresh air for the hotel and we are sure once completed will be adding to what is already a fantastic property in an excellent location opposite Esplanade Park and only a short stroll to everything you need when coming to Fremantle.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morawa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for two nights and we had such a great stay. Firstly got a great rate deal on the 72 hour sale, then when we arrived had an upgrade to the most wonderful room. It was so clean, neat and fresh, cant fault it.
Had dinner and drinks, the service was very attentive and friendly. Even though renovations were going on in the entrance i cant say we were inconvenienced at all.
Cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Very pleased you enjoye dyour recent stay at the hotel and although under renovations, the experience was still a positive one. I hope once completed you will be able to return to enjoy the new food and beverage facilities been worked on.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. It was to be a time out relaxing weekend. Hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, which was not a problem; I understand this has to happen sometimes. Inside the hotel foyer was colder than outside. Had to get maintenance to come as we had no heating at all! Apart from temperature our room was comfortable and the double glazing kept street noise quiet. Planned on eating at the Atrium but so cold and unappealing we went elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast no thank you, we went down the road and had freshly made breakfast for 2 for the cost of 1 person at the hotel, and we also left the hotel for afternoon tea.
You have to ask for a newspaper which we did, it didn't arrive so had to ask again. There are no pay for movies, reason: "no one uses them so we put in new TV's with foxtel". The mini bar prices were very steep as was room service prices.
All staff members I had contact with were very professional and helpful, I felt sorry for reception staff Friday afternoon as she looked blue with cold.
My review is representative of my expectations of this 4.5 star hotel and its long held reputation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyMartinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It was disappointing to read of your experience with the hotel recently and that you were not made comfortable by the elements that have unfortunately made the lobby less than comfortable during the renovations. The hotel has endeavoured to counteract the cold weather being experienced in WA with multiple heaters located throughout the restaurant and temporary foyer however can appreciate that you found it more suitable for your needs to go elsewhere. The hotel will hopefully have the front entry completed in the coming weeks, which should make a significant difference to the cool air that has been able to enter the space. Certainly expect that once completed to have a more favourable ambience in the public areas of the hotel for our guests and the new owners have made significant commitment to the property since taking over in January. You reference to the upgrade of the entertainment system that does not seem to have been explained eloquently by whoever you spoke to is the property was still on an analogue system when taken over in January, with WA moving to digital in April, the decision was made to replace all TVs with new Sony Bravia LCDs, at the same time the 1990s movie system that was wired into the entertainment system was removed. The hotel now offers over 23 channels with digital and an expanded range through Foxtel. Guests who carry an iphone, ipad or laptop are able to connect to the LCD with their cable and can easily watch movies that they have downloaded. This seems generally to be the trend with guests rather than paying for movies from an antiquated poor quality system.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
21 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#11 of 65 in Perth
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing