We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Norfolk Hotel(Fremantle)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be. Fremantle(Fremantle)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,739)
Filter reviews
1,739 results
Traveler rating
523
742
328
103
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
742
328
103
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingbuffet breakfasta park view roompillow menuvalet serviceharbour mastergood sizehotel is in a great locationacross the roadlate checklittle creatures breweryroom was largepleasant stayan upgradespa bathfishing boat harbourmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 1,739 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First, I was blown away by how expensive Australia (or at least Perth) has become due to basically Chinese demand for minerals. Esplanade is classy looking but be prepared to fork out big bucks for every service. Staff are Aussie friendly, rooms are big with good amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdirtathens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

My apologies you found the hotel and services expensive at the hotel, they have been reviewed and thought they were good value for money. March was a busy month in Perth and Fremantle over 92% occupancy so can imagine room rates may have been expensive at certain times during the month. Hopefully your next visit it maybe a bit cheaper.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The rooms at the Esplanade are very comfortable and well designed. I also enjoyed the lagoon style swimming pool. The food was terrific. However, above all these, was the outstanding response to my polite request to change rooms from a somewhat busy area to a quieter one. Andra, one of the day staff, was polite and professional, providing a quieter and upgraded room with no fuss. The room change occurred within 30 minutes of my request. I was there for 4 days for a conference and found the conference facilities to be excellent and easy to navigate between rooms for plenary sessions. Overall, an entirely enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are on a balcony overlooking the bar and lounges - light sleepers may prefer rooms overlooking the pools or the spa suites on the higher floors. The décor in all rooms was pleasant and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

So pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with the Esplanade and that Andra on reception was efficient and professional in helping out with a room change, I apologise for the inconvenience and hope the rest of your stay was comfortable. Hope we see you back if you are attending another event.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here and were very pleased with the room and the service provided. Right from the beginning, we found the staff to be very pleasant, helpful and professional. All the staff, from valet parking, the reception and restaurant were very friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. A highlight was the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of wine on finding out it was our wedding anniversary. The location was great as it was walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casuarina2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Congratulations on your anniversary! Really pleased to see the team and the hotel exceeded your expectations and that you were recognised for your special night by the team. I hope we will have you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice big rooms but the rooms facing one side are dark all day because of the trees outside!
Wifi isn't free in such a big expensive hotel!
Breakfast nice but the diningroom felt like a canteen.
The beds nice and comfie!

Stayed: April 2013
Thank NinniSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

It was disappointing to read we didnt meet your expectations with your recent stay. items like the trees outside Essex street rooms have been looked at and will be reviewed further as to what action we take with them. The Wifi as noted to other reiews will be upgraded so we can manage the costs in a more beneficial cost way for guests once installed in late May early June. The Atrium buffet area can seem like a big dining hall due to the height of the ceiling and the lay out, we will look at ways to make this cosier moving forward as well.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent the weekend away with my girlfriend on the do not disturb package, was greeted by the concierge on entry and checked in by a lovely girl, sorry didnt catch her name, i was informed of a complimentary upgrade which was nice, the room is nice, clean, and has all your standard hotel room features, i will mention the view of the park was great, went down to dinner in panache, food was good, service was friendly, but best thing of all it was all included in the cost of the room which is great value considering its less than 300 bucks and that includes basically everything, sleep was nice, comfy beds, shame we had to leave the next day. great night away with the mrs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Was very good to see you enjoyed the package and the value we have included for a night away, it certainly is appreciated you took the time to share your experience with other travellers and hopefullly they also will come to Freo to enjoy our hospitality. I hop we see you back with us again for a night away.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews