We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and boring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Dated and boring”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Expected more for this part of town. The hotel and amenities are in need of a revamp and the restaurant was just 'bleh'. There was nothing exceptional or fondly memorable about this hotel. It was generally so-so. There was a wide selection of food available but I felt like it was the early 90's. the bar staff seemed ok, they were happy to pour atleast... I lost a mobile phone during my work trip and no one at the service desk seemed to know about it being returned to the hotel except for one person. Extremely frustrating when you are in an out of conferences for the week and desperately needing the phone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Appreciate your perspective on the hotel, we certainly are aware of the areas that need work since taking over in January and will be actioning all these items in due course including the restaurant and bar areas. Apologies that you lost your phone during your stay, I can imagine it was quite frustrating not being able to take calls or make them when doing business.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    638
    295
    90
    36
See reviews for
218
724
61
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is pertly located to see Perth, the train from freemantle to Perth takes just 30 minutes and is really cheap. Freemantle has great beaches and many places to visit In the day and after dark. We had a room overlooking the harbour which was lovely, the hotel could do with modernising s little but with new owners that's possible. It was definitely an attraction and many weddings also took place there...

Room Tip: Upgrade to overlook the front of the hotel and the harbour..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It was great to see you enjoyed Fremantle and the hotel! The new owners are planning on spending money on the hotel moving forward and we are very excited about the changes planned, we look forward in sharing these with travellers as they come to hand.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Hotel is near the "front" in Fremantle. Boasts two pools, one is very small and the other plays load unrecognisable music.
When we booked in there was a "cruise Ship" arrival as well. They must have known it was coming, but there were only two staff on, the Bell boys were totally out of their depth and chaos reigned! Our room was small, but had a balcony overlooking the "small pool" so was quiet, and clean and comfortable. Do not have a front room!
We tried the concierge desk in vain quite a few times as getting in/out of the "resort pool" was a nightmare until we were shown how. Before this we were going down fire escapes! We weren`t the only ones either!! When we asked how far the Ferry jetty was we had a vague reply about 20 min walk - less than 10 minutes and I do not walk fast in 38c heat!

I wouldn`t stay here again or in Fremantle. Perth is far better and Fremantle is easy to get to from Perth for a days outing.

Room Tip: Not a front Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshwhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel, it was a very chaotic day when the ship arirved that morning, there were approx 6 porters on, plus myself and other managers helping to sort out bags and guests as they were just dropped off on our door step at 10am when we were full the prior night! The company unfortunately did not advise the guests that they were unable to check in until 2pm at the earliest, it took a while to get it all sorted...happily the next cruise ship that has come in, we have taken more preventative measures under the new Rydges management and you woudlnt even know a cruise ship was in town. As far as the comments on the pool areas, although we are unable to do much about the size of one of the pools which in saying that is still quite popular, we are doign work on the landscaping and aesthetics as well as the music! There is easy access to the resort pool from the lift, it would seem the team need a bit more training on their communication to the guests so they can find these areas more easily. Sorry to read you wont be staying in Fremantle again, but having worked in both Perth for over 4 years and now here, the lifestyle, the restaurants, cafes, waterfront etc is much more relaxing than what you would find in the Perth CBD on a weekend and I feel your comments probably give the incorrect impression of what is available in this location to other travellers.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well what a change since Rydges have taken over this place. Service has dropped through the floor and when I asked about the General Manager was gestured toward the door by a staff member who advised the person out front enjoying a cigarette was indeed the GM. Say no more, nice display. I didn't bother if this is how he presents himself to his guests, what is the point.
So what used to be a lovely hotel, with a friendly smiling welcome has turned into a place where staff appear stressed and are unwelcoming. Its consistent with the Rydges I stayed at in Melbourne, Canberra and Sydney - perhaps this is part of their branding. I won't be back.
Room cleanliness is not what it used to be, breakfast product was ordinary (cold food, half empty buffet), room service was slow. Checkin was average and the staff seemed to be struggling with deciding how to do certain tasks. Checkout was fine until I was asked about my stay, provided the answer and then the person became defensive. At this point I asked if the GM had changed with the taking over of the place and the receptionist says "yes, he's over there if you'd like to talk to him".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_Biz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Sorry to read of your impression of the brand, certainly don’t agree with your comments however appreciate that everyone is entitled to their opinion. I also disagree with your comment that the smiling staff that you believed were here before have changed to stressed staff running around, I have stayed here many times prior to taking over the hotel and feel the service has improved dramatically and is still a work in progress. Sorry to read you will not stay here again and hope you find more enjoyable lodgings in the future.


Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms, restaurant and lobby are tired.
Staff are uninspiring.
A run down hotel that charges too much because it is in W.A.

I'll be back, but only because there is such a lack of choice!

Time for a renovation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rfps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Certainly is not plesant to read of your impression of the hotel as it is, we will be doing our best to improve the service and facilities as we move forward to hopefullychange this in the future. It is certainly not a straight forward task when we have onlybe here a couple of months to change everything straight away but doing our best and appreciate you coming back again and hopefully we can make a better impression on you next visit.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

From check-in to checkout, this place had terrible service. We booked a package that included champagne, chocolates, a bath pack and 3 course dinner (called a romance package). On arrival we waited in line for almost 20 minutes just to receive the keycard to our room (we checked in half an hour earlier but were told our room wasn't ready). We asked reception if we needed to book at the restaurant for the package dinner and were told that because we were priority guests that would not be necessary. We later passed the restaurant to have a look at the menu and were told that we should have made a booking because they were almost full. Luckily we found this out a couple of hours before dinner time otherwise they would have been fully booked. We also asked reception to send our one bag to our room and for the champagne, chocolate and bath pack to be sent up. An hour later nothing had arrived so we called reception to have nobody answer. We waited another hour, called again, but still no answer. We went down to reception to find out what was happening and were told they weren't answering the phone because they were too busy. Again we were told that everything would be sent up to the room immediately. Shortly after, our champagne and chocolates did make it up but there was still no sign of our bag or bath pack. I went back downstairs and physically took the bag from the concierge (who had clearly not been told that we were waiting for it) and went back to the room. We had dinner which was quite nice and the restaurant staff were very good - no issues there at all. After dinner we asked reception again for the bath pack and this finally made it up to the room. The next morning we went down for the included breakfast and again found ourselves on a long line. When we got to the front of the line we were told we would have to come back in ten minutes when they weren't so busy. We couldn't work out why there was a delay as there were a lot of empty tables. We waited ten minutes before lining up again but this time made it to a table for an average-to-good buffet breakfast. There were a lot of angry guests around us, some where annoyed from the long wait, some were annoyed because they stopped serving coffee as they "were too busy" and some because they were told they couldn't have a table because they ran out of knives and forks. Staff were not apologetic in the slightest and acted as if we were the annoyance. It reminded me of Fawlty Towers but without the laughs. Other than the terrible service, the rooms are average and a bit overpriced, the hotel is lovely on the outside and tired on the inside. I wouldn't stay here again but if you do, carry your own bag, make a reservation for dinner (which was quite good at Panache) and try to get a room off the ground floor. The spa bath in the room is good but nothing to write home about. The hotel pool, spas and saunas are fine. The service ensured that our romance package stay was as unromantic as possible.

Room Tip: Don't listen to reception... Make a booking at Panache restaurant if you intend to dine there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Was disappointing to read of your experience with this package and the lack of communication you experienced making it a total disaster! We have had procedures in place with this package to ensure the guest feels both special and the process is quite seamless including delivery of the inclusions and the booking in the restaurant, we obviously have failed on all fronts with your experience. I can appreciate your impression of the hotel and can only express my apologies and intentions to ensure this is fixed for future experiences. I hope you may contact me direct so I can make it up to you.


Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on a work trip. Staff at checkin were sloppy and seemed to treat guests as an inconvenience. This attitude was constistantly applied throughout my stay. When I enquired about Internet access I was berated for booking such a cheap rate (over $200 pn). On check out a staff member tried to charge me items from the minibar that I hadn't consumed, pretty much accusing me of lying when I disputed the charges.

I'm surprised this place carries the Rydges tag, it's one of those hotels with big empty restaurants, empty pool, looking like its waiting for a couple of large tour groups that never arrived.

The location is great and the facade is impressive. This hotel is probably best appreciated from across the road, or through the window of a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guffguff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Was disappointing to read of your experience with front desk, hopefully as things change we will improve this. The new management in front office are very focused on improving the guest experience and getting a better, more welcoming attitude on front desk. I hope moving forward this will start showing in some of the TA responses.


Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
410 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
9 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 64 in Perth
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing