We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go again”
Review of Fremantle Mussel Bar - CLOSED

Fremantle Mussel Bar
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Mussel Bar Seafood Restaurant sits right on the water at Fremantle's famous Fishing Boat Harbour. Smell the fresh sea air and take in the spectacular views over a pre-dinner drink as you anticipate the enjoyment of one this historic port city's finest restaurants. Obviously, the kitchen's specialisation is mussels but we also offer a broad range of seafood dishes as well as non-seafood proteins and salads.
Perth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We would go again”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A rare night out in Perth, easy to book, fantastic service, well presented and tasty food. The chilli mussels were fantastic and were offered to us with a chilli level of 1-6 of which we had a five. The sauce was fantastic. The only thing that could have made it better would have been some crusty bread to mop up the excess sauce. We had the seafood risotto and chicken saltimbocca for the mains with hugh serves of both. We definitely would go back and recommend it to our friends

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    64
    33
    18
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The Seafood Platter was very innovative.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant around 8-10 years ago and it was good then and it is still good now. We had a lovely table by the window for lunch and ordered the seafood platter which priced at $100 for two I considered good value. There was not your usual boring assortment of food on it. There were six succulent scallops, crispy skin salmon, beautifully battered fish, salt and pepper squid, garlic prawns, oysters, fish cakes, a large bowl of chilli mussells and a fresh salad and chips. Thoroughly reccomend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Only fair.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went down to Fremantle on Saturday from Perth but arrived a bit late for lunch so we returned on Sunday with mussels in mind so this was the obvious choice. The service was pretty slow although the waiter was very attentive when he arrived. Drink prices were a bit steep, $14 for a glass of wine and $12 for a pint of beer. Wouldn't have minded all this if the mussels had been special but they were no better than similar dishes in NSW. With a name like this maybe we expected too much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GACASydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turned away from empty restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived up last Friday at 6:30pm and asked for a table for two and mentioned we had no reservation. The lady read through the book and said sorry we're fully booked out. We looked behind her and there was not one person eating! Every single table we could see was empty and we had a view of 2 thirds of the place.

I understand it would have been busy later in the evening but there was no way every table in the place would suddenly fill between 6:30 and shortly after 7. Amazed how easily they would turn business away, won’t be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBap30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good set on the Fremantle harbour overlooking the ocean and many boats”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Food is supurb, Setting is lovely. But honestly when this restraunt opened a few years ago it was out of this world good. I feel they have dropped off a bit although still enjoyable I feel they can be much better. But dont let that put you off it is worth a go

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Mussel Bar also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
East Fremantle, Fremantle
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
South Fremantle, Fremantle
 
South Fremantle, Fremantle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing