We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go if you want a drink or food!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt on the Beach - CLOSED

Salt on the Beach
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't go if you want a drink or food!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Abysmal - we arrived, were seated and despite the fact it was empty and there were staff everywhere no one came to serve us. After 30 minutes we gave up and tried to hunt out a staff member. Only stayed because it was a Monday and in Perth there's virtually nothing open. Stay at home or visit with byo and a full stomach

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank girlwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    76
    40
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Overpriced and the only breakfast option is a buffet which tasted like it had been there all week $31!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I chose this restaurant to have breakfast at because of its location, which is amazing!! Incredible views of the ocean. However I was throughly disappointed at the whole experience. The only breakfast option is a buffet which I certainly did not get my $31 worth! It tasted like the food had been sitting in there for days reheated and reheated again! Having a buffet at such an incredible location felt so tacky. What a waste of a great location!! A location like that should be packed on a Saturday morning, (if not every morning!) but I should have realized there was a problem with it when there were just two other tables sat. Please realize the opportunity you have to give a wonderful dining experience and overhaul your menu!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a wedding here in April 2012 for Leah and Tim Deshon - it was excellent, and all round great night. So my partner and i decided this would be somewhere we would like to go for lunch... so on the 17th February my fiance took me out for lunch. We were seated right on the beach. Staff were friendly, and service was great. We started with a glass of Cap Mentelle, and my fiance had a Corona. We had a Surf and Turf, with the steak well done, my fiance was very impressed with the time this took to come out, and the quality. I asked for fish of the day, and had the Snapper which was superbly cooked. Finished our drinks, and we were off for a romantic walk along the beach.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becccck1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Like a bad resort.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had been here before and found it to be alright, close to the beach, outdoor setting etc but returning this time we found it to be run down, poorly set up and quite confusing. It reminded us of a cheap family resort, very tired and in need of a do over. The confusing part is that you can't just order and receive a drink from the bar, they have one till open you line up, make your order and give table number then they bring it over. On arrival we went straight to the bar for drinks not knowing we needed a table number then scrambled for one not to hold up the queue.
Its great that people can just walk in off the beach and order drinks and food but for a place to sit down and enjoy drinks and a meal this just isn't it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meatm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Views and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ate at Salt on the Beach in North Fremantle. We went early around 6.15pm and didn't have a booking and were able to get in. The service by all staff was excellent,. The views of the beach and ocean were great, just happened to have a tall ship sailing past while we were there so that was great. For entrée two of us just shared the Turkish bread which came with a hommus dip, balsamic and olive oil and dkukkah. For mains one of us had the salmon parpadelle pasta and the other had grilled snapper with vegetables, Both were excellent and demolished. We ate in the restaurant side, there were a few families dining at that time, it was not noisy, so if a couple wanted to go it would be good for them too with the views. I have eaten at the beach bar in the past which is order your own up at the bar and I had the steak sandwich which was excellent, but pricy.

Prices pasta was around $24, the fish around $38 ish.

Definitely would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt on the Beach also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing