We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure about this one !”

Domenics Restaurant and Take Away Foods
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Perth,Western Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not sure about this one !”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well it was supposed to be Italian but really it could have been anything. Certainly no overt Italian cuisine in evidence nor staff of Italian descent !. We used a voucher and what we had for our money was OK but not what I would have called good restaurant standard.The place was empty with no back ground music just a deathly silence for the most part. The waiter was pleasant enough but when providing a restaurant service one would have hoped for somebody perhaps not wearing tracksuit attire.Finally I am somewhat perplexed about the picture showing the interior of this establishment,it certainly doesn't look like where we went !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mijak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“we will not go back”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can honestly say that was the worst meal i have had in a long time...
One cook and one waiter run the show..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stojan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Like Eating at a Friend's Home”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Domenics Restaurant is one of those pleasant surprises that was waiting to be discovered. I found the retaurant by chance when it was featured on one of the websites that offer discounted vouchers for food, travel, etc. I decided to buy a voucher to try out the restaurant as the deal offered was really attractive - only $39 for a 3-course dinner for 2 people! Well, it was money well-spent, I would say. When we arrived at the restaurant on a mid-week night, there were 4 other occupied tables. We were shown a table promptly and by the time we sat down, a bottle of water and the menu followed closely. We were given a good amount of time to peruse the menu and make our choices. We chose the chilli mussels and garlic prawns as starters. Mains were pork scallopini with spaghetti bolognese, seafood risotto and penne al-funghi (pasta with chicken & mushroom in cream sauce). The food took quite some time to come and by the time the starters arrived, we were so hungry that we just wolfed down every bite. The chilli mussels were full of flavour and the sauce was quite spicy but that was why we liked it. The garlic prawns were somewhat plain as compared to the mussels but they were still tasty nevertheless. After the starter plates were polished clean, it was a very long wait for the mains. Having said that, the wait was worth it but if only we weren't so hungry... The pork scallopini was tender and filled with the flavour of muscat wine. The spaghetti that came along on the same plate was dressed with a generous amount of minced beef and tomato sauce. The risotto seem to have endless amount of mussels and squid and shrimps. The pasta was nothing short of full-flavoured - such a great plate of comfort food!
Dessert was gelati - pretty normal in taste. My tummy just couldn't take any coffee at all, so I didn't have a cuppa.
Overall, Domenics makes you feel like you're going to eat at a friend's house. Simple and fuss-free with the food and ambience too. Definitely a good place to go to for many reasons, including too lazy to cook dinner on any night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzRats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love Italian food. It was great at Domenics Take Away Restaurant. I talk to new management and they welcome customers feedback. Service was excellent. Prices were reasonable.

We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank allen255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great value family Italian.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Serves hearty Italian food that will fill you up and is excellent value. They're not trying to win any acclaim for making elaborate meals and are all the better for it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FCracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domenics Restaurant and Take Away Foods also viewed

 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
South Fremantle, Fremantle
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
East Fremantle, Fremantle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing