We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best coffee and cafe in fremantle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Poppy - CLOSED

Wild Poppy
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best coffee and cafe in fremantle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent food, great funky place. I was sooooo pleased i found this friendly cafe with character. Very easy to get to, just jump on the free blue bus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but pricy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had been here on our last trip to Aus for coffee and a cake. This time for lunch. Had a triple flat white and steak sandwich. Steak juicy and tender with a nice fruit chutney. A bit chilly outside so we sat by the fire in their expansive middle dining section. Service good and food delivered quickly.
Bit pricy though for what we ate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TedandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Prawn Laksa, 2 prawns from coles”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is good for Perth, but seriously, calling it a prawn laksa for $18 and putting two pathetic shrimp in it is taking the piss too much. The coffee is great and the staff are lovely, but it's weird how you have to go to the counter for a second coffee when they could just ask if you want one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Wild Poppy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I absolutely loved this place on my last visit to Freo in February. Came literally every day even if it was just for a takeaway (I just loved sitting in the divine, happy, colorful chair waiting for my takeaway).
The coffee is great, the food is homely and fresh. The staff look great in their fun outfits and were very friendly. This place has charm in spadefuls!
I have recommended everyone I know to go there. It is quintessential Fremantle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank masa898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had breakfast here - best pain au chocolat I have had outside of France. Milkshakes were great. Husband had the meat breakfast - good slices of thick bacon but expensive for what it was. Atmosphere and ambience were great - staff very freindly and attentive. Nice place to chill out and we weren't hurried out when we had finished.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Poppy also viewed

 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing