We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a beautiful building, with a wonderful host, in a perfect location. I was based in the 'turret' at the top of the house, which is simply gorgeous. Spotlessly clean, crisp bedlinen, own bathroom; friends who live in Freemantle came to see it - and they want to book in and stay there themselves! I cannot praise Peter enough for his attention to detail and for his kindness - he helped me out personally - well above and beyond the call of duty. He takes huge pride in his work and people who stay here reap the benefit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BambiIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Your comments are appreciated.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 126 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Peter Donovan was a delightful host, doing his utmost to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms were clean and airy, breakfast buffet just like you'd get in England. Only (minor) downside is that the 4 rooms on the first floor shared 2 bathrooms - so we had to time our visits to the shower accordingly. It was no problem, but not quite as nice as having "en suite". No doubt there are rooms with their own bathroom.
Good value for money and well located - just a stone's throw from the sea front / harbour and a short walk to the quaint shopping streets of Freo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our stay at the Fremantle B+B ticked all our boxes. The price was right, the breakfast spot on to get the day started, location to all we wanted (Rotto Ferry, town centre, Little Creatures Brewery) could not be bested and Peter was a great host. The only tiny point i would make was that the AC was quite noisy in our room. Didnt stop us sleeping soundly though! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben78g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We can't say enough good things about the Fremantle Bed and Breakfast....what a wonderful B&B with a most gracious and accommodating host. Peter Donovan went above and beyond to be sure our stay was perfect....from providing us with sightseeing directions and recommendations, to delivering us to our ship, at the end of our stay. We stayed in the walkout basement of the B&B, which was very roomy with a complete living area and kitchen stocked with breakfast treats, in addition to the what a normal B&B would have. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to be right in the middle of Fremantle's activity or near Notre Dame University.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The downstairs Heritage Suite is not advertised, possibly was the owner's suite? It is a modern studio apartment with polished timber floor, full living area, books, dvd's, free wi-fi, king + single bed, own kitchen. Well appointed and stocked for breakfast. Host Peter is very welcoming, keeps the house spotless, loads of history in the property. Quiet central location in the middle of Notre Dame uni precinct (could do without the daily 6am wake-up from the trade garbage truck, but it is the city). Easy parking $8 per day down in the courtyard at the Round House. Easy walk to railway station, museum, water-front restaurants (Cicerello's recommended). A great stay, thanks Peter.

Room Tip: This is a London/Paris style of heritage building, i.e. narrow stairs, small first-floor bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Had a wonderful stay, the owner is lovely and kind, the breakfast no fuss and easy and my room was lovely. Would come back here again and again. Very close to all the action in Fremantle as well as a grocery store. A fridge right outside my room was handy too. Love this place!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments.

I was overseas during yous stay and the relief manager looked after both our B&B's during my absence. Unfortunately he couldn't be in both places at the one time. It appears from your comments that no issues arose from not seeing the manager during your stay.

With regard to the cost of our accommodation, as is normal practice in the hospitality industry, we have our high and low season and the summer period is in our high season. I believe we offer good quality accommodation for the prices we charge.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The main centre of Fremantle is comprised of 19th century buildings and my friend and I felt privileged to stay lodge in a perfectly preserved part of history. We stayed in the Dudley room and while it was compact (as stated online- just don't bring your big luggage bags!), there was plenty of relaxing space in the establishment to make up for it. It was more private than expected with the shared bathways (which were gorgeous) living spaces and we hardly saw a soul. Breakfast was a nice surprise with gluten-free museli available and fresh juice. The setting was immaculate, incredibly romantic and i'd highly recommend it if you're looking for a romantic getaway and appreciate colonial and historical styling. While the service may have seemed non-existent, realistically everything was set out very well to allow a relatively private experience. Peter, the owner was lovely, very helpful and not too imposing. Definitely a place i'd come back to.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Mouat St | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: $89 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremantle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Heritage listed building that was built over 110 years ago as the Bavarian Consulate for West Australia. This is the most photographed building in Fremantle! Our Bed and Breakfast offers the traveller a choice of options from a ''Romantic Honeymoon Suite''Tarantella Suite, to an open plan Apartment for the Guests that like their space ''The Down Under Suite '', along with 4 other original rooms to choose from, we are sure to have what suits you best. Sorry but we do not have parking on our premises. Free overnight parking upon availability just around the corner on High Street from 5pm to 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fremantle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing