We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Platinum Suites Fremantle
Ranked #4 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 so I am just a bit late in posting this review but really wanted to because we had a great experience. Spent a few nights at the Platinum Suites while my husband and I were visiting Western Australia and we enjoyed our stay. To be honest we were a bit dubious when we showed up as it looked like the place was under construction (and there were working on some rooms) but it had absolutely no negative impact on our stay. The room we had was bright and modern. The location is not too far a walk in to town (or you can take the free bus). The on street parking was no issue either. The breakfast was one of the best we had our entire stay in Australia. Now for the part that was the surprising highlight – Vicki. My husband and I are friendly people but we are a bit more reserved and typically we are not B&B people- we like our anonymity. Well Vicki is just such an interesting woman and so helpful…very endearing. She had tips for us – even for stuff to do in Perth which was the next place we were headed too. She really made the stay extra special and I would recommend this place with absolutely no reservations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 107 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

my husband and I stayed for 2 nights here on our first stop in Australia. it is quite far from the airport : A$63 for the taxi. in Australia apparently there is no need to tip taxi. we asked about paying by credit card and the driver said YES but there will be a 10% charge!! the B&B is very smart, the room was good/roomy with good views, quite hot in the afternoon with the sun shinning in. Vikki the owner is very friendly and kind: even dropped us off at our restaurant the first night.

Room Tip: we had room 202 at the corner so had a great view. they also have a lift which was of great help for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you happen to find yourself down Fremantle way for either Business or Pleasure and would like to experience warm West Australian hospitality with hosts Vicki & Peter, in an immaculately clean, small boutique, this is where you should head.

You enter Platinum Suites via a stylish lounge area, and if you are overcome by the need to sit and play Bach on the "baby grand" you are welcome to do so.

Close proximity to everything Freo has to offer via the free bus.

The continental breakfast included is in abundance & sufficient to keep you going all day; my favourite being the in season fresh strawberries the size of my fist!!

Just half-a-dozen rooms, a lift to the upper floor, or via the stunning staircase - where the king-size bed in my room was superbly comfortable!

Freo's best "executive B & B", without doubt. Fantastic for singles on business or pleasure or for couples looking for a get-away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a really high quality B&B, conveniently located near a Blue CAT (free) bus stop, which made getting around the town completely painless. The owners, Vicki & Peter, make you feel extremely welcome and are terrific hosts.

This was a great base for visiting the local attractions. We found the prison, the round house, the sub (at the maritime museum) and the Glen Cowans studio were all worth a visit.

For the light sleepers the only negative aspect to consider is the traffic noise, as the accommodation is located at the junction of South St & Marine Terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank and977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wow! What a gorgeous place to stay in Fremantle. Sparkly & new opulent rooms with a king size bed, views across the harbour and a stunning bathroom complete with natio products (none of this cheap stuff you get at most hotels). The 6 room b&b feels more like a hotel with a lift, a beautiful marble staircase with a whale spine inspired support structure underneath, a baby grand and a guest lounge with friendly guests relaxing and mingling. Vicki is the hostess with the mostest. A sparkly but not over the top personality and boy does she know how to put on a nice continental breakfast. You won't feel like going around the corner to one of the many cafes on offer for breaky. Great dining & entertainment options close by not to mention the beach! Do yourself a favour. Stay here, you will want to return again and again. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tallfreogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Spent 1 night on my return home from Newman..Good location with walking distance from the City of Fremantle. A free bus going every 15 mins just over the road will be handy for the less able to walk. Kingsize bed/hot shower /tea/coffee/fridge/modern TV/ and belcony.Did have to put in earplugs however as it is on the corner of a main road. Great B/fast downstairs, all lovely setup by the host Vicki. All in all a good stay at a good price......

Room Tip: If you are catching the train get off at Fremantle Station and catch the FREE "BLUE CAT"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carerontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Location is fabulous, only a 10 minute stroll to Freemantle and right on the free bus route. Breakfast each morning was extremely good and a great start to the day. The rooms were very clean and the natio toiletries a lovely touch. But the best thing was the hospitality offered by Vicki and Peter. The consumate hosts, their flexibility and assistance with helping us get the most out of our stay was invaluable.

Room Tip: We had room 2a.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melomys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platinum Suites Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platinum Suites Fremantle

Address: 1 South St | South Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: $125 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Platinum Suites Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated Cnr. South Street & Marine Terrace. Platinum Suites Fremantle is a unique modern building complete with an elevator. Elegant rooms with beautiful ensuites. A healthy substantial continental breakfast is included in the tariff. Perfect for the discerning traveller and corporate guests where your comfort is paramount. Not suitable for children under 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Platinum Suites Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing