We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The location was great and easy to access public transportation, walk to the beach or other areas. The room was nice. Somewhat disappointed by the breakfast. The hosts were very nice and gracious but we didn't see them very often (a negative and a plus). Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Each room is different and the bathroom configurations are different. If you have special requests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kabrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow thanks for taking the time, reviews on Trip Advisor are the most important standard for having real time visitors leave their comments , we are so grateful to you .

Chris and Robbie Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
60
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My stay is for four days and am very happy and comfortable. Easy walk to sea and swimming beach, supermarket, bottleshop and cafés. Longer walk into Freo's main strip and famous weekend markets, but free local bus runs by the door. My room is air conditioned, large, big comfy king bed, and good sized en suite with spa bath and shower over. TV is a bit small and away to the side in a cupboard that is a bit strange and it would be nice to have an accessible power point to recharge phone and iPad other than in the bathroom, but that is being a bit picky... Breakfast is very good, self serve, plenty of choice and plenty of everything. Would be more than happy to stay again,

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PennitDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
What a great review ! We are thrilled by your well written comments .
The wet cake is actually a rich Irish Fruit cake soaked with Whisky , it has become really popular with our Guests .
Thanks again

Chris and Robbie Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice B&B, we stayed two nights. We stayed one night there before we trekked off to Margaret River and when we got back to Fremantle we stayed another night. We had different rooms on these nights and both were very nice. Whilst it was great to have an ensuite bathroom, both were very compact. Easy access to/from Fremantle is by the free CAT (bus). An excellent continental breakfast was included. Welcoming and helpful hosts. We would recommend this B&B to others and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you want more than a very compact ensuite, check with hosts prior to booking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
These reviews are a real reward for us , we really appreciate our Guests comments .
Thanks so much for spreading the good word for us
Kind regards

Chris and Robbie Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Arrived in Perth Aeroport at 11pm. In Fremantle just before midnight. Beforehand, I was supplied with the door lock combination and the keys to my room were in the door, as promised. Clean and easy entry, immaculate interior with complimentary Scotch in the hallway and some sort of 'wet-cake' on the fridge. Yum, even at midnight :) . Well sorted Breakfast, although I wouldn't advertise it as huge. But sort of a 'bit of everything'. My boss paid for two guests (although I am just one, maybe he thought of 'Harvey' and booked a King-size bed. Own corner bathroom. All in all, very much recommending Heritage Cottage to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Marcus

We really appreciate your review , and my wife was delighted you liked her special fruit cake, she soaks the fruit in a mixture of Earl Grey Tea and a good splash of my Irish whiskey !!!
Slainte !

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wonderful, helpful hosts. Easy access by free CAT (public transport) from railway station. Free CAT around Fremantle and also to cruise terminal. Delicious continental breakfast with plenty of options. Great value for money. Several restaurants only a short walk away. We hope to stay there again when in Fremantle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We so appreciate all feed back from all our guests and this then allows us to continue to improve our standards.

Kind regards Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Heritage Cottage is a decent B&B, i'm not on for the informality of hotels and enjoyed a chat with the manager whilst I was booking in.
The rooms are well sized for a period house, the bed was large and firm and i had a spa bath also in the ensuite.
I stayed for 2 nights, it's a quick stroll to restaurants and the beach.
I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you were happy with your recent visit with us.
We have found that the quality of the reviews on Trip Advisor to be the most beneficial to our Service Management programme.
Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

'Heritage cottage' was always going to be either a beautiful authentic cottage or a complete con. It was definitely authentic - a lovely period villa, with original features in all the rooms but modernised so it was also very comfortable. Good bed, all very clean, shower was good, even fast wireless in the room, easy door code system so I didn't have to disturb anyone. The owners were genuinely friendly, and I got the sense that if I needed anything not already provided (there was a decanter of port in the hall and delicious fruit cake in the room, so there wasn't much missing), they'd be glad to help. The neighbourhood was nice too - top quality cafes a block away and a short walk into town through a pretty area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldMatheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.9 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 273 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia (Formerly Heritage Cottage Bed and Breakfast)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Beach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your South Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing