We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Salad....”

Clancy's Fish Pub Fremantle
Ranked #40 of 339 Restaurants in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The original fish pub and leader of the pack, dishing out great beer, tasty treats and fine music since 1996. This true Fremantle icon has been a destination for many a year, welcoming families, corporates, hipsters and all-comers, through the doors of this classic Freo establishment. The first to bedeck the fishy decor and vibrant colours, the first to stock and support local craft beer and wine, and a champion of Fremantle’s rich musical history. From first time acts and school bands, to indie hipsters and world renowned touring acts, samba, dance and local living legends of the music industry. Throw in a quiz night, rock ‘n’ roll bingo and poetry nights, and there is always something happening on the Clancy’s stage. A great pub menu famous for its classic fish and chips and legendary seafood platter, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine or beer while the kids run wild in Princess May Park, adjacent to the pub. Truly a pub for all.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Salad....”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A friend and I met here for lunch on a very hot Perth day. My large lemon, lime and bitters drink was delicious and really hit the spot. We ordered quinoa salad with roast pumpkin and shaved beetroot, sprouts, grapefruit and mint dressing.The salad was delicious. We both cleared our plates. The décor is very casual, think painted mis-matched chairs and tables. There are outside tables and a grassed area so children can play. Clancy's are famous for their fries and aioli - definitely worth a try! The service was casual but friendly and there is a bar area for those who just want a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JacMc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    87
    20
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint Ambience, Seafood - it's all good!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The reputation of this place precedes itself - I was told! It was an afternoon out with my family and an old friend and the weather put us all in the best mood to enjoy every moment. We arrived around 14:00 and hence could not find a table outdoors, so we chose the corner table, near the aquarium; indoors.
The furniture in this place has seen a lot of wear and tear, almost like odd and ends salvaged from every old house or restaurant that existed. The sofas could use new upholstery, so choose a table with chairs if you have a back problem!
The seafood options are interesting enough although there are 'land food' dishes that might interest as well. Our choice was a small seafood platter, beer battered fish and chips and beer battered feta fingers. To wash this down an order from their bar included beer!
The servings are okay and we three adults managed to share the meal just fine, the platter comes with an assortment of starters - oysters with a bacon relish, two types of mussel dishes, grilled prawn, fish fillet, chips and calamari 'springs' and of course fresh fries...YUMMY....
The Feta fingers we ordered on the side, were my favourite.
The price of the meal did pinch the pocket a little at AUD 68 for the food and AUD29 for the spirits, not for everyday eating out, but worth a visit.
The outdoor play area is good to digest the food and sober up a bit before heading home. Paid parking is available around the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kianga, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grubby looking environment, food was ok for the price. Has a large grassed area for children but is not secure .”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The play area was not secure but as a parent you may not relies that until to late there is a large area which is out of sight which i was not happy about. Food was ok, the inside was generally scruffy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great relaxed atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

With an impressive array of excellent local beers and a menu of interesting and exciting food, Clancy's Fish Pub is a perfect location for a fun and enjoyable afternoon/evening. Very family friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and simple food done well. I had the lamb burger which was very nice. Bit pricey for what it is but we are on Perth after all.

Helpful?
Thank IrishEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Fish Pub Fremantle also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Clancy's Fish Pub Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing