We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites Fremantle
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just had 2 night stay over New Year and cannot fault anything. The room was great, did exactly what it was meant to do, I agree it's not unique or where you'd want to stay on your honeymoon but it was clean, organised, had the facilities I expected, ironing board, kettle etc. Perfect for what we wanted. The location is brilliant, so close to everything in Freemantle and then the train into Perth. We had a car so did have access to the onsite parking.

What made our stay so great was the staff, nothing was too much trouble and they were so accommodating, we ended up staying here as we'd had problems at our pre-booked accommodation, they were really understanding and went out of their way to assist to make the transfer hassle-free. I would recommend this for a stay in Freemantle, it is very central so if you are looking for an early quiet night ask for a room at the back, as it is central, but the location is part of the appeal!

Thank you again and happy new year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAM4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is well situated, probably the best of the limited choices in Fremantle. Access to shops, transport, cafes and the harbor are excellent.

The rooms are decent and functional but there is very little to justify a 'boutique' 4 star rating. An example is the nesspresso machine that the pods are $1 each for.

A few administrative issues plagued my stay, such as the entry card ceasing to work. The issue, luckily, arose in business hours. This was resolved quickly but again should not happen.

No wi-fi?? For business travelers and international guests this is a big seller. An increasing number of 4 star hotels and appartments have free wi-fi.

Parking was a bit of a joke. Only 5 spots on site in a tiny area. This gives a very 'Austin powers' experience of trying to get a car any bigger than a Getz in and out. Not worth the effort for all but the most patient traveller, if you can avoid the need for a car.

The massive excavation and construction across the road was awful. This should have been mentioned by hotel staff in advance. Not at all good if you plan to do any work from the room or if you desire a sleep-in, which is not unusual on holidays surely?

Overall it's a decent place, great location and comfortable. But 4 stars is a stretch

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody_dog07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Bannister Suites in Fremantle after disembarking from a cruise ship. We chose Bannister Suites after reading good reports on Tripadvisor and it is in a great location in the middle of town. We took a cab from the Port to the Hotel for $10( a bit too far to walk with suitcases). The Hotel is close to the Fremantle Markets which are great and lots of restaurants within walking distance. Check in was smooth and easy and our room looked clean and tidy when we arrived but when we got settled and I went to the bathroom I realised that the shower still had old soap, shampoo and condition in the shower. We also had new soap, shampoo and conditioner on the bench in the bathroom. I thought this a bit odd but then thought that maybe the cleaner forgot to take away the old soap and shampoo, but then I checked the bin in the bathroom and it had not been empited. I was not that alarmed as it may have been an oversight and that does happen. Then when I pulled down the bed sheets it was very obvious that our sheets were not changed. There were pubic hairs all through them and the sheets and pillow cases were all crumpled. I went down to the reception to ask for new sheets and explained the situation and the girl in the office was very embarrassed and gave me new sheets, pillow covers and a bath towel and hand towel that were missing from the room. We paid $195 per night for this room and due to the state of our room I cannot give the Bannister Suites a good rating. which is a shame because the cleaners made this a very negative experience for us and I could not recommend this Hotel to others.

Room Tip: Check your room and bed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoldCoastJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I recently shared a room with my daughter for an overnight stay in Fremantle. Bannister suites are located in a very handy position in the centre of town. You can walk to the waterfront very comfortably, eat at many outdoor cafes and restaurants within a few minutes and great access to all the local shopping.

The building is very secure and the rooms are comfortable although without any remarkable features. The bathroom was very large which was much appreciated after 3 days travelling on the Indian Pacific!

Parking is available but if the on site parking is full there is a car parking station just around the corner with a set rate per day for the Bannister Suites.

I would recommend for anyone looking for a clean and comfortable room that wanted to get out and about to enjoy Fremantle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gvc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. I wouldn't agree that the hotel is 'boutique', but for the price it's pretty good. Location is perfect & walking distance to pubs and cafes. The parking in freo isn't great. The hotel quotes $20 per day - I would suggest to pay the expensive rate & book in advance for convenience. Down the street is $1.60 per hour otherwise around town it has time restrictions.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TS_3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our recent holiday to Broome started and ended with a stay at the Bannister Suites. After looking forward to this trip for quite some time it was most disappointing that the Bannister Suites did not live up to their website description of luxury accommodation. Blatant disregard for the privacy of guests was only the beginning as the misdemeanours of the facility came piling in one on top of the other.

Confusion over check out time meant that a man we could only assume was the manager, or at the very least a staff member came barging into our room demanding that we leave immediately in an aggressive and insulting manner. He did not identify himself, instead using a hotel master key to enter our room unbidden. This disregard for our privacy was quite distressing.

This was reiterated by a rude phone call received from reception at the same time. This was due to the hotel refusing to provide confirmation of the check out time despite the fact we had requested this via email the week before arriving. According to the confirmation we had received it was still long before we were due to check out.

A very catty receptionist informed us that she didn't believe we had an email stating a late check out had been requested. Then the man who had entered our room without warning (wearing a windcheater) proceded to act deliberately obtuse and stated that we had signed a registration card accepting the checkout time and this was also what the website says. He purposefully pretended to not understand that we actually had written conformation of the late checkout from the booking website. We had this with us and offered to provide the still unidentified man with a copy. There was no apology for any of his behaviour previously.

We stayed twice at Bannister Suites in the one week and were placed in three separate rooms during our stay (we spend no longer than one night in one room). Parking was an additional cost which was charged to our credit card without even informing us of when the charge was being made, which was unfortunate as we had actually hoped to pay this with cash. The telephone in the room didn't work; we were unable to contact even reception, and the room was filthy with a few large suspicious yellow stains on the floor. The room was so tiny and chlostrophobic, with not even a chair to sit on. The Staff were on the whole extremely rude and unhelpful in every way - perhaps some retraining is in order?

Despite a central location I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The four star rating should most certainly be reviewed as we do not believe this is justifiable. The website states "luxury accommodation" which is something we most certainly did not receive.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBSF, Owner at Quality Suites Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

As the Director of the Bannister Suites I must state that this review is not only wildly untrue but a complete misrepresentation of the issue of the reviewers stay with us. On the day of the reviewer’s first departure I was informed by my receptionist at 12.30pm that the guests were still in the room and claiming they had a 2pm check out. As they were not answering the telephone in the room or the mobile number supplied on their reservation I went to their room. I knocked on the door and the reviewer answered the door.

At no stage did I use my master card to enter the room.

The reviewer insisted they had a 2pm check confirmed to them by lastminute.com. I explained to them this was not the case, obviously they were not happy. The reviewer also on arrival signed our registration form acknowledging our terms and conditions and was informed that check out time was 10am. This was not accepted as a fact by the reviewer.

When the reviewer did come down to reception she was angry that we had made her check out prior to 2pm. In discussions with the reviewer the claim was they had an email from Lastminute.com confirming the 2pm check out but could not provide it to show me and stated that she would forward it to us later which still has not happened.

The reviewer made three separate reservations via a third party website for their stay with us. The first for one night only. The next two reservations that the reviewer had with us were for two completely different room types. One for each night of their final stay with us. On departure after their return stay the reviewer actually informed my Front Office Supervisor that the reservations had been made by another hotel for them as they had been told the hotel they wished to stay at was under renovation.

The twin room the reviewer stayed on for their first and last night’s stay has a tub chair and a desk chair for seating.

The second room type the reviewer stayed in was a one bedroom suite which has a two and a half seater leather sofa in the living room area.

The reviewer claims the telephone was not working but clearly states that they received a phone call from reception.

There are no stains on the carpet in either of the rooms occupied by the reviewer and the rooms are cleaned to the highest of standards.

Lastly, there is no facility for any third party website that we are listed on to facilitate any late check out. Our check in and check out times are clearly indicated in all of our websites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
248 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Fremantle

Address: 22 Bannister St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia (Formerly Bannister Suites Fremantle)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: $101 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An executive style appointed hotel which offers modern rooms and the flexibility of group bookings. Quality Suites Fremantle is centrally located 300 meters from the Fremantle Train Station and within walking distance to Fremantle's key tourism hot spots and highlights. On the doorstep to the restuarant and café strips, Artisan style breads shops, Fremantle Markets and Cinema about 1km away. The famous Bathers Beach House with harbourside iconic restaurants such as Little Creatures Micro Brewery along with the local beach are a short 7 minute walk away. Quality Suites Fremantle is perfect spot for a stay vacation, wedding, corporate stay while experiencing the many highlights of Fremantle. All rooms are equipped with fast, free WiFi internet access and free in-house movies. Note: Quality Suites Fremantle is 100% Non Smoking. Hotel Parking is Strictly Limited - Book in advance to avoid dissapointment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Suites Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bannister Suites Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing