We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with rude reception / management need to learn service and people skills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks – Woodman Point
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Expensive camping @ $82 a night.
Weren't allowed to bring more than one vehicle despite needing to bring onto site to unload. Blonde manager was incredibly rude on arrival since we arrived 15 mins early ( no one was on the site) and just had a terrible attitude. Facilities were ok, toilets and showers not enough to accomodate amount of people on grounds.
On leaving blonde manager was just as rude dropping key off, really off putting. Wouldn't be in a hurry to return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perthchik72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Woodman Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were disappointed that you stay at Woodman Point Holiday Park did not meet your expectations. We apologise for any misunderstanding caused with the regulation for how many vehicles permitted per site. The park has three ablutions blocks which accommodates our guests however at peak times there can be a short wait. Our staff prides themselves on their service and your comments will be brought to the Management team.
Thanks again for your review.

Regional Managers Perth Metro & SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for a three nights and it was great for what we needed. We did not use all the factivitles but the ablution blocks were clean (plenty of hot water and shower pressure fantastic). The staff were friendly and helpful. The park itself was quiet and lovely and shady.
Would go back....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rigden62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well laid out family holiday park with above average amenities that are well maintained and lots of shady trees. Located in a park with an interesting history, access to nice swimming/snorkeling beaches with jetties for fishing, long cycle/walk track. Staff were polite and professional.

Room Tip: Caravans and camping
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tw1ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for one night at a powered campervan site. The site was good, relatively private with easy access to bathrooms, power, water and pool. The pool was nice. Kitchen and bathrooms were not very new and not very clean. At 46 dollars a night just to use a site and the facilities, this is the most expensive campervan park we ever stayed at.

The real problem however was the service. On checkout, we asked whether we could park our campervan in the visitor parking area and use the pool for a couple of hours and were told that it was not a problem. We used the pool for about an hour until a different person who worked at reception came running towards us and shouting to us asking whether we were still guests. We explained that we had been told that we could stay but she claimed that they understood that we would go to the beach not the pool. Instead of apologising for her misunderstanding and politely ask us to leave, she continued to raise her voice and aggressively claimed that we were "breaking the law", though obviously we weren't as we had been given prior permission.

We left immediately and do not intend to ever return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Woodman Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of Woodman Point Holiday Park.
We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Woodman Point.
We apologise for any misunderstanding caused on your departure. We understand that the receptionist misunderstood your request and thought you were going to the beach to swim. It is Aspen Parks policy that our guests once they have checked out are unable to use our facilities. Due to Health & Safety reasons guests who have checked out are no longer covered under our liability insurance.
Once again we apologise for the misunderstanding and thank you for your comments.

Regional Managers Perth Metro / SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here recently for a week which included the Australia Day long weekend. All the staff from the front office to the grounds staff were friendly and obliging, the grounds including the pool were well looked after, it's a very good (but very expensive) caravan park. Up until the weekend the Park was only about one third full so daily cleaning of the ablutions was fine. However, over the weekend the park was 100% full and the ablutions were STILL only cleaned ONCE a day!!! By 4pm the toilets had ran out of paper, the shower cubicles were full of black sand and the floors were dangerously soaking wet. But it was the lack of toilet paper which was the worst. Come on Big 4 management, use some common sense and if the park is full, check the ablutions more than once a day!! Will we return? Despite it being extremely overpriced, yes we will but NEVER over a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted at reception with disinterest, which started to upset our holiday mood. Fortunately Trish arrived and was very helpful. Sadly some of the reception staff need a course in customer service.

The temperatures were in the high 30's but the fans in the ablusion blocks were not working and the windows couldn't be opened and the doors self closing and locked, hense it was like an oven at all times. We found the showers had mildew growing in the corners and up the walls, and the floors were badly stained. After reporting this to the office we were informed it would be put in the report book and there it seems to of stayed because after 4 days nothing was done. Apart from this we found the park kitchen and BBQ areas clean and tidy.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Trina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Woodman Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments.
Woodman Point Holiday Park has undergone some refurbishment and improvements and work should be completed soon.
Our ablutions are cleaned regularly and with our upgrade of these facilities we will ensure this issue is monitored. We provide regular customer service training for our staff and your feedback will be used to improve our service.
We were pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Regional Managers – Perth Metro & SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just got back after a few nights including New Years Eve - where a free disco, complete with DJ, Lights and even Fog Machine was put on in the Campers Kitchen - Well done.

The main reason for my report is to advise that they have listened to what people have been saying and finally installed new BBQ's in the Camp Kitchen which work a treat.

Overall everything fine, but be sure to keep an eye on your gear - one of the locals was spotted casing the campsite whilst we were there - Reception informed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebby2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, Manager at Discovery Parks – Woodman Point, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of Woodman Point Holiday Park.
We have undertaken some improvements at the park one of which are our new barbecues and we are pleased our guests are enjoying the facilities.
Unfortunately some thieves feel that holiday makers make good and easy targets in their relaxed environment, and so we do encourage all of our guest to be vigilant with their belongings and lock up cars and cabins at all times.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Woodman Point Holiday Park.

Regional Managers – Perth Metro & SA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
4.8 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
6 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Discovery Parks - Coogee Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks – Woodman Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks – Woodman Point

Address: | Cnr 132 Cockburn Road and Magazine Court, Munster, Fremantle, Western Australia 6166, Australia (Formerly Woodman Point Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range: $62 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Parks – Woodman Point 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 13 minutes from the charm and bustle of Fremantle is one of our most popular holiday parks, Discovery Parks – Woodman Point (formerly Woodman Point Holiday Park). Our comfortable accommodation is ideal after a long day exploring the endless delights of ‘Freo’. Here’s your top five things to do in Fremantle. 1. For a touch of history, tour the Maritime Museum, Fremantle Prison or WA's oldest public building, the Roundhouse. 2. Walk the streets and admire Georgian and Victorian-era architecture. 3. Stroll through the iconic Fremantle markets. 4. Relax with coffee on the famous ‘Cappuccino Strip’. 5. Tuck into fish n’ chips at Fishing Boat Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Parks – Woodman Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing