We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fletcher Hotel(Naaldwijk)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Oasis Hotel(Spijkenisse)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlas Hotel Holiday(Spijkenisse)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citta Romana(Hellevoetsluis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
18
60
73
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
60
73
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquirky hoteltownfurnishingswallbikes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 187 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Because of the previous reviews, we made an one-night reservation for a double room with extra comfort. That meant two extra chairs from the seventies, a German version of the Bible and a bathtub. The beds were okay-ish and the flatscreen tv was directly influenced by the winterseason, although we had more snow on the inside than outside. The heating didn't work and the smell in the bathroom was terrible. The showerhead had five poor streams, so make sure your flexible so that you can catch some water. We didn't eat in the restaurant because it smelled like catfood. Anyhow, we had a good sleep, but that's about it...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasGroningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

De Zalm is located in the very center of Brielle. The bar and restaurant look cosy. The staff is friendly. The food is OK but not special. These are the good things.....
To get to your room you'll have to take a rather steep stairs. If you are lucky your room is on the 1st floor. 2nd Floor means 2 stairs....
The rooms are rather small, with poor sanitair.
De Zalm is a bit overpriced, I think!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on mainstreet
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Best ask for a room on the first floor, we moved from the top for just 10 euros for a bigger room with en suite.
Great bikes to rent for 5 euros, staff adorable.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank paulfurlong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

First I'm going to qualify my comments by noting that we booked through a travel agency - Phoenix - who lied to us about the hotel and must take some of the blame,

But that does not excuse the Hotel for treating us like 2nd class citizens.

On entry you might be pleasantly surprised. The main entry are looks warm and inviting, and the dining area for residents looks plush. But that was the last we were to see of it.

At neck times we were relegated en masse to a back room which was grotty and dingy. This apparently is their public restaurant which boasts an a la carte menu. But not for group bookings who get a bland tasteless buffet vaguely reminiscent of school dinners.

The three course meal the first night was soup, a non-descript meat in grey gravy and ice cream.

Breakfasts were worse. There was something fishy or vinegary about the scrambled eggs which had an unattractive crust on them. Bacon was soggy and tasteless. A selection of meats and cheeses was no better.

And heaven forbid if you were to attempt to sit in the 'residents' dining area. Know yous place. A few of us were soon put in ours.

After the first meals in the restaurant we chose to dine elsewhere despite the food having been paid for.

Before we get to the rooms, lets talk about the stairs. Our room was on the second floor, with no lift, and a staircase more like a climbing wall to scale.

If you are lacking good fitness and balance forget it.

The room itself was long overdue a facelift. Drab and dingy, with a tiny bathroom. Sit on the toilet and your leg will be scalded by the radiator.

The tiny bath had mould throughout the grout. Disgusting.

Forget about sleeping either. The mattresses are awful leading to aching backs which were the only thing to distract from the local youths who, all evening seemed to run yelling through the streets outside. No double glazing so I strongly suggest ear plugs.

The staff were often rude and unhelpful and made no attempt to make us welcome.
Michael the bar man was particularly bad. Insisting very rudely that we pay for each drink up front in cash. Forget running a tab or putting it on your room. Whatever you do don't order wine at the bar. They have only one red which was like vinegar.

And why stay in Brielle anyway? We should have been tipped off by the fact that if you search 'things to do in Brielle' not a single search engine returns one result.

Stay in Rotterdam or the Hague or Amsterdam, and by all means pop into Brielle for an hour or two to see the quaint streets and cathedral, but don't waste your time and money staying the night, most especially not at Hotel De Zalm.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I booked a standard room in this hotel although I did not know that there were better rooms or at what price, the booking site I used just had a deal for one kind of room so that's what I took. How disappointing. There are two floors of rooms, the first has the best rooms and the second has the worst and obviously much worse. The bed sloped and I didn't have one night of comfortable sleep, the shower which was shared was not attended to often enough and the room was tiny and quite dark as there was a wall only a few feet from the window. But what turned me right off and scared the daylights out of me was the highly dangerous flight of stairs that separated the first and second floors, steep and extremely narrow to the point where you almost had to go down backwards. I refused to carry my bag up or down the stairs, the staff obliged there but otherwise were completely indifferent to this situation. It was a nightmare and I was there four nights, the other rooms were fully booked and Brielle has little choice of accommodations. In fact an elderly person would not be able to use these stairs.
The breakfast was great and no complaints there at all and the restaurant very nice although I did not have dinner there, it seemed to be very popular.
It's a nice building from the outside but needs a lift installed and the rooms better serviced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews