We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful little town in Switzerland, this place has great scenery and a great location. I stayed here on my topdeck trip, the rooms were on the small side, basically just 2 bunk beds and not much luggage space.

You did have to pay to use the showers which was annoying if you didn't have any Swiss currency on you.

You did have to pay for wifi, but overall a good and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austraveller182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Whether you're backing packing around by yourself or with a family even if recommend Schutzenbach Camping & Backpackers!!

LOCATION:

Goodness me, if you're wanting a place with views this is the place you need to stay! You look to one side you see mountains with green beautiful scenery and to the other side a waterfall with mountains and snow behind it!! Honestly a breath taking place when it comes to location

ROOMS: I stayed in a cabin of 4, I was in a tour group so it didn't matter so much. It was value for money I guess.. no air con or nothing like that but you get sheets and what not, you just have to bring your own sleeping back! They are cute and cosy! There are accommodation but I only viewed the cabins!

FACILITIES: The great thing about this place was that it had a place to do your laundry! Always a plus when you're back packing around! didnt cost too much either! BUT just on a side note... the showers cost 5 Franks for 2 minutes.. which is nothing but just letting you know. They also have a little shop where you can by snacks and drinks.. also a BAR :D so much fun this bar... I went with a Topdeck group.. there was about 50 of us in our group plus another 2/3 groups so it was packed. That's something you may want to keep in mind as well... its a chosen place for Topdeck and Contiki travel. There is a little play ground for children as well.

all in all,, loved this place and the views

Room Tip: This location of this place will take your breath away!! If you have the money make sure you do the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a Topdeck trip. The location was absolutely beautiful (and so is all of Lauterbrunnen!) The cabins were nice but basic and facilities clean. There was a bar which was lots of fun. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a lovely place to spend a few days. Stunning surroundings and free bus to the train station from outside the backpackers. Double rooms in the main building were very clean, and sink in room was useful. There seem to be quite a few additional costs outlined on the website (car-parking/showers/cooking facilities) but even if you paid all these additional costs this would still work out MUCH cheaper than most of the other accommodation in the area. Friendly staff on arrival upgraded us (without us asking) to two double rooms in the main building rather than a quad room which meant we didn't have to pay for showers and we were never charged for parking as stipulated on the website either, so it all seemed very relaxed. Staff were very firendly and kept bar open late as a big group of backpackers arrived on the saturday night. And it's a very cool bar!! They were happy to recommend places to visit the next day too. My two (tiny) niggles would be that the hairdryer in the ladies toilet block wasn't working, but as it wasn't busy I just the one in the men's instead, so no real problem. Also the cookers in the kitchen were very slow to heat up (seemed to be pot luck depending on which one you used), but again this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the trip. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have fond memories of this establishment mostly due to the beauty of Lauterbrunnen.

The facilities themselves are adequate. The rooms were clean though got rather cold at night. The cabins are small. No keys for the door so your room is unsecured when you are out and about. This was concerning.

The bathroom block is not attached to the cabins which is unpleasant in the cold, dark night. Showers are coin operated but warm. Laundry facilities were greatly appreciated.

Wifi available, but they required you to purchase something from the shop in order to get a wifi code.

Lauterbrunnen valley was stunning and I greatly enjoyed wandering the village and hiking the waterfalls. Would return to this establishment simply to enjoy the beauty of the community.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Although cheap, arrogant unconcern is the problem. We were late getting out of Italy (duh), so they sold our two night booking. We had tried to call (seems no answer or messaging if they are not at the desk) then got a chance to e-mail (used booking.com link). Owner admitted not reading that email address. Took all our money and left us without a room for the second night. Not only did she sell our room and also take our money, she wouldn't help us find another or allow internet. We had waited for them to show up, so it quickly got dark and cold in this winter mountain village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Really, as long as the rooms are clean and warm, the location makes this place worth staying at. It's completely stunning, a charming little town, and the bar made for a fun night. Stayed here as part of a Topdeck tour and it was perfect for us. The only downfall is that the toilet block is not attached to the rooms so be prepared to rug up in winter for trips to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camping Jungfrau
Camping Jungfrau
#1 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valley Hostel
Valley Hostel
#2 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Address: Schuetzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $45 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing