We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put on the cold dark street”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Although cheap, arrogant unconcern is the problem. We were late getting out of Italy (duh), so they sold our two night booking. We had tried to call (seems no answer or messaging if they are not at the desk) then got a chance to e-mail (used booking.com link). Owner admitted not reading that email address. Took all our money and left us without a room for the second night. Not only did she sell our room and also take our money, she wouldn't help us find another or allow internet. We had waited for them to show up, so it quickly got dark and cold in this winter mountain village.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 86 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Really, as long as the rooms are clean and warm, the location makes this place worth staying at. It's completely stunning, a charming little town, and the bar made for a fun night. Stayed here as part of a Topdeck tour and it was perfect for us. The only downfall is that the toilet block is not attached to the rooms so be prepared to rug up in winter for trips to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our room had an fantastic view out the window, which alone was worth staying here. We stayed in a double room which was good value for money and quite spacious (though very basic). The bar and shop were ok but there wasn't a lot of choice.
There is a supermarket around 10 mins walk away and there's a communal kitchen which is better to use than the expensive restuarants nearby.
Probably the cheapest option in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Simon the guy in charge was exceptionally rude to most of the group I stayed with. He refused to give people change for the showers which cost 50 Swiss francs. They were largely clean but smelly and most toilets had broken seats. The rooms were tiny and you couldn't turn the hearing up. They advertise free wifi but he will only give it to a couple of people and it only lasts half an hour. Breakfast was good and the location is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at Schutzenbach for 2 nights on a coach tour. The rooms are well organised with enough room for 4 to share in 2 bunks. The chalet adds to the experience of staying in the Swiss Alps. The staff are friendly and understand English very well. There is a little shop which sells gifts, drink, snacks etc for good prices (the village isn't far).

At night, the rooms do get cold, but the heating in our chalet worked a treat however some other friends struggled with theirs.

There are no locks on the doors as the crime rate is NIL in this photographic little retreat. With mountains all around, it is an ideal little venue if you are touring the Alps and want a bed for the night. There is also a bar!

Room Tip: The road is not noisy at night so it doesn't really matter where you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in a 4 bedded room with three others whilst on a topdeck tour. The room was very tiny for 4 people and 4 luggages. The rooms had no locks, as it was apparently a safe place to be (This doesn't mean that other tourists are as trustworthy as the locals though, does it?).

This place had a communal shower and toilet area. You also need to pay for your (warm) showers here. This is pretty decent though.

Don't forget that the Swiss have different adaptors to other European countries! They will lend you blowdryer and adaptors at the reception.

Wifi is free with purchases from reception or the bar. Wifi reception only works close to those two locations though.

Was in a good location, not too far from the train station and a few stores.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatto89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed there for two nights during a Topdeck tour.
I stayed in a 4-bed cabin that was pretty small but comfortable.
I went in September and at that time they do not turn on the heating so I was frozen during both nights. You need to go outside to access the shared showers so the cold really hits you. And to take showers you need to have change (in Francs) with you. DO NOT PUT ALL YOUR CHANGE AT ONCE, wait until the water runs out before putting more money, or you will loose it all!
Despite this, you are in Switzerland so the cold is to be expected. The sceneries and the quietness of the area makes it all worth it. And I had so much fun at the bar on site. You'll have a good time, guaranteed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _J4zzie_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauterbrunnen hotels
0.5 mi away
Valley Hostel
Valley Hostel
#2 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camping Jungfrau
Camping Jungfrau
#1 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Waldrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Staubbach
Hotel Staubbach
#1 of 4 in Lauterbrunnen
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping

Address: Schuetzenbach, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $45 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Schuetzenbach Backpackers & Camping Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing