We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, cheerful, warm and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful, warm and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great deal for low budget travellers who are exploring the Lauterbrunnen valley and associated resorts. The Valley hostel costs c. £20 per night and is just 200 metres from the station. Reception is friendly and efficient, rooms are basic but you get your own key for the shared room and the showers/toilets are all that a traveller needs. Lots of bars and restaurants around and the hostel has breakfast options and a kitchen that can be used.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    87
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
57
94
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Valley Hostel is situated at the most beautiful and magical place, Lauterbrunnen Valleys. It is a short walk (~5-10mins) from the train station and the hostel has a very warm and hospitable environment. I have stayed both in summer and winter to experience the different sides of Lauterbrunnen and Valley Hostel has always been my top choice for accommodations.

For a hostel, it has everything a backpacker needs. From well equipped self catering kitchens, to clean toilets, ever friendly and approachable staffs, comfortable beds (not rather sure bout the pillows though), to an excellant starting location for activities.

I am in love with this place and will definitely be back in the near future. (:

Room Tip: i stayed in the 3 bedroom private chalet and was greeted by the sights of waterfalls and scenic land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leexinru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent 2 nights here with my husband. Love, love, loved this place! It is extremely inexpensive compared to every other place in Switzerland! The only difference with it being a "hostel" is that you don't have room service, you have to put on your own sheets and take them off at the end of your stay, no towels provided, and you have shared bathrooms. This place is perfect for people on a budget, they have rooms for couples (or singles) and larger bunked rooms for more.

Pros:
This place was about the only place we could afford to stay on our budget and we were pleasantly surprised that it was super clean, very new, modern and neat. Nothing old, shabby or needing repair. The shared bathrooms and showers were extremely clean as they are attended to often, and there was never a problem of not being able to use one. The rooms were big, clean, bright and simply decorated. The walls were insulated, so we were always warm and cozy and didn't have a problem with noise from neighbors. We had FANTASTIC views from our balcony windows/glass doors. Even though it is a very small town, it was easy to find this place as it is on the main street about a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Con:
We didn't realize that towels were not provided, so we had to improvise! So be warned, bring your own towels! Otherwise, no negative comments at all.

Also, be warned, you must pay full in cash upon arrival, so have cash ready!

Room Tip: Bring your own towels!!! Request a room in the chalet, which is smaller and newer than the hostel b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hostel was the cleanest hostel I have ever been. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. But it was "too clean" for my taste and without any special atmosphere, so that is why I rated just as "average". Maybe the lack of atmosphere was because there were not young people at that time in the hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a private room, which was small but cosy. Only 2 of us, this room had a loft bed and would have been a tight squeeze with 3 people's luggage. showers and toilets were very clean, but very small towels. Bed, doona and pillow were very comfy. You have to make your own bed with linen provided. Good location, close to station. Free wifi worked well. We didn't use the kitchen but it seemed well equipped. Could do with a comfy communal lounge area with TV, otherwise would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very clean, well equipped and comfortable hostel in an ideal position in Lauterbrunnen. Close to the station and the Murren cable car made it a great place to stay for a 2 week ski trip. Comfortable, warm and modern accommodation in traditional alpine buildings, ideal for couples or groups (varied room sizes), well specified kitchens, separate ski and boot rooms and balconies/terrace made it an easy, pleasant stay. Helpful staff to boot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eh74nq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are very clean, and no walking throughout the place with dirty shoes. You must wear slippers that are provided. The community bathroom is very clean, a mens and a ladies. The kichen is very big and a great place to meet everyone and share your experiences. The dinning room is another big area to meet and also check the WiFi. The views are stunning and the train station very close. There's a Co-op close by for food, a wine store, and other shopping spots. Your close to everything and I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandenjoyingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Property: Valley Hostel
Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing