We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to base yourself!”
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We enjoyed our rooms! We were staying in a dorm of 8! The place is absouletly clean and I loved the shower rooms! It's unlike any other hostel I stayed! Clean and spacious!

We loved the view from our windows and the location is an excellent based to go up the mountains.
Only 2 minutes from the rail station, we can go anywhere! The owners were warm and friendly! Will definately recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blurtravellerpei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Valley Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 321 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in Double Room, Triple Room and Single Bed in Co-ed Dormitory Room.

*The reception is not 24 hours. 16:00 - 22:00 for checkin and 07:00 - 10:00 hours checkout.
*WIFI signal is not really stable in the Double Room or Triple Room. But it is good around dining room.
*Cooking facilities help for backpackers.
*There are private parking spaces for backpackers which is really convenient.
*Location is really good, really close to train station.
*There is ski equipment storage room.

It is a really popular local hostel so remember to book it up advance enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Valley Hostel over the Christmas period of 2010 for a total of four nights and it remains one of our most memorable visits throughout the course of our three month stay in Europe. The hostel is central, immaculate and exceptionally cosy during the winter months, offering spectacular views of the valley and more than adequate facilities. Overall, we would highly recommend this hostel which is a bargain for the price you pay.

We had booked early for this one and landed a double room on the second floor where the view from our window/balcony was breathtaking; perfectly framing the picturesque valley and towering Staubbach Falls. The beds are very warm and comfortable and the space provided more than ample. There is attractive wooden floor-boarding throughout these rooms meaning you must first take your shoes off before entering, however sandals are provided and this is really not a bothersome practice at all. The area where we were staying had few other rooms on the same level with a separate kitchen and bathroom, meaning you'd rarely have to wait to make use of the facilities. Free WiFi in every room (if you've brought your own computer) is icing on the cake.

The location, as mentioned before, is fantastic. You're no more than a five minute walk from the train station, supermarket, winter sports rentals, or restaurants in any direction as well as the cable car up to Murren, Gimmelwald and Piz Gloria. Lauterbrunnen is a tiny place, however the quiet atmosphere and striking scenery makes for an even better base than Interlaken to the Jungfrau region (in our opinion). In short, anyone who complains about the location is clearly out of their mind.

In conclusion, Valley Hostel is well worth the visit and with the fairly limited accommodation options in Lauterbrunnen there's really no excuse not to give it a go. We would even go so far as to recommend those thinking of staying in Interlaken to opt for Lauterbrunnen and the Valley Hostel instead. It's a wonderful little town and a fantastic hostel.

Room Tip: Any of the double rooms is a solid choice, however book early for the best view.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Like the lastg years we really enjoyed our stay at the valleyhostel. It is in the middle of Lauterbrunnen so you can walk to station to Mürren and Wengen (5 Minutes), Shopping (COOP 3 Minutes), etc. As it is a hostel you have to bring your own towel. Sheets, etc. are available in the hostel. Different rooms are available 2-bed, 4,6 and 8 bed dorms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allways_arround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This hostel is a gem! Location-wise, it is only a few minutes walk from the train station (up a slope though, but not too tiring) and a grocery store (Coop), though that closes at 6.30pm in winter. We got a room on the third floor and as we arrived during the low season, there were not many people at our level (a few others arrived a day or two after us).

The view from the room was astounding. There is a small balcony which you can walk out to and feast your eyes upon the snowy mountains, which look like they were just a few hundred feet away from you. There is also a kitchen right opposite our room (with oven, stove, microwave and all the utensils) which we use to cook most of our meals (you can buy salad and instant meals from Coop). The bathroom is right beside the kitchen and it is sparkling clean throughout the day. They provide breakfast as well (2 pieces of bread, jam/butter and a cup of coffee/tea) for 11 CHF which does sound a bit expensive, but then again, almost everything is costly in Switzerland.

This place is perfect as a base if you want to explore Jungfraujoch...we went up in the morning, went to the Ice Palace, ate our lunch and came down as it was too cloudy to walk around outside. We reached Lauterbrunnen at around 4pm, went to Coop to get our daily grocery, came back to cook and had our dinner at the balcony.

Another plus point here is that it has free wifi and the owner is really friendly - you get the sense that they really welcome tourists. I would think that the only problem would be the shared bathroom especially during peak season, but I guess that is a small price to pay for having such a comfortable accommodation with great view and location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony facing the mountains for good view
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldangel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

First off, Lauterbrunnen is the most beautiful place we visited in our European endeavour! I could go non stop singing praise about this town, but I digress...

Hubby and I stayed at the Valley hostel for 2 nights in a private room (shared bath) with bunk beds.
Location - short walk (< 2 mins) from the railway station, cable station as well as the grocery store. There aren't too many eat-out options in Lauterbrunnen, you would have to go to Interlaken or maybe Wengen.
Cleanliness - Squeaky clean and they are proud of it! In fact, you need to leave ur footwear outside ur room and use the slippers they provide indoors!! The bathrooms were clean too, but the problem was it was very crowded. In all the hostels we stayed all through in Europe, this was the only place we had to wait a long while before our turn. It's possible it was just one off, but also possible that they have very few restrooms/bathrooms for the number of rooms they have.
Service/Amenities - There is a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and large dining/common area. Free wifi is available, but we had some difficulty getting reception in our room. When we asked the front desk about it, they didn't seem to care (hence the 4 stars). We eventually had to go over to the dining area to use the internet.
Except for the above inconveniences, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juslyktht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights n absolutely loved it! we had never stayed in a hostel before...n this experience came as a pleasant surprise :) the hostel is very conveniently located near to the train station,supermarket (coop), restaurants and the cable car station. the room was tiny..but it was a hostel! the kitchen on our floor was very well maintained and had all the cooking amenities including microwave n coffee maker in a gud condition...the shared bathroom was not at all an issue...it was very clean..n we were also allowed to use other bathrooms if ours was busy...the laundary machines were dead slow i must say! but it was open till 10PM n costed us only 10Euros for wash n dry... the wi-fi service in our room was a great add - on..lastly the girl at the recetion was extremely helpful n friendly....they also gave us a chocolate bar as hostel sovenier..which was a very sweet gesture we thought! overall our first hostel experience was excellent with great value for money!

Room Tip: Try to request for the private rooms on the right side of the block entrance...as they had excellent...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilikeit84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing