We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hostel, breath taking view!”
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Samoens, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cute Hostel, breath taking view!”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed in a private double up the top of the hostel which looked over to the mountains where the train went up regularly, it was spectacular!

The hostel had a good fully equipped kitchen, but no oven. Wifi was available in the room. Good bathroom shared between the four rooms on our floor, just the one shower on toilet on our level.

Nice owners, got given chocolate and pens when leaving.

Room Tip: A private double on the highest level for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    93
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
62
99
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

we stayed in a double room, which was set in a little apartment with 5 other rooms. it was really cosy and warm, the bed comfy, the room had a table and chairs and a balcony with amazing views of the staubbach falls. the bathroom was very clean, as was the kitchen. the location is amazing, a few minutes from the train station and supermarket. the staff were friendly, and the price was great. will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broken_shadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Its just a 3 min walk from the train station & the most convenient hostel in Lauterbrunnen.
The family who owns it is welcoming & warm. The rooms are basic, with a shower & toilet just outside. They have a nice sit out balcony with a direct view of the Staubach waterfall.
The lounge & dining room on the ground floor is a great place for socializing. Also 3 free laptops with internet available at reception.
They also provide a free fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, micro, coffee maker, gas stove, utensils, crockery & cutlery & a dining table to eat meals with other hostelites.
They have a unique free food cabinet to share extra food & snacks with others.
Overall a great experience & quite cheap

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank drsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

a great place to stay with absolutely friendly people and good service in the middle of a beautiful region. the rooms are quiet and beautiful. Within walking distance to Lauterbrunnen station and a good base for one day trips to Wengen, Kleine Scheidegg, Mürren and Schilthorn. Perfekt area for skiing, biking and walking..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allways_arround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Wow - this hostel is fabulous. Immaculately clean. Fully equipped kitchen. Comfy beds in a private room (not bunk beds). Great, cozy bedding. Helpful, personable owner. Clean, modern shower and bathroom. Room darkening shades allowed us to get some extra sleep. Nice area to hang wet clothes and boots. Great commons area and yard to sit in. Our room had a small balcony with a lovely view of the Falls. Only a short walk to the train/bus station. The only bad thing I can say about it is, it is in the valley and not up in a mountain village.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoboMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights over New Year with my husband and 2 teenage sons. Was perfect in every respect; comfortable, immaculately clean, convenient location and very friendly owners. Provided everything we needed for a skiing holiday over the New Year preiod. Lauterbrunnen is a great place to stay if you want to ski the Jungfrau region.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Awesome hostel in a fantastic area, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hostel. While the rooms were quite small and basic, they were all we needed and were very clean. The shared bathroom was also not a problem as it can be in some places, and we only very rarely had to wait. Also had a fully functioning kitchen which came in handy. Views in the courtyard were stunning and the staff were very helpful, would definitely recommend staying here if visiting the lauterbrunnen area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leia082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Property: Valley Hostel
Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing