We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oberland
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our stay at the Oberland was very enjoyable. Our room consisted of two twins and a set of bunk beds even though there was just the two of us. The room also had a large bathroom, a small balcony, and amazing views from the surrounding valley. One of my favorite features was the bed in which you could raise up the back part of the mattress like a hospital bed for maximum comfort. Also, if you are going to eat at the hotel order the signature Swiss cheese fondue as it is really delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steeler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    110
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
120
175
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here! The rooms were pretty dusty, but other than that it was a very clean and comfortable hotel. Our tour group loved the restaurant here both nights, and the staff was generally friendly. There isn't a whole lot to do around the hotel besides hiking (which was great) but the view is beautiful from all of the rooms. If you need something to do, try walking up the waterfall by the hotel, but there are lots of slugs (you may want to get a free walking stick at the start of the trail to move them off the path.)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegirls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lauterbrunnen, the owners of the Oberland Hotel made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, they booked rail passes and sky jumping for us! Their dinner menu was great - loved the little chocolates with the cows on them. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable! We would definitely recommend a visit to Lauterbrunnen and a stay at the Oberland Hotel, regards Greg & Wendy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here two nights while hiking the alps. The hotel is ideally located between two mountain possibilities jungfrau and schilthorn. There is great bus transportation to get to the lifts. Our room had a fabulous view of the waterfall and snow capped peaks. We had a couch and sitting area, table chairs and terrace. Bed was comfortable and great shower and towels. Breakfast was sufficient with hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. Coffee was good. They had a lovely sitting room for guests with free wifi. Instant coffee and tea avail in sitting room. Tables for games. Free computer to print boarding pass for 30 cents page. We ate in the restaurant one meal. Pricey but good Rosti. They had gluten free bread if you ask the younger gal. Email ahead and let them know you are coming for gluten free.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is situated in a beautiful setting. Otherwise, it is THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in!
My room is the size of a broom closet, the shower is tiny with a very low ceiling & dark. Anyone over 5 feet 10 inches would not fit!
The bed sheets were dirty. The carpet was disgusting. Right outside my windows was a patio for smokers and with no screens on my windows I had no privacy or security.
The hotel is old & creaky so that you can hear everyone walking around & talking all night.
When I asked to be moved, I was curtly told that they were full. That was the extent of their "service"!
You need reservations at their restaurant otherwise they are annoyed! The food is overpriced for what you get.
A hotel should either add to your travel experience or be a neutral influence. Unfortunately, my experience at the Hotel Overland has ruined my stay in the valley!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandursi, Owner at Hotel Oberland, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We prefer not to respond to reviews on TA as we believe everyone is allowed their own opinion. We do however, feel we need to respond when a review is very one sided.

You were travelling with a large group and the hotel was fully booked the first night of your stay. The night you complained about the noise in your room (due to a live football game being shown one floor below) we could not move you and this was explained in a polite manner. The next morning however, you were very willingly given an alternative and much larger double room after several other guests had left.

The hotel is over 100 years old and some of the rooms are small and not as big as a modern hotel might be. We did show your guide the room and he didn’t feel it was as negative as you have described. The linens are cleaned by an industrial laundry so we cannot believe they were dirty. The terrace outside your first room is not a general smoking area. If other guests on the same floor decided to smoke outside their rooms we have no influence over this.

You DO NOT need reservations in our public restaurant and everyone is welcome. We will always do our utmost to make a table available if guests arrive without a reservation. Finally, our prices are in line with all other restaurants in the village.

You are certainly entitled to your opinion, however we have hundreds of happy guests who return and visit us each year, Perhaps the Oberland just wasn't for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

The owners were the best and very attentive To our special night ! The rooms were clean, no elevator.
Dinner at their restaurant was nice. The best was the 6 am wake up call from cows w bells walking by.. Amazing

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just spent two nights at this little hotel in the middle of the small town of Lauterbrunnen. First, if you are lucky and hit this place when the skies are clear, you will be greeted with 'jaw dropping' scenery ... one of the most scenic places we have ever been. The hotels rooms are simple, but quite comfortable. We had a double bed, and a balcony where you could sit for hours amazed by the view. The place is perfect as it is about 500 feet to the train station, another 300 feet to the gondola, and the hotel's restaurant serves very good food! The staff at the hotel are some of the friendliest we've ever encountered and immediately asked us if we needed suggestions or help with sightseeing or the attractions of the area. They can even issue tickets for the trip to the Jungfrau Joch, which is a must see if the weather is good. The trip up the near side of the mountain to Murren, Trumelbach falls, and a walk along the valley floor are also must do's! Lauterbrunned is indeed a memorable place ... about as good as it gets!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberland

Property: Hotel Oberland
Address: Auf der Fuhren 452B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oberland 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, family run hotel is in the centre of Lauterbrunnen, only a 5 minute walk from the train station, not far from the famous "Staubbach" waterfall. Lauterbrunnen itself is situated in one of the most awe-inspiring settings in the world. Ideal for summer and winter vacations. We also have a popular restaurant serving typical Swiss dishes and other tasty things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberland Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing