We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen”
Review of Hotel Oberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oberland
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Our group of 9 stayed in Hotel Oberland for 3 nights in June 2011. The location of the hotel is only 250m away from the Lauterbrunnen train station. It is very convenient and along the stretch of road, there are shops and convenient shop.

Mark & Ursula are very kind and helpful. Arranged 3 rooms on the same level for our convenience. They gave us many tips and information during our stay.

The restaurant within the hotel is great. We had Cheese Fondue, Rosti, Pizza and a wide range of main course to choose from. Special thanks to Chris, one of the Restaurant staff, who is full of enthusiasm and great attitude.

Just on the right side of the hotel, there is a bicyle rental shop , we rented bicyle where we cycled along the valley of Lauterbrunnen, beautiful. Not cheap, but you get great atmosphere, lovely scenery and nice weather.

We had a great stay in Hotel Oberland. Would like to come back again during winter, though some years to come.

Thanks Mark, Ursula, and Chris for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-SCH-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    110
    26
    5
    6
See reviews for
120
175
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and adult daughter for three nights. Maybe I had too high of expectations but this place reminded me of a youth hostel with a private bathroom. We were placed in a room with four short, twin beds. The bedding was marginal, and the furnishings quite worn -- the arm came off the one chair in the room. The TV did not work. The floors and walls are very thin. The bathroom shower is tiny - and the water is extremely hot, such that you can only have a finely adjusted trickle lest you get scalded. The breakfast was average, especially for Switzerland. We had dinner at the hotel -- great pizza and beer, as well as rosti. Be sure and make reservations if you want to eat inside.

This was our second trip to the Bernese Oberland. Lauterbrunnen is centrally located, allowing for more efficient day trips and hikes to/from Murren and Wegen. Wengen has much nicer lodgings, and Murren is too isolated for my taste. Consider the Engadine Valley - Pontresina - instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for two nice in a small single room, as part of a tour group. The room was small but very nice, with a wonderful view of the mountains and alpine buildings next door, and even one of the cable cars. The room had two twin beds, small desk, chair and sink with mirror; and a very small bathroom with toilet and shower.
The hotel has a nice small reception area, and a very nice restaurant and dining area.
The staff all seemed to speak excellent english and were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt98030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

The owners were very welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. My room was a single room with a balcony and WOW what a view! Straight out of the room was the view up towards Wengen and to the right was the glorious Lauterbrunnen Breithorn and the Staubbach Falls. I'd definitely recommmend this hotel for the welcoming, warm, friendly and professional staff, the hotel's location and it's very reasonable price given the aforesaid qualities. I'd definitely stay here again. The owners went out of their way to ensure I had all the information I needed regarding the local area and couldn't have been more helpful.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshMellowBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Oberland in May and our stay couldn't have been better! The staff was wonderful, everyone from the front desk (Beverly) to the waitresses. Mark and Ursula (Owners) go out of their way to make sure all your needs are covered and answered questions about weather, hiking, etc. No air conditioning or lifts, but comfortable rooms,nice balcony, great restaurant, convenient travel connections (train, bus, biking, & gondola), charming decor, friendly staff, WiFi and computer for use, very nice breakfast, fantastic views and small town atmosphere.(How much time do you want to spend in your room anyway, with that great scenery right out your door?) I would, without a doubt, book this hotel if ever back in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the minute we walked in the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful.
We were on a driving trip and elected to stay in the valley rather than haul bags into the mountains.
The hotel oberland is conveneint to both cable car to Murren and the train station and the line to Wengen and beyond.
The rooms are large and comfortable. and breakfast is a great way to start a day of hiking and site seeing.
One warning..there is no elevator.. so leave the heavier items in the car.
The resaurant in the hotel is great.
Hotel Oberland is a terrific hotel and should be given every consideration

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissmisterOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in early May and could not have been happier with the hotel, staff and restaurant. We had a corner room #31 on the 3rd floor (no elevator) with views across the valley and toward the falls. Crowds were at a minimum since between the ski and the summer season, but weather was very pleasant. It is directly across from the bus stop (dorf) and walk up the hill from the train station (not that difficult ). The staff and owners were very hospitable and helpful with maps and suggestions. Breakfast buffet was traditional with good coffee and in a pleasant room. Although on the main street it was quiet and a small balcony was a peaceful place to hear the cowbells and take in the scenery and watch the train across the valley. A little bit of heaven. We ate at the restaurant every night, fondue was really good (special with the cheese and wine blend) and accompanying sides. Tasty lamb, veal sausage with rosti, yummy chicken breast with parma ham and nice Swiss beer. We ate on the porch each evening and the service was great. We really loved the mixed salad!, desserts were yummy. The owners were very hospitable and always available, we also ate at Flavours (they also manage) next door for a delicious lunch. Room was clean and bathroom was not spacious but not a problem. We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Oberland and Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1977travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberland

Property: Hotel Oberland
Address: Auf der Fuhren 452B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oberland 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, family run hotel is in the centre of Lauterbrunnen, only a 5 minute walk from the train station, not far from the famous "Staubbach" waterfall. Lauterbrunnen itself is situated in one of the most awe-inspiring settings in the world. Ideal for summer and winter vacations. We also have a popular restaurant serving typical Swiss dishes and other tasty things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberland Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing