We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Hotel Silberhorn. Everything was wonderful. Staff very friendly, rooms clean and nice. Breakfast was great. Easy to park and get to room. Really didn't need an elevator. Would recommend to anyone visiting this wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgormanPlano_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you! All the best and kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    167
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
121
305
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My sister and I stayed here on a recent visit to the area. The hotel is situated with a wonderful view of the mountains and the waterfall. Private parking is available - a big plus. Our room was spacious with a very nice balcony and included a good breakfast buffet. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant one of the nights we stayed and both the food and service were great. The train station is across the street. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeepee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks! We would be pleased to welcome you again and wish you a good time! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA.SPAIN
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

A charming hotel with a great view. My single room was great with it's own balcony not to see the falls, but with a lovely view in the Wengen direction.
The staff is friendly, service minded and will answer all questions. I ate twice in the restaurant and the food and service was really great.
It´s an easy walk to train the station so no problem to carry your luggage, The cable car to Murren is just below and from Lauterbrunnen you can explore that amazing area called the Jungfrau region
If you need advice on what to do, the hotel had a selection of brochures and is happy to explain the how, what, where.
This was my second visit to the Silberhorn (the first one in 2009) and loved it as my first time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOSEANTONIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We would be pleased to welcome you aso in our hotel for your third visit. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was great! All of the staff were very friendly and hospitable! When I got out of the train Station I saw a sign for the hotel and you could see it up on the hill a bit. I took my bags up some "rough" terrain initially but later found out that if you go down the street (to the left) a little ways, there is another point of access which is a road up to the front. This is an easier way to get to the hotel if you have luggage. I just reserved a single room and it was very reasonable. Right across from the train station is a bus stop that will take you around the town and out to the cable cars up to Murren/Schilthorn etc. The food at the hotel was really good and breakfast was delish with a lot of options!

Room Tip: Be aware there is no lift in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadarrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you! Have a good time and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Overall excellent hotel. We got a room with a balcony and view of the falls. Room number 50 in the chalet across from the main hotel. Our suite had a separate living room & kitchenette. We paid a little extra for these but it was well worth it. Also, the breakfast was very good. Lauterbrunnen and Murren are my new favorite places to visit. Absolutely stunning scenery, and both have all the amenities needed for a great vacation but are still relatively small villages. Our favorite activities were biking (rented them from Imboden Bike - CHF 40 per day, less if you don't need them for as long - rode them along the trail from Grutschalp to Murren, then down to Gimmewald), walking, and seeing the various falls. Anyway, highly recommend this hotel and township.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks a lot! We would be pleased to welcome you again in our Hotel. Best regards from rainy Lauterbrunnen (unfortunately summer did not really arrive yet)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel sits a half block above the main street and has the best views! Our room was in the annex across the street with a beautiful large modern room overlooking Staubach Falls. The view of the falls and the mountains from the balcony (and from the room) was unbelievable. We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant because the food was so good. We arrived here on a train from Lucerne which was an easy trip. If you take the left ramp up from the train station to the main street, the sign at the top points you directly up the hill to the hotel. We are seniors and managed fine with two heavy suitcases. The funicular up to Murren is directly below the hotel on the main street. We spent two nights here and two nights in Murren, but it was very hard to leave this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks directly at Staubach Falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you! We're hape to hear that you had a good time. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our family of 8 adults and 3 children stayed at the Silberhorn in Lauterbrunnen for 3 nights in May and found it ideal for all of us from aunty at 87 yrs old to the youngest member of our group at 2yrs old. The staff and management were friendly, helpful and efficient and they looked after us very well indeed. Two family members are vegetarian and aunty has the appetite of a bird, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They catered for everyone and adjusted portion sizes as appropriate. We took the half-board arrangement which we thought was very good value as the four course dinner was good and varied every night. The rooms were all very comfortable with balconies and a view (either of the cable car, or the waterfalls, or the station and Wengen up on the mountain opposite). Everything one could possibly need was provided in each room and aunty, who has slight mobility problems, had a walk-in shower attached to her single room which was perfect for her. As others have said, the hotel is situated close to the station if one is travelling by train and it is convenient for the cable car to Murren and for postbuses to travel along the valley. We were driving and there was ample parking behind the hotel.
What more can I say except that I hope to go back next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDsOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thanks! We hope to welcome you again next year and send greetings to your whole family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing