We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel with great view of the falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel with great view of the falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Silberhorn for three nights. We found the staff extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. We had a room (16) with a view of the falls. The room is small and quaintly decorated. The closet and bathroom were very small, but fine enough for our use. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very complete and the breakfast room is charming. The hotel is just a block from the train station and even closer to the gondola that goes to Murren. We ate dinner in the dining room twice and had wonderful service and good food. We loved the little town and did a lot of exploring in the area while staying at the Hotel Silberhorn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j4giz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    149
    38
    15
    3
See reviews for
113
280
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is a little old fashioned but the stunning view from the lil balcony is amazing and a great reason to stay there. The staff is friendly n helpful but the Buffet breakfast was basic. We enjoyed our stay in this typical swiss hotel but missed the tea arrangement in the room.

Room Tip: No lifts so be careful which floor you choose. The front road facing rooms have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

At first glance, you might be tempted to stay elsewhere - the décor in the lobby and hallways is a bit dated. But if you did you'd be doing yourself a disservice. From the stunning in-room views to the excellent food in the restaurant, this hotel is a pleasant surprise. But what puts it over the top for a five-star rating is the fantastic staff. They are phenomenal. We had a very early train to catch on the day of our departure, and I asked them if there was a way we could grab some coffee on the way out, as the breakfast room wouldn't be opened yet. They graciously obliged, and said it would be out for us when we left. Not only did we find coffee waiting for us, but they made each of us (six in total) a bag of goodies to enjoy on the trip. Very thoughtful, and a great example of going the extra mile to delight customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "chalet". Otherwise, as of 7/2013 not all rooms had yet been renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel, very well located just above the railway station, and right next to to the cable car up to Murren in the picturesque town of Lauterbrunnen, . Hotel has an excellent restaurant featuring Swiss and international cuisine and wines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Sprayed here last minute as we had made a mistake with dates. They were so accommodating and the room was fantastic. They even allowed me to order wine and desert for the room quite late in the evening. Breakfast was typical European spread.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sakss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Silberhorn. Our room was very comfortable, and the view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful. It was very relaxing in the morning and evening to sit on the balcony and enjoy the pastoral setting of the mountains across from us. The view in July was lots of green, tiny houses, some cows, and a cable car delivering people up the mountain. It is in a great location, very close to the train station and cable car, with free WiFi and breakfast, which is served in a delightful sunlit room. It does require a short uphill climb from the train station to get to it. The proprietor was friendly and very helpful in giving directions to surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: The view from Room 14 in the main building was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Loved our stay in June. Stayed in the building across the street from the main inn with a balcony looking down the valley - stunning view. We woke up at 5 AM each morning just to stare out from our balcony at the towering cliffs with waterfalls. Loved the hearty breakfast to get us started each day. If you plan to have dinner there (which was very good), be sure to make reservations. It's a quick walk to the train station. Here are some photos I took in Lauterbrunnen: http://www.markfile.com/switzerland.htm

Room Tip: ask for a view of the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing