We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming staff, amazing location and gorgeous views”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Due to a reservation mix up we stayed in 2 different rooms during our 4 night visit... One in the main building, one in the chalet-- a separate building above the other on the hillside. Chalet room was especially nice- included a table with 4 chairs and not one but two walls of windows with balconies. You need the windows because there is no A/C... It never got too hot but we are used to keeping it cold so it requires some getting used to.

The main building room had a nice porch and a view if the courtyard. Lots of birds singing which is quaint unless it is at 5 am! Haha. All kidding aside, it was a nice hotel. The location can't be beat- close to everything but a stones throw from the gondola, the train, a grocery and an ATM.

Breakfast was standard for the area and the restaurant was good. Livia, the manager, went out if her way to make our stay a pleasant one. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasingSun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 604 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, beautiful location. We arrived much later than planned on the first day due to train travel disruptions between Munich and Interlaken. By the time we got off the bus in Lauterbrunnen it was 11:30 pm. We had emailed the hotel that morning to say that we would be there around 9 pm, but we experienced additional delays. (And I didn't have a cell phone to call the hotel, but that's another story) Thank goodness Sylvia waited for us. We were so grateful (and tired). The room was very comfortable. We had a balcony with our room that looked out over the train station and across to the other side of the valley. The town is very quiet at night. It was so quaint to watch the cog train at night, all windows glowing, make its way up and down the side of the mountain on the far side the valley. I named it the glowing inchworm train. Being within 5 minutes walk of the train station was not an issue at all (but it was convenient for day trips). There is a nice outdoor seating area on one end of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We would have wine up there in the evening. If you listen you can hear (and see) some goats with bells jingling on the small farm just up the hill from the hotel. Anyway, thanks also to Leonia who was ever present in the dining area to make sure we had what we needed for breakfast and dinner. She took such good care of us. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bnsinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

had fantastic week here. the staff very friendly. Lovely room with views of the mountains could see the train station but no problems with noise. We had half board which included a 4 course dinner and a plentiful breakfast. We even had champagne,chocolates and a wild flower arrangement in our room on our anniversary! (not to mention an elephant towel sculpture that the bedroom cleaner had made for us!) The hotel was busy but one ot the management always came round during dinner to enquire if everything was ok.Nothing was too much trouble. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floor if you dont want to cart luggage up the stairs. There is no lift but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My first visit to Switzerland, and this hotel made it even more enjoyable. It's in a great location, near the railway station and the Grutschalp cable-car, but set back from the main road so it's very quiet: all you can hear is the river. My balcony gave a panoramic view of the mountains in several directions. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the food is excellent, and there's a good range of Swiss wines - I tried a different one every night! The (large) breakfast is served in an attractive dining-room looking out onto the mountains to inspire you for the day ahead. And everything is kept clean and tidy, with nothing overlooked. All in all one of the best hotels I've stayed in, and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were so very pleasantly surprised by our charming hotel in Lauterbrunnen. Lauterbrunnen is the most beautiful place there can be and the hotel lived up to being great as well.

The staff was excellent and so very nice. Our double room was outstanding with a balcony overlooking the mountains with a stunning view. The bathroom was large and the room was large with comfortable bedding.

The restaurant was great as well....we had dinner there one night and really enjoyed the beef fondue and other choices on the menu. Very good service.

Charming garden area where you could sit outside if weather permitted.

The location is very close to the train station but you certainly could not hear anything bothersome at all. Our balcony room overlooked the gondola that will take you up to Murren. It was fun seeing this come and go throughout the day.

We were very comfortable in our hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a balcony room. They are fun and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lets see....look out your window and see waterfalls and the Alps in the background. The Lauterbrunnen valley may be the prettiest mountain setting I've seen. On one side are waterfalls like you'd see in Yosemite. On the other side of the valley are mountain peaks like the Grand Tetons. We hiked in the valley and also near Murren. The hotel was exactly how you'd picture a Swiss village hotel. Rooms were simple but the views were awesome. Even though it was right near the train station, we were not bothered by the noise. The town is small and easy to walk. Breakfast was included in the rate and the dining room was very nice and the food simple. Staff were very helpful and English speaking. I would stay here again (but for more than our 2 nights).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Very helpful staff, excellent breakfast in a wonderful room, and good value. I thought the location was perfect being close to the train station, but set back from the main road a block which gives some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $204 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing