We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain valley bliss”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here three nights in late September, and enjoyed every minute of it! The hotel is situated at the mounth of the valley and has views of the snow capped alps and one of the best waterfalls in this "valley of 72 waterfalls". The breakfast was outstanding, the staff very friendly and helpful, even going out of their way to return my toiletry bag to me when I accidentally left it behind. It is close (1/2 block) to train, bus, and tram transportation linking you to other sights and towns in this wonderful area, but remains unaffected by noise often associated with those types of transportation. We will come back to Lauterbrunnen, and we WILL stay at Hotel Silberhorn!

Room Tip: Ask if one of the rooms adjacent to the balcony with a view of the falls is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 604 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I must start off by saying that when we go back to Switzerland, we will be spending the bulk of our trip in Lauterbrunnen. The town is located in a deep-cut valley that is absolutely breathtaking.

We spent two nights at the Hotel Silberhorn. A bonus is that there is ample parking located behind the hotel if, like us, you are driving a rental car around the country.

The lady who checked us in was very friendly and welcoming. She told us that our room would be located in the annex, a separate and newer building located just feet away from the main hotel. Both the main hotel and the annex are very "Swiss" looking with a traditional chalet style feel and gorgeous flowers in the window boxes.

At first I was disappointed hearing that we would be in the annex because I wanted to be in the main building, but for us I think it worked out much better. The annex is a newer building with more recently renovated rooms. The con is that there is NO elevator in the annex so we had to drag our suitcases up two flights of stone stairs. Although keep in mind there is NO elevator in the main building either...

We had room #62, a wonderful room with huge glass doors that opened onto an enormous balcony with a spectacular view. The room is fairly well decorated, nothing spectacular, but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is also fairly well decorated, small shower, but also very clean.

Our stay included breakfast in the morning and dinner at night (halfboard). Breakfast was fantastic and included a great assortment of hot and cold foods - fresh breads, eggs, sausage. Our dinner was mediocre. We decided to try it because it was included, but opted to go to the restaurant down the street the second night.

The hotel is in a good location, off the main street and just a five minute walk from all the shops and restaurants. For us this worked out well because we didn't necessarily want to be right on the main street. Keep in mind that the hotel is located at the top of a short, but steep hill.

I was initially concerned about the noise coming from the train station located right across the street but since all the trains are electric it was very quiet. There is a large cable car also located next to the hotel, but that too was very quiet. In fact, having the train station so close worked out well because we were able to quickly walk to the station for our early morning excursion up the Jungfrau.

The best part of this hotel was our room and our large, private balcony where we would sit at the end of the day with some snacks and a bottle of wine and look at the spectacular view while listening to the sound of cow bells clanging off in the fields. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room #62 in the annex was a wonderful room with large, private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel07Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed there for two nites in early September. We were given room 62 which is in a separate building behind and next to the parking lot out back.

Brand new and VERY nice with a huge wrap around balcony. We could have had a party for twenty people out there.

Breakfast was very good; at dinner, service was spotty.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank carolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Despite the rainy weather we enjoyed our stay here. The town is breathtaking and the hotel is VERY convenient to the train and cable car. Taking the train and cable car to Wengen and Murren is a must. As stated before the noise from the public transportation is not a problem. The breakfast is very nice and the staff couldn't be more accommodating.
To find the hotel you need to go up a slight hill across from the train station. The pizza restaurant down the street was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a walking holiday. Standard rooms are small(ish) but clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food (2 dinners) was excellent and good value. The hotel is near a cable car but don't let that put you off, it's so quiet. The hotel is reasonably central, handy for the train station, and everything is easily walkable. Lauterbrunnen is a lovely little town in the valley bottom, nicer than Wengen and cheaper. Visit Murren up the valley. A short ride up the cable car, then a lovely walk to Murren and up the Schilterhorn if you fancy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we loved the place. The location is all that makes it special. It is about half an hour train journey from Interlaken so you can easily go to Interlaken. The location is also ideal for trekking or exploration by walk. There are two waterfalls nearby. To sum it up, if you want to stay at a peaceful place away from the main city this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debonaire1882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We already stayed several times in Hotel Silberhorn and every year we had a excellent period. Very friendly staff, pleasant rooms, lovely food! We 're always looking forward to go back to one of the nicest places in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $204 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing