We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The suite we stayed is probably the best one at this lovely hotel. The room is new and surprisingly spacious with attractive furnishing, flat LCD TV. Only the bathroom is still old and relatively small, but adequate for use. Beds are comfortable for good night sleep. The balcony spans entire length of the suite which is very long with many chairs for us to sit and thoroughly enjoy the fantastic view of the Jungfrau, the Staubbach Falls, and the Lauterbrunnen Valley. The complimentary breakfast is great and the dining room is also wonderful. Hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The location is very convenient, 1 minute to the train station and bus stop but it's also very quiet as it's situated away from the main street. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights in July: wished it had been longer. For the same (high) price as hotels in other Swiss cities, this one was extraordinary: large (by European hotel standards) comfortable bedroom, huge bathroom, AND a nice sitting room with couch, TV etc. Balcony overlooking the valley with the Eiger,Jungfrau etc mountains visible. We were in an end unit, right next to the cable car operation (keep that bathroom shade drawn!), but never heard a thing from the bedroom. It's also across from, and visible from, the train station: 3 minute walk. Staff was extremely helpful, friendly (e.g. advice about which mountain peak might be clear, which walks to take); breakfast buffet outstanding. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant: also very good. It's hard to talk about "value" in Switzerland, since everything is so expensive to begin with, but this hotel was the best value we found. You can stay more cheaply in this town, but not better, I'd say.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

we had been to this area before so we wanted to stay in a different town so we chose hee in lauterbrunnen. the hotel is great, spacey with the seperate sitting area and the balconey that ran the length of the room. it is a rough hike up the hill , but once there ,even thou we were on the 3rd fllor the young man took our luggage up to the room. the view was great as stated in an earlier review. we also ate at the olberland hotel and meal was very good. we took the cog up to murren, which is where we had stayed before and hiked down to gimmiewald. the next day went to the resturant at top of mt. where 007 did his movie. had a nice day then hiked from murren to first train station on rt. and then caught train rest of way down. must say our ages so you'll understand why we didn't hike all the way i'm 68 and husband is 71. but, we still enjoy doing what we can i also would like to thank the young lady at the fron desk from friendly and helpful would certainly stay there if in the area again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyLakeland_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We especially liked this hotel because it is a block up from the main street, and is quieter, more private, and pastoral than many of the other hotels right on the main road going through town. We had rooms 26 and 27 in the main building, both with balconies and to-die-for views of the valley and Staubach falls. The corner room also had a view across the valley of hillside farms and Wengen high up on the valley wall. (There are some rooms in side buildings which might not have similar views and ambiance). The hotel is close to the train station (a steep walk up) and close to the cable station to Grutschalp. (The cable car is totally silent as it goes up and down). The hotel has a nice combination of rustic style and comfort, very friendly helpful staff, free computer/internet use, a nice garden, and clean, well appointed rooms. Breakfast was very good and comprehensive in a beautiful room. The dining room has glass walls with fantastic views. The restaurant is one of the better and more expensive restaurants in a town not known for great restaurants overall. The fish dishes and salads were very good, but we’ve had much better rosti elsewhere in Switzerland. The rosti, as in other LB restaurants, seemed greasy, salty and not crisp. The Veal Zurich seemed to have an artificial taste of bullion, and not the best we’ve had elsewhere. We ate in the restaurant one night to enjoy the food and more elegant ambiance, but chose to eat elsewhere at reduced prices on other nights.
We were glad we chose Lauterbrunnen as a base, as it is central for lifts to hikes and sights on both sides of the valley. There was also plenty to do, e.g., extended walking in the valley, when the higher elevations (Wengen, Murren, and Jungfrau) were fogged in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building facing toward the town and Staubach falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Rick Steves says this hotel manages to feel family run despite its size. So not true. A feeling of warmth and genuine hospitality is exactly what is missing at this hotel. I chose here after having enjoyed my previous stays in other hotels in the area, mainly because I wanted my wife, who was having her first visit to the vally, to experience the best on offer. This was a mistake. she was taken aback at the cold reception during check in and never felt truly comfortable (they told us that the room was not ready although it was past check in time at 3:00 pm. we were not offered an explanation or an apology. instead, we were told flat out to come back later. when I asked when 'later' was, the receptionist simply shrugged!!). We ended up not even having one dinner at the hotel restaurant, against our previous plans. We will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ATBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

such glowing reviews have again led me to booking this place... it looks just gorgeous. Tip check the hotel website. rates may be better direct.

and thanks to whoever suggested going half board... i think a must in places not so famous for their cuisine...

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank SeraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We landed up in Lauturbrunnen late in the afternoon and after a short trudge up a steep walk (with luggage can be a pain) from the railway station we reached this charming hotel just above the station.A faultless checkin and mercifully assistance from a young chap got our suitcases up to the top floor room.There is no elevator.

We had asked for a top floor corner room on the basis of an early review we had read in Trip Advisor and it was well worth the climb up the flight of stairs every time.A largish (by European standard) sleeping area and a separate sitting room with an attached private balcony sitout overlooking the valley and the Jungrau in the distance.,,,,,oh! what a fantastic view.

The service is excellent especially the practical assistance that is available from the lovely young lady that mans the front desk (a pity I have forgotten her name...thank you Ma'm for everything). The restaurant is well laid out and the breakfast wholesome.

All in all a great stay....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $207 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing