We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel-Restaurant Schutzen in Lauterbrunnen, CH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Louisville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel-Restaurant Schutzen in Lauterbrunnen, CH”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Prior to a river cruise in early June this year we spent three fabulous days in Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland. We stayed at the Hotel-Restaurant Schutzen and, particularly looking back, it was a great selection. Our host/owner Andreas was very friendly and hospitable. The rooms were quite adequate, clean and the beds very comfortable. We ate two meals there and the food was good.

We walked from the train station to the hotel and it took about 10-15 minutes. It was slightly uphill (but downhill when you leave) but the town of Lauterbrunnen takes your mind off of any possible fatigue that might begin to set in. It is easy to spot the hotel because there is a high waterfall that can be seen in the distance behind the hotel.

We would stay there again.

We considered staying in Grindelwald but I think Lauterbrunnen was the right choice. Plus, if you are traveling to Grindelwald in the next few months note that there is major construction in the downtown area. I'm sure it will be nice when completed but a bit torn up right now.

Room Tip: Once we arrive we always look before we agree on a room. Hotels have always been willing to move yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    35
    25
    23
See reviews for
45
83
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very nice hotel in a central location in Lauterbrunnen with great service from the owner even though we arrived before check in time. Great views from the balcony of our first floor room. Room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our stay was very agreable. Clean rooms, quite atmosphere, decent breakfast. Unlikely other comments here, the owner is a very friendly guy who welcomed us with a smille, good humour and gave us some good tips to hike and chill around. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the worst hotel experience of my life. the guy at reception is a cheat, who is arrogant, and jerk kind of a guy. mind you, he appears to be the owner of the hotel, who is just cheating people in every possible way. certain things you must know.
Don't book this hotel looking at photographs, as you may get something worst, and you may not get what you asked for.
only 4 beds in one room is ok, rest all the rooms are bad. if you pick up a room which fits 2 people in the bedroom, it is the worst, as the room is not even sufficient for one person. the guy is arrogant, and prick. you dont even feel like talking to him even for a minute.
coming to the location, this hotel is not in interlaken, and is in place called as lauterbrunnen, which is half an hour either by train or by bus to reach to the place called lauterbrunnen, and is far off from the city area of interlaken.
view wise, provided you get a room with a view, is good. but i assume entire switzerland has good views. i would not advise this hotel to anyone. even the breakfast costs more than other hotels, and the owner tries to fleece everything out of you. for example the owner told me that he charges extra 2% if you wish to pay by credit cards.
another thing he said.
if you need any information, speak to me before 8 PM, as after i am Drinking, and i am not hearing anything.

thats the way he speaks, choice is yours. enjoy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankitkhetarpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauterbrunnen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

So we arrived late (thanks to delay in all our connecting trains) and we meet the host (or owner, not sure) Andreas, who is utterly rude in his reception. He coarsely reminds us that we are late and this is not the time to check in even though we informed him about our train delays and gently apologized for the inconvenience caused. But he never seemed affable or even cordial, to say the least. (We sense that he was even drunk, not sure though).
So, we have a horrible check-in without completion of any formalities and then he calls up early morning 7:30 asking us to complete the check-in process immediately. Ruins the start of the day again. During the check-in process too the guy was very rude and I finally retaliated. We in fact contemplated leaving the hotel for rest of the nights and booking some other hotel. However, as that would be lot of re-work and we had come on a holiday to enjoy, we ignored.
The hotel as such to say is against a nice backdrop of mountains but so are all the other hotels in Lauterbrunnen (it is a very small town, summed in a long street). The room was tiny and nothing to cheer about. Overall still manageable but his attitude/behavior was incorrigible. Someone should remind him that good stay doesn't only involve brick and stones but more importantly an amiable/courteous host. And yes, also remind him, we are PAYING for this!
If you're planning for a nice, enjoyable vacation, this guy's avoidable for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just had an overpriced dinner at this restaurant. However to be fair everything is overpriced in Lauterbrunnen.
However, my big complaint is that after our meal we were charged 2.50 CHF for each glass of tap water we ordered. I was clear to specify a glass of tap water and said "not bottled water" when I ordered. When we got the bill with a 7.50CHF charge I questioned the waiter. It was only then that he showed me the menu which showed me choices of 2.00 CHF and 2.50 CHF. Had I known I would have not ordered the water. When I asked him why he gave us the higher price and didn't ask us what size we wanted he became argumentive I had to ask to talk with the manager who explained if you order a glass of water before you order your food or any other drinks you will be charged for the water. He says this is the way it is throughout Switzerland. So even though we ordered 3 meals and wine and beer, we were charged for the water because I asked for it first.
This was a very embarrassing situation and I just wanted to tell others so they will be aware of the Swiss ways. The manager did give us the money back, but went on to an. explanation about why they have charge for water this way as the waiters don't get tips like they do in America.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank salogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I always check Tripadvisor before booking and noted the bad review from mac471. Since almost all of the other reviews of this hotel were positive, I figured somebody just had a bad day, so I booked for a 3 day stay. (I managed a resort motel in my past).
Then I meet Andreas. Now this guy has a quirky sense of humor (which I recognized instantly as I do, too). If you take him literally, it's easy to think he is rude, but I assure you he is not. Leanna's comment that he is "sweet" I was originally going to comment on, but she's right. Take his sense of humor in stride and this is a sweet guy.
We, too, arrived early--but that's when the train got in, and I don't wear a watch on holiday. When I saw the check-in time on the door, I asked Diane what time it was, and when I learned it was early, sat down outside to wait. No big deal. Andreas opened the door, said he saw us standing there and invited us in. I said, no rush, and he said he wasn't quite set up, but he helped us anyway. Then his jokes started. Well, i can tell jokes, too. Pretty soon, we were best buddies, and he went out of his way to to make sure we enjoyed our first day in Lauterbrunnen (we had a Swiss pass we could still use for the rest of the day). He suggested a couple of trips that would now be free, and they were great, because the one we took was to Grimmelwald, the little village Rick Steves loves so much, and then on to Murren, which we didn't make it to, having dinner in Grimmelwald instead.
As to the nickel and diming review--yep, the guy charges for what he has, but he's upfront about it, not like American hotels that tack on a "Resort Fee" when you're checking in. I rate resort fees with the word "gourmet" on a menu--won't go in.
The room we ended up with was clean, modern, kinda rustic, clean, tiled bathroom--no linoleum, with a balcony with a view of the waterfall and Jungfrau that won't quit. In such a beautiful piece of the world, I'm not even going to compare prices with a dusty motel on the prairie in Broken Pelvis, Montana. You get what you paid for, and this room would have cost 3 times as much if it overlooked a valley and waterfalls, like in Yosemite, in the US.

Room Tip: Three tips: 1. Ask for, bargain for, and pay for a room with a balcony facing the waterfall. Andr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capndrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
758 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Schutzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Schutzen

Property: Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Address: Auf der Fuhren 439 | 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Schutzen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical-Swiss-chalet-hotel (orignally built in 1671) is located in the heart of Lauterbrunnen, a three-minute walk from the train station and has a bus stop at the front door. 25 cosy rooms with different sizes, 23 of them with bath or toilet. Radio, TV, telephone, W-Lan and safe is standard, 11 have a balcony. Lift. Typical-Swiss-restaurant with open-fire (winter), breakfastbuffet with many local specialities, 3-course-halfboard-menu or à la carte, for example Swiss-cheese-Fondue or meat from the hot-stone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Schutzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuetzen Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing