We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hotel of choice for the 'Switzerland in one day' concept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arrived late in the afternoon, we still were lucky to get a room. The room itself was not yet renovated, but had a lot of 'Swiss charm' (wooden walls, wooden ceiling...) and even a kitchenette (which was unexpected). Bathroom was sufficient and clean. Beds were fine too. Mind you, when we travel, we aren't looking for luxury, but for stories to tell when we get back home.

We were convinced by the receptionist (funny big guy) to have dinner at their own restaurant, he mentionned game season just started and they had some deer on the menu. Unfortunately, prices were a bit too high for us, so we went for some more traditional Swiss comfort food (sausages!). Service was very good. Breakfast next morning was also good.

Overall, a hotel to remember. We were only in the Alphs for one night and one day, but this hotel offered us what we were looking for: Swiss charm, although a bit overpriced (but we all know Switzerland is a bit expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if you're picky, ask for no particular room if you want the Swiss charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtremels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We booked this hotel mainly because it was the best of the hotel available in Lauterbrunnen at the time. Upon arrival, we felt like we were bleeding money with the pricey key deposit plus the daily parking fee. Seems like there are parking meters throughout the town so you don't have a choice. However, our room was great, on the top floor with a view up the valley. The room was huge and we had a kitchenette and dining table, where you could enjoy the view and the sounds of the cow bells. We were told that eating in the restaurant would be a great choice that night, as there would be a live band and it would be a great atmosphere. We generally don't eat at hotel restaurant (prefer to check out the town) so we didn't book a table. After dinner elsewhere, we came back to the restaurant and had a glass of wine and enjoy the band. A family of 6 came at the point and the owner told them that a hat was about to be passed around and you had to pay about 10Fr per person for the band! This family would have to pay 50Fr on top of their meal- and the band was about to finish! they left, and so did we (before we got charged). There was no mention that you would have to pay for the band when we were told how good it would be by reception. The next morning the owner argued that we didn't pay the key deposit, as we had lost the reciept. It turned a bit nasty and we left quite shocked (but refused to pay the deposit again)! Won't be back, won't be recommending it. Such a shame because it's a great spot.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Restaurant Schutzen, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Laura
We are glad that the hotel in General pleased you.
The 2 points you are complaining about we want to comment as following:

Music: As I told you it was a private party. A birthday party of one of our guests who told us that he would exceptionally accept foreign poeple at his party if they pay CHF 10.00 per person! I hope you understand this time: CHF 10.00 per person, a fixed birthday-menu and drinks included. It is a little bit shocking that you think that's too expensive! And it is shocking that you did not want to accept somone elses birthday-party-rules!

Deposit: I know. That's a rule again. We give our guests the receipts for checking if they got the money back or not. You also did not want to accept this rule.

Maybe this help's you in future: A hotel is a guest house, means you are guesdt in someone elses house. What kind of behaviour would you like to have from your guests in your house?
Would you completely change your rules or would you ask him to accept your house-rules as a host?

Most of us here have been at least once in Australia and we took note that the Australians aure wonderful and perfect hosts. What about you?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked for a double room but on arrival was shown a room with two single beds that was about the size of a bathroom. We ended up having to upgrade, even though we had booked a double room and then we were charged extra charges even though the place we booked through was clear that the cost included all extra charges. The owner was rude. The service was poor. Reception was only open a few hours a day. At least the room we had was clean, the location was handy to village centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainKattaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Owner at Hotel Restaurant Schutzen, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear MountainKattaupo

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay our hotel and that you felt that I am rude. To be rude was for sure not my intention.

It is a fact that you booked a basic double room which we show on our website. Unfortunately we do not know over whch channel you booked. Some Booking-Engines haven't got a very good description of room-sices and pictures etc. On our website and on the most populare booking-sites there are description about room-sice, bed-configuration. We have doubles and twins but here is nowhere a guarantee that you get a double or a twin, except you book it directly in our hotels. The channels do not provide this service.

Unfortunately you probably wont come back. But if you're thinking about coming back, please send a mail directly to the owner or the receptionist, and she or he will take care that you get the room-configuration that you want.

Thank you again for your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are truly basic. They are clean, but desperately need new furniture, new carpeting etc. and the bathroom is the size of a bathroom in an airplane. The reception hours are limited and they only have one key per room, which means you can't get in the building unless you are with your traveling partner at all times. The owner told us we would have to do a better job of coordinating our schedules. The location is great, the view is wonderful if you have a room overlooking the waterfall. We paid for an upgrade for a balcony which made the room more tolerable. We would go back to the area, but would try a different hotel. The girl at the front desk is sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Schutzen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

We are sorry that you did not like your stay in our hotel! That you did not like our rooms and everything might be a fact. Some other informations are not correct!
We told you that you can get a 2nd key but that it takes a moment because we had IT-Problems. Sorry for this inconvenience but we were not able the repair this our selves. We are not IT-specialists. But we gave you a code for the back-entrance but somehow you did not want to take this code. Could have been helpful!?

Renovation: It's correct that every year we renovate some rooms or something else. In the last few years we installed a new elevater, a completely new ktichen, a completely new laundry (we are aware of that guests do not see that), a completely new reception/front-desk/lobby and a completely new restaurant. We just cannot effort it to do everything on the same time.
This year we are going to renovate 2 eventually 3 rooms. Believe it or not: Renovating is a never ending story. When you finished somewhere you have to start somewhere else.

Next time please read the information about the hotel and do not choose hotels like ours which are dated from 1671!!! You should only choose hotels which are not older than 10 years! The fact, that in holiday resorts in Switzerland do not exist many brand new hotels, you might have to choosd very carefully in the future or stay in a city, because also our collegues try their best but are not able to renovate the whole hotel every 10 years!

Good luck for you next stay in a brand new hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My friend and I had a lovely time staying here! We toured Europe with Busabout in May'12 and decided to stay here as opposed to the Camping Jungfrau place...best decision we could have made!
The hotel was lovely. We were told in advance about the reception hours (Andreas the owner basically does the lot on his own). Once we had checked in we were shown to our room, which was immaculate and had a lovely view. The beds were comfortable, there was a balcony and the shared bathroom was clean and tidy too.
I've read a lot about how rude the staff were at this hotel and it just isn't true. Sure, they can be a little abrupt, but Andreas was a lovely lovely guy, and we ended up having a lock in drinking some extremely strong cherry vodka stuff with him (the night before we were due to go white water rafting - ouch!).
All in all it was a lovely hotel, with friendly staff and in a great location. Would go back here any time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Location was great. We were warned ahead of time that nobody is at reception if we arrived between 2PM-4PM, so we were not surprised to come to a vacant lobby. We simply left our bags in the lobby and picked them up when we checked in. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but our experience in the hotel was sufficient.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a friend from Australia was in Laterbrunnen for 2 nights we decided to meet her there for a nice Swiss diner. So we went to this restaurant as they have some tables on the terrace with an amazing view but when we asked to the waiter if we could have 3 small plates to share the 3 meals we ordered, rudely, the waiter told us that we already have plates so if we want some extra plates we have to pay 7 francs per plate then left!
7 francs per plates when you already spent 100 francs for 3 meals this is a joke?!?! Knowing we before that also ordered a starter and some wine!
I really didn't feel comfortable eating there with a service like that and next time I have guests I will definitely go somewhere else.
And they don't even have dessert, only ice-cream scoop!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cindaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Schutzen, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Cindale
Thank you for your review. What happened to you is not acceptable and I apology that for.
If you would have had ordered 1 meal for all of you 3, than that would have been correct. But since you all ordered your own meal it has to be a free service that we give 3 small or 1 big plate that makes it possible for you to share your dishes.
We already had a meeting about this point and our waiter is very sorry for this misinterpretation of our rules and your wishes.
About the dessert: It is correct that most of our desserts are made with ice. For sure we also have applestroudel and some other desserts. Also there must have happend an incorrect information.
For sure there can happen mistakes and for sure the waiters may give sometimes curt answers when they are under pressure, but for sure also they should stay friendly. We are always working on this. That's why reviews like yours are very important for us to learn and make it better next time.
Please get in touch with me via our own website/email-address that we can sort out, when and how I can say sorry! :-)
I hope you will give us a 2nd chance! We all are sorry about what happened to you!
Best regards
The whole team of the typical Swiss Hotel-Restaurant Schuetzen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Schutzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Schutzen

Address: Auf der Fuhren 439 | 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $124 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Schutzen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical-Swiss-chalet-hotel (orignally built in 1671) is located in the heart of Lauterbrunnen, a three-minute walk from the train station and has a bus stop at the front door. 25 cosy rooms with different sizes, 23 of them with bath or toilet. Radio, TV, telephone, W-Lan and safe is standard, 11 have a balcony. Lift. Typical-Swiss-restaurant with open-fire (winter), breakfastbuffet with many local specialities, 3-course-halfboard-menu or à la carte, for example Swiss-cheese-Fondue or meat from the hot-stone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Schutzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuetzen Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing