We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Location was great. We were warned ahead of time that nobody is at reception if we arrived between 2PM-4PM, so we were not surprised to come to a vacant lobby. We simply left our bags in the lobby and picked them up when we checked in. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but our experience in the hotel was sufficient.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

As a friend from Australia was in Laterbrunnen for 2 nights we decided to meet her there for a nice Swiss diner. So we went to this restaurant as they have some tables on the terrace with an amazing view but when we asked to the waiter if we could have 3 small plates to share the 3 meals we ordered, rudely, the waiter told us that we already have plates so if we want some extra plates we have to pay 7 francs per plate then left!
7 francs per plates when you already spent 100 francs for 3 meals this is a joke?!?! Knowing we before that also ordered a starter and some wine!
I really didn't feel comfortable eating there with a service like that and next time I have guests I will definitely go somewhere else.
And they don't even have dessert, only ice-cream scoop!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Cindaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSchuetzen3822, Inhaber at Hotel Restaurant Schutzen, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Cindale
Thank you for your review. What happened to you is not acceptable and I apology that for.
If you would have had ordered 1 meal for all of you 3, than that would have been correct. But since you all ordered your own meal it has to be a free service that we give 3 small or 1 big plate that makes it possible for you to share your dishes.
We already had a meeting about this point and our waiter is very sorry for this misinterpretation of our rules and your wishes.
About the dessert: It is correct that most of our desserts are made with ice. For sure we also have applestroudel and some other desserts. Also there must have happend an incorrect information.
For sure there can happen mistakes and for sure the waiters may give sometimes curt answers when they are under pressure, but for sure also they should stay friendly. We are always working on this. That's why reviews like yours are very important for us to learn and make it better next time.
Please get in touch with me via our own website/email-address that we can sort out, when and how I can say sorry! :-)
I hope you will give us a 2nd chance! We all are sorry about what happened to you!
Best regards
The whole team of the typical Swiss Hotel-Restaurant Schuetzen :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay that is reasonably priced, welcoming, and has a great view of town and all the surroundings (waterfall, peaks, etc), then stay here. We are sure to come back to this awesome town, and we will certainly stay at this establishment.

We found the family owned business to be charming. The owner is definitely humorous, and he takes the time to get to know those who are staying in his establishment. He was kind enough to upgrade us to a larger room with a bargain price and threw in breakfast as well.

The check-in process is more time consuming than most, but really, that is a small part of your stay; lighten up about the process and grab a Swiss candy while you are patient. Great place, solid restaurant with local fare, and an awesome location!

Room Tip: Go with a standard room instead of the hostel like rooms and you won't be disappointed you went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hotel Schutzen is an excellent 3 star family run hotel and restaurant set in a stunning location in a picturesque rural village. This Swiss chalet hotel was built in 1671 and all the rooms are unique. I notice that some reviewers complain about the size of their room, the answer is to book a larger room with a view. You get what you pay for! The hotel is locked when the reception desk is closed, however, this is not a problem , all guests are provided with an electronic key and can gain access to the hotel at all times. We expected to arrive after the reception had closed and so made arrangements beforehand to book in through the restaurant.
Over the past 20 years we have stayed in a number of hotels in the surrounding area, but find that Lauterbrunnen’s central position provides the best access to all the main mountain areas. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the railway station and some of the rooms have a most wonderful view of the Stubbach waterfall and valley. The hotel is in a quiet location with only the sound of the distant running water of waterfalls in the night. We had a large, double room with a balcony and fantastic view of the waterfall. The large bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless. We stayed there for 7 nights, half board and found this to be good value. Each morning we received a very good buffet breakfast and in the evening enjoyed a variety of excellent Swiss speciality meals. We found the owner and his staff to be extremely friendly and helpful and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

we returned to switzeland after 25 years and decided to stay at the hotel Schutzen,we told them what time we would arrive and the owner wast there to greet us, and was usely to be found around hotel during the daytime.
The staff were very good with service and travel advice about the local area.
The food was good tasty and to my liking and priced reasonably, the portions large (too large) and well presented.
The bedroom was traditional Swiss chalet design very clean and comfortable and quiet
As we spent most of our time out sight seeing the location and car parking meet our requirements for purposes.
Considering the Swiss cost of living, this hotel was reasonable and suited our holiday needs and we will go back again but not in 25years this time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Staff were lovely. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Great stay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel. The host was super friendly and made us feel instantly welcome. Location is superb as it is close to train station, supermarket and the waterfall. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery. Can't wait to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach_downunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
780 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Schutzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Schutzen

Address: Auf der Fuhren 439 | 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $127 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Schutzen 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical-Swiss-chalet-hotel (orignally built in 1671) is located in the heart of Lauterbrunnen, a three-minute walk from the train station and has a bus stop at the front door. 25 cosy rooms with different sizes, 23 of them with bath or toilet. Radio, TV, telephone, W-Lan and safe is standard, 11 have a balcony. Lift. Typical-Swiss-restaurant with open-fire (winter), breakfastbuffet with many local specialities, 3-course-halfboard-menu or à la carte, for example Swiss-cheese-Fondue or meat from the hot-stone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Schutzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schuetzen Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing