We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kevbop
Eldersburg, Maryland

Highly recommended

Review of Hotel Staubbach
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 29, 2017
This hotel was at the far end of town from the train station, which was only about an 8 minute walk. It is right off the main road where it turns to the opposite side of the valley. The British woman at the front desk couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We had an upgraded room which was very clean and had a beautiful view of the waterfall. The breakfast was great and the waitresses very helpful. They have thought of most everything from a room to bring your own food and eat in to a play area for children. You are close to cable cars to nearby excursions such as Gimmelwald, Shilthorn, Grindelwald, Interlacken. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the waterfall also have a balcony. It was worth every penny.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$304
  • Vio.com
    $305
  • Agoda.com
    $305
  • eDreams
    $304
0.2 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$312
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $312
  • Expedia.com
    $312
  • Trip.com
    $312
1.0 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$462
  • Hotels.com
    $452
  • ZenHotels.com
    $381
  • Priceline
    $438
1.1 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$291
  • Vio.com
    $276
  • Agoda.com
    $250
  • Expedia.com
    $291
1.2 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$168
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • eDreams
    $168
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$436
  • Expedia.com
    $479
  • StayForLong
    $373
  • Hotels.com
    $479
1.1 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Pool
Judy's Restaurant
$259
  • Hotels.com
    $253
  • Agoda.com
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $253
1.2 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Vierbettzimmer
$183
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • eDreams
    $183
0.1 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free parking
Restaurant
$743
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $723
  • Agoda.com
    $580
  • Expedia.com
    $723
1.3 miles from Hotel Staubbach
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
814
268
51
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
814
268
51
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews staubbach falls breakfast room church bells train station waterfall view yogurt breakfast was delicious corner room breakfast staff bread wonderful view third floor perfect stay adam valley balcony switzerland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Stayed Aug 27,2017 and it's a gem in this cute Switzerland area. Location is across from the falls and our room number 3 had a balcony and u can sit there and enjoy the view of the falls and people watch on the Main Street. Paid $180 and totally worth it ! Room was clean and looked like they remodeled bathroom which is a plus! Gave us towels and soap and water pressure in shower was awesome! Roomy restroom and room size was good for two people. Beds were comfy and they give you pillows and blankets. There is no air conditioner in the rooms so u open windows but it's ok because it didn't get hot.

The complimentary breakfast was a treat! We were expecting continental style breakfast but they made scrambled eggs w bacon and assorted breads, cheeses and hams. Coffee tea and water is complimentary all day long you just help yourself. Staff was excellent! Glad they serve bread because no one in the town was even open to sell breakfast.

All three front desk people were super nice and helpful! Both chefs and dining manager were super nice and greeted every table to see what excursions they were doing and assist us in any way. Silverware and cups and she's were all clean and nicely placed on tables. The staff there really cares about their job and presentation.

Room tip: Get a room with balcony
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

We stayed here as couple in June 2017.

Pros:
- Price is very reasonable compared to Switzerland standards.
- Beautiful location. It is situated very close to the staubach fall, the views from the room are stunning. It is situated at 5 minutes of uphill walk from the station. One can board bus which runs from station every time train arrives from Interlaken.
- Staff is very professional and welcoming. They helped us with the weather in mountains through webcam, provided the map for hiking around. I would rate the hospitality factor of this hotel as one of the best. We reached the hotel by midnight, and had thought that there won't be any staff for check in. Fortunately they were waiting for us and we heaved a sigh of relief.
- Rooms are quite spacious and clean.
- You will get the picnic room where one can heat stuff and have picnic.
- Lot of good restaurants nearby.
- The standard breakfast was quite adequate. There is 24 hour supply of milk, tea, coffee for the guests.
- There is seating arrangement (though not many chairs) in the lawn, where one can sit and enjoy their beverage with stunning views of the staubbach falls.
- One can sit in the balcony and enjoy the nice views.

Cons:
- No TV in the room, but I would not consider it as negative. You are in Swiss valley to enjoy the nature and not to watch TV.
- Their hotel name plate was not having light - it would hide the hotel from the guests who would arrive late night. We had to face this trouble. Hotel management should take care of this.
- If not arriving by bus from station then one has to drag luggage uphill though only for 5 mins.

Verdict
- Undoubtedly this is one of the best hotels we had stayed. Hotel is run professionally and I can find hardly any major negative about this place. Above all the value for the money that it offers is unbeatable. If at all we return to Lauterbrunnen we will definitely choose this hotel.

Room tip: Ask for room with view to staubbach falls
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank praveen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

The staff were extremely helpful and the location could not have been better. The view from our room was incredible! Right under Staubbach Falls. The breakfast was very good, checking in was very easy, and there was free parking right outside the front door. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was cozy and clean.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

This is a very simple hotel, has little facilities, even simple things like kettle isn’t available in room my room was 29-30 and it has a tiny bathroom, however,

This hotel is totally worth it if your room has a balcony and facing the waterfall.

Btw, even the breakfast area has a very nice view.

If your room isn’t facing the waterfall, then look for another hotel.

Room tip: waterfall view
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Recently spent 10 nights at this wonderful hotel. It was everything I expected and more.
4 of us flew from North Yorkshire to Geneva from there took train to Lauterbrunnen, about 3 hours ish. We knew we wouldn't need a car there. Well worth getting Swiss half fair travel ticket before you go.

Hotel superb on every count could not fault it at all. Staff amazing, manager Angie is a Yorkshire lass so we hit it off straight away, along with her 2 receptionists Adam and Maryia. Lovely room, very clean, comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Not a problem having to eat out as there are plenty of places near by to eat but if you wanted to take food in very well equipped kitchen.

Room tip: We had rooms with balconies and panoramic views well worth the bit extra they cost.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews