We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic hotel, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rustic hotel, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Have to say that Angie and her staff are as nice and friendly people as we have met in our travels. The hotel is rustic but in good condition and very clean. Our room was a good size and we had a good view of the hill up to the village of Wengen. On one side of the hotel is a balcony to view the Staubbach Falls. I told Angie that the falls reminded me very much of the Pissing Mare Falls in Newfoundland, Canada. She told me she would never forget that name. Besides a very good breakfast that is included with the room, there is coffee and tea available for free all day long and this is the only hotel in our now 10 total weeks of traveling Europe that we could remember actually having ice available. There are a number of good restaurants nearby in Lauterbrunnen. This area of the Alps is beautiful and Hotel Staubbach is definitely a great place to stay and enjoy the serenity and beauty of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing Staubbach Falls have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry_deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    216
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
219
503
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

What could be more perfect than the tiny village of Lauterbrunnen? This lodge type accomodation is a perfect location for access to the Schilthorn and Wengen and all hiking and valley adventures. Breakfasts were very good, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a room with a small shared balcony and enjoyed the late afternoon relaxing with the view of the Staubbach Falls. The church bells might disturb the light sleeper, although they are charming. New towels would be an asset!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoo82-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Staying four nights at the Hotel Staubbach in Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland was a fantastic experience. Our room was spacious and lovely, and the view of the valley and mts. were incredible. The hotel is perfectly located-within walking distance to everyplace. Even though our room didn't have a view of the Jungfrau or the Staubbach Falls, there was a common balcony where we could see it every time we walked down the hall and when we ate breakfast. Our view was incredibly beautiful! The hotel staff is so kind and accommodating. We rode a motorcycle, and before we even had it parked, they were outside asking us if we wanted to move it under an overhang. A full breakfast was offered each morning, and tea, coffee, milk, ice water was available until 10 pm each day. The staff was kind and so helpful. We will be back and stay here for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a mt. or valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyGirlinLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a fabulous position at the end of the main street of Lauterbrunnen about 600m from the train station. It has great views of the towering mountains and waterfalls as well as one end of this picturesque town. Angie, the manager, and her staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. They couldn't be more helpful. The Staubbach is a bed and breakfast hotel and doesn't have a restaurant, but there are several nearby. We enjoyed great meals at the Oberland Hotel. Breakfast is included in the picturesque breakfast room and is more than adequate. The rooms are modest, simply furnished, but very clean and serviced each day. There was no TV in the room, but there is a communal area on the ground floor with television and tea and coffee available at all times. Wifi is free in all areas. We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful area of the Swiss Alps and can highly recommend the Hotel Staubbach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

With the exception of the church next door (whose bells rang at odd hours), this B&B has a great location in town. The service, food, and accommodations are ideal for for hiking holidays. No need to splurge for a room with a balcony as each floor has an "emergency exit" with tables and chairs for anyone's use. The front desk was very patient and knowledgeable when helping with directions. Breakfast was delicious, although after 5 nights became somewhat repetitive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0NETrip_AtA_Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staying in the shadows of ever present Jungfrau summit made us feel like tiny ants crawling around the valley floor in Lauterbrunnen. With sweeping views of the valley and granite walls from our window, the rush of rivers below and gushing waterfalls, we didn't have much to complain about. With spacious, clean rooms, a very helpful staff and a full breakfast our couldn't have been more pleasant, then throw in the grazing mama and her calfs complete with dangling cowbells, we felt like were getting the most out of our stay Hotel Staubbach. My boys found the "family room" very comfortable where they could play their favorite online game or watch "On Her Majesty's Secret Service" This is a place that I would return to in a hearbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msgrizwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Easy walk from train station to this fantastic little hotel. Staff made us feel like part of their family - everyone was warm and friendly in helping us plan our day trips. English spoken. Breakfast buffet was hearty, fresh,delicious and plenty of it. Rooms were clean and comfortable and hotel very quiet. Great view of the waterfall. Just a great all-round stay......highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Property: Hotel Staubbach
Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing