We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Swiss Gem”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Swiss Gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent five glorious nights in total at the Staubbach Hotel and cannot say enough about this gem.
From a location standpoint, no other hotel can begin to compare. With rooms looking up the Lauterbrunnen Valley, giant cliffs rising on the side of the valley, surging waterfalls, and chalets in the valley below we truly could have sat in our room all day, taking in the view.
The hotel itself is charming, more reminiscent of a traditional Swiss lodge than hotel. No telephones, no TV's clutter the rooms. If you really need a TV (dear god, in this location I cannot understand why) the comfortable lounge offers one. The view is all you need. Fast, efficient wifi is offered in each room.
During our five days, there was not a staff member we met who was not efficient, friendly and highly informative about the area.
Breakfast, offering a wide variety of delicious choices, is served in the large main floor dining room overlooking the valley. For early morning hikers, those catching the early morning train to the Jungfraujoch or those heading out for the early morning gondola to the Schilthorn, a small breakfast and coffee are left out for your convenience.
Hotel Staubbach was our favourite accomodation in our three week trip to Switzerland!!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a balcony and view over Stabbach Falls. Rooms 20 or 22 are great choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-airfaircrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    224
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
226
516
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Magalia, California
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff in this hotel were absolutely wonderful; the rooms were perfect with balconies that allowed us to have fabulous views of the Lauterbrunnan valley! They have a wonderful breakfast buffet and the view from the dining room is outstanding!! We especially loved Katlin! All of the staff made our visit so wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want a good value for your money and excellent service with a wonderful view, this would be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Staubbach for two nights last week, and couldn't believe the beauty of the surroundings and the wonderful welcome we received from the hotel's staff. We had emailed that we were going to arrive very close to the time the reception desk was closing that night, and received instructions for late check-in. Much to our surprise, Katrin was still at the reception desk when we arrived 15-20 minutes past that time. She was so welcoming and made sure we were comfortable before she left. I have to say we were in awe of the beautiful sight that met our eyes when pulling into the parking lot. Staubbach Falls was lit up at night, and so close to the hotel...stunning! The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast (typical European). The person at the reception desk (I don't remember her name...but she had a beautiful British accent) was extremely helpful with logistics for our day's plans. When we returned at the end of the day Katrin was back on duty and made reservations for our dinner that night, and also helped us with advice about the next morning's 7:25 am cable car trip to the top of the Schilthorn and breakfast at the Piz Gloria. While the hotel has the feel of an older Swiss ski lodge, it is extremely clean and comfortable. The view from our balcony was one of the best memories of our European trip! We'd love to come back someday!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLauraLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The staff make you feel like your a good friend returning to their home and are really helpful with any questions. The rooms are comfortable and many have wonderful views of the water fall. The breakfast is great with several choices including scrambled eggs and bacon for the western travelers. Even with the window open after a day hiking in the alpine region the church bells ringing through the night didn't bother us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in the staff said "Welcome to the house!" We knew we were in the right place. The staff was so welcoming you literally felt right at home. The rooms were a little rustic but they were really clean and we slept so well with the windows wide open overlooking the beautiful valley. Breakfast was great and super filling. Wonderful place with a great location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jherbe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Let me start with the staff who are super knowledgeable about things around Lauterbrunnen. They help you out with all sorts of maps, timetables etc. They help out international travelers with electrical adapters on a deposit basis, wow, not need to buy them.

Room was not like a typical hotel room. Eg. no TV in our room, but you walk down to the common TV room and you find interesting people to speak with and also watch TV of course. Breakfast was great, with some items representing typical swiss breakfast.

There's plenty of parking also in case you drive.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a view of the waterfall or with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NithinRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

this is a cosy hotel with a great view of the Staubbach falls. my wife and i had a great time here spent 3 nights and and we were treated royally it was so painful to leave and go the rooms are clean and very spacious and the staff (entirely women) were so professional and ever willing to help and guide i bet you cant get a better place for the price.it is close to the Station and so peaceful

Room Tip: ask for a south facing on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srinivas88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
569 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Property: Hotel Staubbach
Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing