We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical, beautiful place.”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Staubbach Hotel is a great place to base yourself when exploring this magical part of Switzerland. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. The Hotel has wonderful views of the Staubbach Falls, Lauterbrunnen Valley and mountain peaks. The breakfast is delicious and the children's play area was an added bonus. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable with large balconies. We loved our stay and wish we could have extended it. Hopefully we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 969 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved loved this hotel! We got a room with a balcony with a view of the waterfall and it was well worth the money! The room was nice, clean, cozy and we slept great. The shower was a little bit small but worked great. The staff was VERY friendly and helped us figure out tours, ect. Out of all of the hotels we stayed at in Europe this was the best. The breakfast was also great with a beautiful view. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get the room with a balcony and view of the waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagogirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a long weekend in May. We had two adjoining rooms for four people, one with an ensuite and one without. There was a shared bathroom down the hallway which didn't seem to be used by anyone else so we made good use of that. The breakfast included a delicious birchermuseli and also had bacon and eggs along with the usual European fare of cold meats and cheese, croissants etc. There is complimentary tea and coffee on offer all day. The view of the falls is fab. We could not only hear but also see the church bells from our room as they rang throughout the day and night. They could do with some firmer pillows but thats a minor irritation rather than a complaint. To top it off the staff were super friendly and made it a very lovely long weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsKat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been to Lauterbrunnen over 10 times and this is our hotel of choice! The service and atmosphere is great. The hotel is simple but very clean and comfortable. It is definitely the best view in town and the breakfast is good! I recommend asking for the waterfall view side of the hotel, but if you don't get it any aspect is magnificent.

Room Tip: waterfall view room. The attic rooms are cheaper but you miss out on the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briony1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Staubbach last week on our swiss vacation. We had booked the hotel online after extensive research on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel has the best view in with gorgeous views of the Staubbach falls. Note, however that the hotel is probably the farthest from the train station but it is an easy 8-10 minute walk even with heavy luggage. The best part of our stay was the service and the hospitality. Nikki was an excellent host! The rooms were also very well kept and very spacious. The breakfast was included in the room rate which is very convenient as there are few cafes in Lauterbrunnen and breakfast and dining options are quite pricey. Our only suggestion to the hotel would be to add a little bit of variety to the breakfast menu through the week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. We could see the mountains and waterfalls, as well a cute church from our room and this really made a great impression of our first night in Switzerland. The room itself was a little on the small side but I have no complaints. It was clean and quiet. There was a closet and 2 chairs in the room. We arrived earlier than check-in time and were very happy that we were able to get in the room early. The staff was very helpful in recommending available activities. We enjoyed the breakfast. We visited several areas of Switzerland the week we were there and the Lauterbrunnen valley was our favorite.

Room Tip: Well worth to book a room on the waterfall view side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Spend 3 nights at the hotel. The service staff were very friendly.

The rooms are pretty big and clean. The hotel is about 500 metres away from the train station. We managed to get a balcony view and could see the waterfall from there.

The hotel also provides free coffee and tea as well as drinking water in the common area. A pleasant surprise.

Overall, a good hotel and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $123 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing