We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truely Magical!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Jungfrau
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Truely Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Breathtaking location, great staff, cute little cabins!
I stayed in a 4 person cabin - they are tiny but everything you need.
The batherooms are a little run if your busting in the morning but that is about the only thing i can say thats not raving about this place! They get warm but you have a cute little zircon which also doubles as a heater for the cold nights. You open up your room to a massive waterfall on one side, a snow capped mountain on the other, and greenery all round. I extended my stay to 7 nights and would reccomend staying at least 4 nights!! And go skydiving!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    82
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
105
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

You walk around this place with a big grin on your face most of the time, in awe of the 360 landscape.

The location cannot be beaten. The staff are friendly. The restaurant dishes up tasty Swiss favourites to be enjoyed in the chalet style restaurant or to be taken back to your lodge, mobile or tent!

There is a useful on site shop, with all the essentials and a daily supply of fresh bread rolls.

On the Friday night when we were there, there was a fantastic Swiss folklore night, comprising yodel singing, a local orchestra and drum ensemble of the highest standard - all accompanied by excellent local beer and tasty bratwurst - fantastic.

Otherwise life at Camping Jungfrau is low key and a great base from which to explore the Jungfrau region and beyond.

The whole family is looking forward to our next visit.

Some very minor negative points for those visiting with young ones: 1) there is a very rapid river running past the property, with a low fence which would benefit from being covered with chicken wire for safety - just in case your toddler escapes your view for a brief second. 2) the site is also used by coach tours with students and young travellers from all over the world as they tour Europe. Most of these kids are great, but one or two are quite loud, brash and foul mouthed. We had an otherwise wonderful meal in the on site restaurant punctuated by an exuberant young lady from Australia who used a selection of expletives to describe to her friends just how ******* wonderful the ******* Rosti was. Indeed in was - but my kids didn't need to hear it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here at a dorm last week. My experience was simple wonderful. Ideal location to visit Jungfrau and Schilthorn. It has a restaurant, bar and a supermarket inside which are great. The scenic beauty around cannot be penned down. I was awestruck! would love to go back again and again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived much later than expected and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Reception had closed some hours ago and the restaurant team were great and helped us into our cabin/dorm and made sure that we got something to eat, despite us arriving minutes before they stopped serving for the night.

The campsite itself is excellent, with very good facilities, and in an idyllic Swiss mountain location with a truly stunning waterfall just above it cascading down the cliff, and great views down the valley.

The atmosphere is great, with a real buzz to the place, and a good mix of ages and nationalities using the site. The food and drink was good quality typical Swiss/alpine fare, and very welcome after a long queue for the tunnel from Italy.

The nearby 'waterfall in the rocks' was stunning, and this would be a great place to go walking from and to explore the Oberland area from. The weather wasn't great when we were there, but even in the rain this was a charming campsite and my girlfriend and I both agreed that we will certainly go back there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OllyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at camping jungfrau in a dorm. Had a great time, met some great people.

It is in a perfect location. You can see the snowy alps and waterfall over the valley, simply breathtaking.

The whole setup is great. There is a supermarket with everything, as well as a nice restaurant and bar. The whole place seemed to be kept clean and tidy. The shared bathrooms and my room were great. Did not have any problems. There is a kitchen and common room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with booking tours and catching trains etc.

My only negative is the cost of the wifi. It is quite expensive however the connection was fine.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend It to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleybrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We first took our family camping there many times when stationed in Europe with the Armed Forces and just loved it. We went back 2 years ago for the first time in 20yrs and then were back again with 2 of our adult children for a trip down memory lane for them in July.. Still the most beautiful camping area. We had a chalet style mobile home which was clean, comfortable with a lovely deck and table and chairs. We were greeted upon arrival and shown to the chalet. The staff were extremely helpful as usual at all times.

Room Tip: The mobile home style chalet was perfect. Bathroom and cooking facilities, bedding. 2 small bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SthAussietravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September 2012. Decided to rent a cabin as it was getting a little chilly for camping. The location couldn't be better, breathtaking scenery. Campsite is surrounded by waterfalls and snow capped mountains. Wake up to the sound of cow-bells! Take an after breakfast walk alongside the river where the water is the cleanest I have ever scene. One of if not the most beautiful places I have ever visited. My only issue is the price. Switzerland is not a cheap place to visit, and this is reflected in the prices in the campsite, and the cost of renting the cabin, which is very clean and functional, but very, very basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.7 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Jungfrau

Property: Camping Jungfrau
Address: In der Weid 406, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Jungfrau 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Service:Free Wifi Internet for all Camping Jungfrau guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Camping Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Jungfrau Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Camping Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing