We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming view and hostess”
Review of Chalet-Hotel Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet-Hotel Rosa
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A charming view and hostess”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in Lauterbrunnen and found the Chalet Hotel Rosa to be clean, comfortable, and convenient. It is near several good restaurants and the train station and close to the famous Horner Pub (home of the cliff jumpers). Carol, the hostess, was so helpful, friendly, and charming, both providing a delicious breakfast and helping us to settle into the area. The chalet is not fancy, but has a definite charm. We felt like one of the locals.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cleats126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    22
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We started off our stay in Lauterbrunnen in a less than desirable lodging, and thankfully found an available room at Chalet Rosa the next day. The location is perfect, central, easy to walk to restaurants, shops, and the train station. Best of all, Carol, the summer b&b manager, is friendly and easy going, and makes you feel relaxed and at home. The chalet itself is clean, nice facilities, with a great view of the waterfall from our room. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge listening to music and reading during one rainy afternoon. Breakfast, with eggs, is included. Carol even learned how to make eggs over medium for us Americans. :) She also packed us a lunch for a very reasonable price to take with us on our hike. You can also order dinner in advance. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N00sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had not planned nor could we plan a better, more friendly stay in the Jungfrau than here. Manager Carol gave us a room with view of the famous waterfalls and after a lovely breakfast even prepared a lunch for a completely wonderful day at "Top of Europe". Carols' hospitality and Chalet Rosas' level of service was second to none. A must to return.

Room Tip: Just ask Carol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family of four was lucky to find a room at Chalet Rosa when we drove into Lauterbrunnen without any advance booking at the beginning of August. This place is right on the main street, with restaurants, a waterfall, the tourist office and train station all just minutes away. The room had four beds, was sunny and spotlessly clean with a great bathroom. Though our window was out onto the main street, it was quiet at night (except for the church bells, which did not really bother us -- the windows are double glazed.) Carol is a very warm host, giving us plenty of advice and suggestions for things to do with the kids. She served up simple but delicious breakfasts of cereal, yoghurt, eggs and toast. At night, we were able to leave the kids in the room and sit in the cozy lounge room for a glass of a wine and read of our books. There was even a communal fridge in which we kept some fruit and other goods for packing picnic lunches/snacks. I would highly recommend this place for a family that wants to be centrally located. Gorgeous! - Corinna, Singapore

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BangkokRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for three nights in June, and absolutely loved it. It was by far our favorite stop on our 5 week tour of Europe. Our room was big (double bed and a bunk bed for the kids), clean and perfectly maintained. Carol is fantastic! She helped us plan all of our hikes, made dining and shopping recommendations and made a fabulous breakfast for us each morning with the most delicious farm fresh eggs.

Lauterbrunnen is a darling town, and the perfect place to stay if you want to tour both sides of the valley. Chalet Rosa is just a short walk through town to the train and cable car stations. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyY468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our Stay here on June 28th and 29th was excellent! Carol was wonderful and helped us in planning hiking trips around the area. She sets an excellent breakfast with cereals, coffee juice, milk, fruit and omelets. the rooms are very clean and the views are breathtaking. Carol even packed us lunches to take on our hikes! This hotel is an great place to use as a springboard into the Murren or Gimmelwald areas (sp).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wonderful place, clean and service is more than excellent and there is the finest of all is Ms. Carroll, who runs the place it's really rare figures from this life thank her with all my heart to treat and serve wonderful and for her lovely smile. EHAB and his family

Room Tip: Aplace that never forget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Staubbach
Hotel Staubbach
#1 of 4 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Rosa

Property: Chalet-Hotel Rosa
Address: Beim Alten Schulhaus, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, fully-refurbished Swiss Chalet in the heart of Lauterbrunnen on the main street, 7 minutes walk from the railway station. All bedrooms have ensuite bathroom facilities, valley views, some look out onto the Staubbach waterfall, a very stylishly appointed lounge and dining room. There is car-parking at the rear of the chalet and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet-Hotel Rosa Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing