We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Glacier Fed Waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trummelbach Falls

Trummelbach Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.80*
and up
Eiger - Jungfrau Glacier Panorama View (from Zurich)
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Glacier Fed Waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been to this place a no of times and everytime i feel the same Awe and Beauty no matter which time of the day or which time of the year. Reaching trummelbach falls is fairly simple. You can take the train to Lauterbrunnen and there will be a Post Bus (Yellow & Black) towards Stechelberg. The name of the Stop is Trummelbachfalle, you can get down walk past a Gift Shop and you will reach a small wooden cabin and door next to it, you have to pay here to go through. Entry price is 11 CHF and 4 CHF for Kids (6-15 Years). The falls are open from 9AM - 5 PM from April-November. In July and August from 08:30 AM - 18:00. The Falls drain the Big Three of Bernese Oberland, the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau and carries almost 20,000 Litres of Water per second. The name trummelbach literally means beating of Drums and you will understand why when you visit, the water pounds on the rocks inside the mountains. Dont get fooled by it being in category of Waterfalls, this is no normal waterfalls, these waterfalls are actually inside a mountain, so you make your way through stairs and paths into the mountain and see these waterfalls virtually making the mountain hollow and they falls are inside the mountains making it now accessible to Public.The Flow of the water varies month on month. In total there are 10 Waterfalls, Waterfall 6-10 can be accessed using a Lift and 1-5 by going downstairs. Easier is to First take the Lift visit 6-10 and then walk down, easier than taking stairs up. Dont underestimate any one of them, each one of the is amazing, my Personal Favorite is CorkScrew and you will understand why its named like this when you see it, water twists and turns through the rocks and cuts into it making it look like a corkscrew. If you are travelling from Zurich i will suggest to get a Day pass, you can return the same day and it will cost much less than buying individual tickets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank GlobeTrotterTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    351
    65
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see when in this valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

There were a lot of visitors but plenty of parking spaces. We took the elevator and then hiked down. Great place to take pictures of the valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
566 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Forget the American misuse of the word awesome - this is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Last year in America I ordered a mushroom pizza. The waitress described it as ‘awsome’. Well, if a mushroom pizza is awesome, I don’t know how she would describe the Trummelbach Falls! It is a natural wonder of ten powerful glacier waterfalls, but uniquely they are all within the mountain rather than cascading outside. A series of galleries and tunnels take you inside the mountain where a number of viewing platforms to allow you to see the thundering falls and gaze at the awesome power. It is quite rightly designated a UNESCO world natural heritage.

The falls are easy to get to from Interlaken (a train to Lauterbrunnen – a regular and frequent service – where the bus awaits timetabled to meet the train). It is only a short 3km bus journey and if you have a half-fare Swiss Rail Card it can also be used on the bus. In late October when we visited the place was fairly quiet, but undoubtedly the better for it. It is only a short stroll from the bus stop to the entrance where a lift takes you to what is essentially the beginning (you can walk down from where the lift takes you, but there are only a couple of viewing points lower down).

It is not easy to negotiate for anyone with mobility difficulties, as there are numerous steps, which can be wet and a bit slippery. There are also some steep drops that might be a bit off-putting for those who don’t like heights. However, don’t let this put you off. I don’t like heights, and there are many places I won’t go, but I did manage to see all of this so it is not too bad (there are substantial safety rails next to any drops, and the path wide enough not to have to walk on the edge, although it was fairly quiet when I went). Also, my wife has mobility difficulties but she made it from the lift up the first lot of steps and then along a level walkway that runs high up beside a thundering river of water to a number of the viewing galleries, before it reaches more stairs. These are the longest set of steps, going to the uppermost chambers, so she returned down from here to wait in a lower viewing gallery while I continued upwards. So those with walking difficulties should not be deterred, as it is not too difficult to see most of it.

Mushroom pizza awesome indeed – this is awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank malabarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trummelbach falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My favorite place in the world...so far. The waterfall is so huge that at times i was scared of the ground underneath me being blown away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bahroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very cool waterfall experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Haven't been inside a mountain before to see waterfalls but it was well worth it. I would like to see this in the spring as it would be incredible to see the force of water at that time. Impressive enough in late autumn.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoustonMissionTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trummelbach Falls also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Trummelbach Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing