We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food - not great service”

Restaurant Schuetzen
Ranked #16 of 16 Restaurants in Lauterbrunnen
Price range: $9 - $50
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Schützen is a hotel and restaurant situated at the heart of the Bernese Oberland. It is not just the food that makes it a popular venue. The landscape of the Lauterbrunnen Valley - the so-called ?Valley of Waterfalls? - will take your breath away. The restaurant is situated at the foot of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau and visitors can enjoy a wide range of sporting activities and the splendours of the natural environment. The menu serves local and international dishes. There is a particularly good selection of fondues, röstis and raclettes. The railway station at Lauterbrunnen is only a 5 minute walk away and the bus stop is just in front of the building.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food - not great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ate here with some friends and we all enjoyed our meals which were reasonably priced. The Rosti was really good, one of the best we had while in Switzerland. Another plus is that this restaurant is open later than many others in Lauterbrunnen. The big minus was the service. The waiter was in a hurry for us to order, eat, and leave, and emphasized this repeatedly. At the end of our meal one of our party asked for a glass of water and the waiter refused saying that they were closing...what's up with that? Note that before we decided to eat here we checked with them and were told that they closed at around 10:30 to 11:00 pm. We were finished with our dinner shortly after 10...well ahead of the time given to us earlier. Overall the food is good, service was not, and there are other restaurants in Lauterbrunnen with both are great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Came back again & again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided to come to restaurant scheutzen for lunch one day and absolutely loved it! So much so we came back twice more for dinner on a short stay in Lauterbrunnen. Andreas was a fantastic host and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. We had a great laugh with the waiter from czech republic as well. We found the food to be awesome. Great flavours, good sized meals and the cheapest in town! An awesome view accompanies great food and my partner absolutely loved the 2L boot beers! If your looking for home style traditional swiss cooking with a great view then definitely check this place out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keirashae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok service, Ok food but never order the green salad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Just finish our diner there, the food is ok and nothing extraordinary. The service that we have is ok as well. However, we are totally disappointed with the so called "green salad" that are nothing more than just a tiny bowl of cabbages with simple Caesar sauce. This tiny bowl of effortless dish cost us 6.5fr. With about the same pricing (Main course, soup, salad, desert), I would consider going back to hotel oberland's restaurant that I had a day before, where the food quality is a few notches above this one.

Helpful?
Thank alfchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Absolutely shocking service...treated us like lepers - no smile, told us tap water had to be ordered by the litre + not free (whilst others helped themselves to free water in carafes...) + held her hand up when we asked a question.ordered a 'two in one' cheese fondue priced at 25chf- only to be charged for 2 fondues for 50chf at the end! i had already clarified with the rude cold waitress when ordering so questioned the bill only for the manager/owner to be equally rude + refuse to adjust it despite the menu clearly stating 25 per person NOT per fondue! police were very helpful in sorting things out. please dont waste your time nor stomach space here!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wasabido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but food a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The restaurant was delightful and a local musical group added to a very convivial atmosphere, Unfortunately I found the dish I ordered somewhat disappointing, although they kindly omitted the cheese as requested. The rosti had several hard pieces, as though overcooked at the edges, the salami (4 small pieces) was quite tough and the quantity of mushrooms and tomato was quite small. I enjoyed the accompanying mixed salad, which was fresh (lettuce, tomato, carrot, sweetcorn in dressing).
My daughter had pasta and it was very bland with only a small quantity of the accompanying meat, she consequently left most of it.
Our friend had the schnitzel and this was quite satisfactory.
We had eaten elsewhere in the locality the previous night, and overall had enjoyed the food there more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schuetzen also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Schuetzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing