We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hearty Swiss meal”

Hotel Oberland Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The hotel Oberland's restaurant is located in the centre of the village just an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. We are open daily from 11.30 am to the evening. Our menu has everything from soups, snacks and salads, pizzas, pasta, meat and fish dishes and of course traditional Swiss dishes of fondues and röstis. Our extensive desert menu has something for everyone from a small ice cream to our special chocolate cake. Relax in our garden with a cooling drink in summer or in our restaurant with a hot chocolate in winter. Free parking is available and a bus stop a few meters away.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hearty Swiss meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've eaten many times in the Oberland and never had a bad meal. The deserts are also great. The Rosti and Schnitzel are my 2 favourites (although there are several different Rostis to choose from). The Strudel is also great. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixie_dean_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    194
    36
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We loved the Swiss fondue and went back a second night to have some Rosti. The staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Sitting outside on the porch was beautiful. The chocolate dessert was excellent too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank beerquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“HAVE A OSSIE PIZZA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Best feed in Lauterbrunnen, run by an Aussie from Newcastle.
All food good, enjoyed an 'Ozzie Pizza' in Switzerland.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great Rosti”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had struck up a conversation with another couple at a restaurant in Austria, when he remarked "wait till you get to Switzerland. The food's half as good and twice as expensive as here". Well, night one in Lucern nearly proved him right. But then we moved on to Lauterbrunnen.

It was difficult to find anything open for dinner in October: most places had finished their summer season and would not open again until the ski season arrived. But a local pointed us to the Oberland. There we found a warm welcome, and a spot right next to the bar where the staff kept us entertained. We had an Irish waiter, an Australian waitress, and I couldn't determine the nationality of the other waitress, but surprisingly no Swiss nationals on site.

Food was excellent. It was my first exposure to Rosti, a Swiss staple, and their variations on the theme were very good indeed. Drink prices were reasonable, and it ended up costing us around the same as anywhere else in Europe. Servings were very generous, and after a hearty main course we found we didn't need deserts.

The next day the Oberland closed its doors like so many other places in the Swiss alps had already done. But for us it didn't matter. We'd gotten a great Swiss meal at a great price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westendgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Swiss food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had the traditional Swiss rosti and found that to be excellent. The salads were also very good. Be sure to make reservations!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim5911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Oberland Restaurant also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Murren, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Oberland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing