We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location for this tired hostel/hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
597 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Wonderful location for this tired hostel/hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The part of the hotel we stayed in was like a hostel, but the most expensive 'hostel' we've ever stayed in. We were greeted by a mild mannered lady who appeared helpful, then went off speaking badly of us not knowing that we understood german. It was however clean, although tired and could do with a thorough redecoration. We sat outside on the veranda area after a long journey, hoping to get a drink or bite to eat, but were told that the restaurant didn't serve food or drinks at lunchtime! We were not the only people to think that the restaurant part might serve food and drinks at this time, as many other people were also turned away. The area is wonderful, but you can do better than this hotel, but be prepared to pay for it. Also be aware that if you book with Hostelworld, your deposit goes to them not the hotel, so you pay the full price hen you arrive. We paid about 95 swiss franks for one night for a room for 3 people. Also, in our 3-bedded room, we were expected to bring sleeping bags, but our 'helpful' lady gave us some sheets but only after another admonishment.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CardiffMaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here and had a Very enjoyable experience. Let me first say that though the hotel is just OK it hardly matters because the area is SO beautiful. I would stay anywhere to come here again. That aside, hotel is a bit of a walk from the train station- (not a big deal except for us dumb Americans with too much luggage). There are a lot of steps to climb with your luggage too with no elevator. Also the halls smelled old and musty,
But the room was very large and clean. Small TV and funky hard to use shower in the tub, but the view of the waterfall right out our window was so amazing it seemed to eclipse everything. There is an indoor pool which was cold, but very nice and an infrared room we used both after a long hike one day. Breakfast was adequate by European standards. We had dinner in the restaurant too. Food was excellent, but charging for tap water when it is flowing down from the mountain everywhere? Really?
I would probably not stay here again, but rather up the mountain in Murren or gimmelwald.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a nice position on the main street in Lauterbrunnen.Our room faced onto the street with a balcony which look out towards The Jungfrau and the nearby falls.The room itself was basic with a dark brown bathroom and a very small old portable television but with such a view from the balcony the tele is not really needed.No tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame.Never used the pool in the hotel but did use the public outdoor one in the village which was excellent.Used The Horner Pub and the bar of The Jungfrau Campsite both nearby which I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My family had the chance to eat at the Hotel Jungfrau on a recent trip to Lauterbrunnen. We found it to be a wonderful authentic meal with great and friendly service. We had the schnitzel cordon bleu which was pretty good. I really enjoyed the chefs salad. The location is right on the Main Street with amazing views of the valley. This is a great option for an authentic Swiss meal in one of the prettiest valleys on earth.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
889 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

While we did not stay at the hotel, we did have dinner there. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal there. Our orders were wiener shnitzel, cordon bleu, risotto and fondue. All were delicious. If I am ever in the area again, I would eat here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had the absolute pleasure of staying in the Hotel Jungfrau - Lauterbrunnen, 6 Nights. From 16/03/2013.

Now after 12 Ski and Snowboarding holidays in Europe and USA. This hotel and Ski location is the only place where I would return, the following year.

No word's can even begin to explain the surreal views from this hotel's location.

5 Star service from hotel owner - Bridgette and staff. The hotel Jungfrau is like no other and simply amazing.

All I can say is: Continetnal Breakfast is Great. 3 Course dinner, varied, Swiss, plenty of good food and exactly what's needed after a brilliant day on the slopes. (Good Vege option aswell).

Perfect Location, Traditional Swiss hospitality. Refreshing indoor swimming pool with amazing view of waterfall's. Also theres an infra red sauna cabin called a pysiotherm which is superb.

Free, freshly ground coffee machines. Massive TV / Chill-out / Kid's room with a good wi-fi connection and panoramic view.

Perfect location for all ski areas. i.e Wengen, Jungfrau, Murren and overlooked Grindelwald first, Grosse Scheidegg ( massive empty blue runs ).

Thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 22, Views unforgettable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bej01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Location is everything and the Jungfrau's location offers magnificent views up , surely, one of the outstanding valleys in the Alps if not the world. That was the outstanding bit... everything else was decidedly average. But there's nothing wrong with average so long as you are not expecting more! I was on a last minute Skiing package based at the Jungfrau. It was cheap, very cheerful and I had a great holiday. Having said that, the stay was tinged with little hints of cost cutting, especially regarding meals which ,given the generosity of other facilities, (free coffee all day, free access to swimming pool, free wine with meals) seemed a trifle out of kilter withe overrall character of the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hnb0y10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen

Property: Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen
Address: Fuehren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing