We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Crystal
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Silberhorn(Lauterbrunnen)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Steinbock(Lauterbrunnen)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Horner(Lauterbrunnen)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Oberland(Lauterbrunnen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baeren(Wengen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
15
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall elevatorcommon roombeautiful valleyhotel oberlandthe main streetfridgetvwifiviewbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Apparently, the owners of Hotel Oberland have taken over the administration of the rooms at the Crystal.

The Crystal lies above a sporting goods shop, has a small elevator and modern, spacious rooms. If you are a family of up to 5, you can easily fit into one of the rooms here.

We had room number 20 at the top of the building and with a balcony facing out onto the main street with a view down the valley and to Staubachfalle which is lit during the evening.

Lauterbrunnen is a pretty typical Swiss village that quiets down around 22:00 and the windows have special blinds that block out some sound and lots of light, so you don't get woken up by the light in the early morning.

The views from the balcony are unbeatable! The train station is a quick walk away. The bus stop to Interlaken is right outside the hotel and just across the street on the way to the end of the valley.

The room had plenty of space and was very clean. We only stayed one night, so can't comment on the daily cleanings, but I suspect they are very good.

If you want to eat at the Oberland, make sure to reserve a table. The restaurant was packed, inside and outside.

Marianne

Room Tip: Best is a room out toward the main street and with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MariPottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

What a great hotel! Smack in the middle of town, large and spacious room with everything we needed and the view from our window must have been one of the best in town. Mark and Ursula are great hosts and operate the Hotel Oberland across the street as well (which incidentally is the best stop in town for meals).

This Hotel would have to be one of the best in town for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable room in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bassboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Crystal for 4 nights. It is centrally located on the main street in Lauterbrunnen only 5 minutes from the train station, and very close to the Oberland Hotel which has a fantastic restaurant.

We were given a very spacious twin room with a private balcony overlooking the valley. The room also has tea and coffee facilities, a tv, a small fridge, and a basic bathroom. It took us a few minutes to discover the roll down blinds on the windows and initially thought there were only sheer curtains - look for the metal poles hanging inside by the windows, bend the poles in two places and you are then able to roll the blinds up and down.

Internet is very reasonably priced at 5 CHF for the whole stay. Breakfast is basic but yummy, with cheese, meat, bread, lovely croissants, jam, yoghurt and juice. The hot chocolate is fantastic. I can also highly recommend the hot chocolate with whipped cream at the internet cafe down the road!

There was only one incident that was a bit negative. Initially the service was wonderful, and the owner very nicely let us use her laptop and hotel printer to book train tickets. We were so appreciative of her kindness. However, we had an unfortunate incident with her a few days later. The breakfast room has an incredible view down the valley to the mountains and waterfalls, but there is only one table that is against the wall and has no view. After being seated at this table twice in a row we politely requested a table with a view the next morning, so we could enjoy it while we were ate. We were given a better table the next day, but the owner also made a sarcastic comment about how we didn't really need a view for the 'half an hour we'd be eating breakfast', and people who stayed longer expected to get the same good tables every morning. This was the only negative and wouldn't stop me from recommending the hotel, but it was a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Crystal. Our room was very spacious and had an excellent view from the balcony. The owners were very attentive and responsive to questions we had or requests (for hairdryer, extra key, etc.) The breakfast was excellent too - the owners remembered individual preferences the next day which was a nice touch. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This hotel isn't luxurious but is very good value for money. The room was huge (lots of space for a stroller and other baby gear). We were able to use the extra twin bed for a changetable (the hosts thoughtfully put a towel down for us). There is plenty of space to hang clothes for a longer holiday and a nice, empty fridge to keep drinks (or baby food) cool. The hotel was nice and quiet as well. The bathroom was huge and the real bonus was a lovely balcony with chairs and a small table to sit on. Breakfasts were typically Swiss - assorted breads, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurt, etc. and the hosts remembered your hot drink selection for the next day so they could ask you if, for example, you wanted hot chocolate again.

A real bonus for us was the high speed wireless internet for only CHF 5 for the entire stay. A baby cot was also available for CHF 10 per night.

This hotel isn't luxurious but good, clean and simple Swiss fare and makes a great base for seeing the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews