We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 days in Lauterbrunnen walking in alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Horner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Horner
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
magherafelt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“7 days in Lauterbrunnen walking in alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Back again this year at the Horner on the Corner excellent accommodation,great weather and superb scenery.Visited on foot Rock Stock Hutte,Gimavald,Murren,Wengen,Kliene Shidig,Gross Shidig,Ishenflu,ended with Helicopter trip past N Wall Eiger etc.
Great craic in the Horner each night,Angie and her staff really goood.If you go to this area and accommodation you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bobeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Horner (not the hotel) for 3 nights in May. We stayed in the studio apartment on the lower level. Theresa (the hostess) and Chico (the resident dog) were wonderful hostess and host. The gardens and grounds are beautifully kept and full of flowers and fruit trees. The studio apartment had one large room with comfy bed, sofa, TV and table with chairs under the window with great view of the Jungfrau. Enjoyed having breakfast there each morning. The kitchen, small and compact, had everything needed (even a freezer so we could make ice!) to prepare meals. The bathroom, also compact, was clean and efficient. There is a covered patio area with table and chairs that has a fantastic view of mountains, waterfalls, pastures of grazing sheep and cows, great place to enjoy a glass of wine. The train station, grocery store, numerous restaurants and laundry are all within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay in the studio because it was private and the views were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marci88mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

If you take a quite stunning location like Lauterbrunnen, you'd be surprised you could get comfortable accommodation at a great price. Walk onto the balcony and you have a view of staggering cliffs, mountains and waterfalls, and the gentle ring of cowbells.

Hotel Horner is divided into two separate buildings: the hotel itself with pub below, and the apartment block with four levels. We stayed in the top apartment for 240 euros for two nights. The apartment accommodated six people in a double room and in two rooms with double bunk beds. It's not exactly five star with servants waving palm fronds, but it is really comfortable and spacious (and they called ours the "small" apartment).

There is free wifi internet and you have access to all the hotel facilities like laundry, computer with internet and pool table.

From Lauterbrunnen you have a range of excursions, including the famous lifts to the top of Jungfrau or Schilthorn. Grindelwald and Interlaken are down the road, but I recommend a 20 euro return trip to Murren, which gives you full view of the Jungfrau range (with Eiger and Munch), along with some cute hikes into the hillside above Murren, with wooden barns, cowbells and a friendly restaurant/cafe on the hillside.

The main hassle with the apartment is that it sits close to the Horner pub, which typically runs to about 2am, sometimes with dancing. This affects the double bedroom mostly, so either sleep heavily, pack earplugs or join the fun.

Definitely recommended as value for money in a top location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erichero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trip_too_far
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

If you don't want to spend too much money eating at one of the restaurants attached to the local hotels (Oberland etc) this is the place to go.
They do a BBQ for CHF 14.00 with as much salad as you can eat. It's good salad too.
It's a bit too dark inside but the staff and other customers are perfectly nice. There is no problem with taking babies and kids there and I some there.
There aren't many options for vegetarians.
The place could also do with a good clean and updating of the decor.
Avoid the cheeseburger which is a sad looking thing but the french fries are nice and you get a big portion. The staff don't expect a tip as it's a pub.
There aren't that many seats inside but more outside.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_too_far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magherafelt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

Best 4 days holiday in lauterbrunnen,Angie and staff more than helpful,they know how to treat customers and make them feel part of the place.Accommodation was excellent I just loved the place .

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horner

Property: Hotel Horner
Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Horner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horner Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing