We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view, the view, the view...Chalet Horner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Horner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Horner
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Studio City, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The view, the view, the view...Chalet Horner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Let me start off by saying I believe there is some confusion - this review is regarding CHALET Horner, which is where we stayed, run by Teresa Steiger. It looks as though some others have also reviewed Chalet Horner here - not to be confused with Hotel Horner, which is the one with the pub attached. They are just down the street from one another... easy to do, as there is only one street in Lauterbrunnen and it is small...

No matter where you stay in Lauterbrunnen it is doubtful you'll be disappointed, because the valley itself is so gorgeous. At Chalet Horner, however, you also have a wonderful large balcony from which to enjoy said view to it's fullest. And it is truly awe-inspiring.

The rooms themselves at Chalet Horner are comfortable and, for the price (for Switzerland), well-appointed. They're clean, well-maintained, and have pretty much all the amenities. There is a kitchenette in every room, so you are able to make your own meals, which saved us time and money. Teresa was accommodating to our schedule and we were able to reserve just a few days, which was all we had. We hope to go back for longer. It is very close to everything, no need for a car, the train station is a five minute walk away. We were very happy with everything overall.

That being said, this is not a B&B, but apartments you rent, rather than a hotel with service 24 hours and breakfast made for you in the morning. This was fine for us, but some may prefer the type of service you would get at Hotel Horner, which we also checked out while we were there. Since the pub's sign declared "The best pub in town because we're the ONLY pub in town!" we just had to go in and try it out. We enjoyed it immensely and it seemed like it would have also been a good place to stay. However, I didn't notice the same type of balconies on it as we had at Chalet Horner, which in my book made all the difference. To sit out on that balcony and eat our breakfast in the morning, or our pizza at night, or coffee in the afternoon - it was a never-ending show was you could see four waterfalls including the closest one, which is an easy walk and climb up to the bottom of it.

While the Chalet itself is very nice, I wouldn't normally rate this place with 5 stars based on the rooms themselves, which were nice, but small and somewhat dated. However, the balcony and views out every window, as well as the cleanliness and comfort of the furnishings, more than made up for that, and for that balcony and view alone I'd give it five stars. But the dated-ness of the rooms took it back a bit for me, so I can't give it a full five stars especially based on other experiences I've had elsewhere. Though the price was good especially by Swiss standards, and as I said, Teresa was a gracious hostess. If (and when) we return to Lauterbrunnen, we will definitely stay here again, and will recommend it highly to our friends.

For information about Chalet Horner (not Hotel Horner) look it up on HomeAway.com, as I can't seem to find it here on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jungfrau (single bedroom with kitchenette) and Schilthorn (one bedroom with kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Horner Apartments , directly opposite the hotel in 2009 , in the bottom apartment and again Oct.2011 with our three children on the third floor.
Fantastic location in the most beautiful Valley, picture perfect views from each apartment. Everything you could possibly need, decor is a little old fashion but for the price and location,not an issue.
Angie , who runs the pub and organises the apartments is the sweetest person, nothing is too much trouble. On our first visit we left items behind, on ringing her she posted them , even including some swiss chocolates. what service!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessedgreatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very disappointed in Chalet Horner. Very worn and dated for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huggyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We didn't stay here but after discovering this pub we ate here 3 nights in a row. Their so called "snacks" are huge cooked meals, very delicious and soooo cheap. We loved the cosy atmosphere and friendly staff especially the lovely Stefi who is always smiling. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretFAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our family spent a week in Lauterbrunnen staying in Horner apartments 3 and 4 in the building across the pub. The rooms were clean and spacious and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed to cook our meals. Laundry (coin operated) in the building. Everything works. Picture perfect views of the valley and the town from all windows (bathroom too!). Very reasonable prices for the apartments - especially a good deal for larger groups, and also the pub seemed to be cheaper than other places around the town. Special thanks for Angie and her stuff - helpful, easy to deal with, informal and cordial. Will definitely stay here again if (when?) we are back to this beautiful valley.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkuznetsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the top apartment which was big and fully furnished. Everything works here. Inspite of so many gadgets in the apartment, we did not have problems with any oft them. The view from all sides is just awesome. We cooked our dinner at the kitchen and saved lot of money beside having home food. I have yet to find such energetic woman as Angie. She was helpful proactive and dropped us at the station carrying most of the heavy luggages to the car. Lauterbrunnen is the place to stay in Switzerland for its quite surroundings and most of the beautiful tourist places near by. Walking around Laterbrunnen is also worth the time spent. The Staumbach falls which you can see from the balcony adds life to the whole place. The half hour walk to the Tummelbach falls by the stream was also very ncie. Its highly recommended place to stay in Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Top apartment is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was a comfortable place to stay with a superb view of the wonderful valley and waterfalls. Teresa was very helpful and we really appreciated the Lindt chocolates and other goodies she left for us. Very convenient to the station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horner

Property: Hotel Horner
Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Horner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horner Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing