We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond memory of Horner”
Review of Hotel Horner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Horner
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fond memory of Horner”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the top apartment which was big and fully furnished. Everything works here. Inspite of so many gadgets in the apartment, we did not have problems with any oft them. The view from all sides is just awesome. We cooked our dinner at the kitchen and saved lot of money beside having home food. I have yet to find such energetic woman as Angie. She was helpful proactive and dropped us at the station carrying most of the heavy luggages to the car. Lauterbrunnen is the place to stay in Switzerland for its quite surroundings and most of the beautiful tourist places near by. Walking around Laterbrunnen is also worth the time spent. The Staumbach falls which you can see from the balcony adds life to the whole place. The half hour walk to the Tummelbach falls by the stream was also very ncie. Its highly recommended place to stay in Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Top apartment is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was a comfortable place to stay with a superb view of the wonderful valley and waterfalls. Teresa was very helpful and we really appreciated the Lindt chocolates and other goodies she left for us. Very convenient to the station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This was our second time in Lauterbrunnen and we were lucky enough to get a great apartment at a great price just across from the Horner Pub. The Apartment (#3) was clean and spacious, kitchen was very modern. The bathroom was a little tight but had the best view I have ever seen from a toilet. Some of the guests are groups of BASE jumpers which can be a bit noisy at times, but overall we loved our stay and our little piece of Swiss life. Amazing views from every window and an easy walk to anything in town (the town is so small everything is walkable). Horner Pub and Bar is the only thing going at night so its great to be stubmling distance from it. We will be back and we will stay here again. I miss the beautiful valley and it's lovely people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrvlCrayZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Great location to shoot locations, base jump, ride, whatever! Great little pub, wonderful innkeeper and unbeatable way to feel like your really living in the Alps! The housing units re the way to go with kitchen, HOT water and great views!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemonEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the apartment unit just opposite the pub and had a lovely experience how the Swiss live! We had 2 bedrooms, balcony, kitchen and living room all to ourselves with excellent views of the church and valley and the nearby Staubbach Falls.

The only gripes are the hotel is soooo far from the train station and the mattresses were a bit too flat and soft and probably needed re-stuffing but overall it was clean, warm and comfy. We also did our laundry and made our own breakfasts. There is a laundromat and a COOP store nearer the train station. We were not bothered by the church bells as the windows were close throughout the night or maybe we just collapsed after all the incredible sightseeing and exercises from walking to and fro the train station. :-P

Jimmy.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babykailan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magherafelt
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Back again this year at the Horner on the Corner excellent accommodation,great weather and superb scenery.Visited on foot Rock Stock Hutte,Gimavald,Murren,Wengen,Kliene Shidig,Gross Shidig,Ishenflu,ended with Helicopter trip past N Wall Eiger etc.
Great craic in the Horner each night,Angie and her staff really goood.If you go to this area and accommodation you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bobeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at Chalet Horner (not the hotel) for 3 nights in May. We stayed in the studio apartment on the lower level. Theresa (the hostess) and Chico (the resident dog) were wonderful hostess and host. The gardens and grounds are beautifully kept and full of flowers and fruit trees. The studio apartment had one large room with comfy bed, sofa, TV and table with chairs under the window with great view of the Jungfrau. Enjoyed having breakfast there each morning. The kitchen, small and compact, had everything needed (even a freezer so we could make ice!) to prepare meals. The bathroom, also compact, was clean and efficient. There is a covered patio area with table and chairs that has a fantastic view of mountains, waterfalls, pastures of grazing sheep and cows, great place to enjoy a glass of wine. The train station, grocery store, numerous restaurants and laundry are all within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay in the studio because it was private and the views were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marci88mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
756 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Horner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Horner

Property: Hotel Horner
Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Horner 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Horner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Horner Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing