We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rustic accomodation at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Im Rohr

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Im Rohr
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Basic rustic accomodation at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Chalet im Rohr, the first being in 1995. We again choose this hotel as its affordable. All other hotels are SOOOOO expensive. I would describe this hotel as rustic. The floors creak, the mattress is a bit soft and showers and toilets are shared, but it's a great location at a great price. Each room has its own basin and table and chairs and is quite spacious, and the quilts keep you cosy warm overnight. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets on each floor and we never had to wait for either during our 3 nights there in June 2012. The owner Elspeth and her husband are welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a sensational view of Staubbach Falls, and there is a verandah to sit on in the evenings to enjoy a well deserved refreshing beverage (brandies and red wine were our choice, but not mixed together of course). Only word of warning is to pack earplugs, as the hotel is right next to a gorgeous church, and the bell in the church sounds every quarter Hour and on the hour. An earplug and a full day up the mountain cuts out the sound. I'd highly recommend chalet im rohr as for the price you can then afford to eat out, although a kitchen is available for guests to use.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Myself and two friends stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. I wish I had stayed longer. The owners were really nice and helpful. The views from the balcony were breathtaking! The rooms were very clean, and it was in a great location. 5 mins from the train station. We rode our bikes and im so glad we did. You get to see, feel, and be a part of the stunning landscape around you. It really is a beautiful place! I wouldnt hesitate to go back. Great place for base jumpers, though personally, I think they are crazy!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place is also called Gausthaus Im Rohr. It is very cheap compared to the hotels in town, but is more like a hostel than a hotel, so if you are expecting a hotel, this is not the place to stay. Rooms/furniture/carpet/lino are old, but clean, and it is nice staying in a swiss chalet rather than a hotel block building. Shared bathrooms have plenty of hot water and power, and are clean. There is a common kitchen (stove, oven, fridge - no microwave or freezer), which we (and everyone else) made use of while we were there as it is so much cheaper to cook your own dinner than to eat out in the village. Lots of pots and crockery, and kitchen is clean.

Many base jumpers staying at the chalet during our 6 nights there, there is a room downstairs where we saw them prepping their gear in the evenings.

It is about a 8-minute walk from the train station to the guesthouse, past many of the hotels. No AC, so if you are going in summer it might be better to have a room without a balcony (!!) if you are paranoid about otherwise leaving your windows open at night. It is also next to the church and the church bells chime every quarter hour.

We enjoyed our time there and would stay there again if going back to Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies I think. We stayed in Room 33 (has a shared balcony), opposite it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Fantastic location with amazing huge waterfall view!!! Great deal for the price. Rooms are decorated in local Swiss style, very cozy. Showers and toilets located outside a room but there was a small sink and a mirror inside the room. This is a great place to stay for both couples and larger groups. Rooms have balconies with breathtaking waterfall view.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gab-Poz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Im Rohr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Im Rohr

Property: Chalet Im Rohr
Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Chalet Im Rohr Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing