We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill”
Review of Hotel Steinbock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Steinbock
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A great place to stay great views nice staff, i am half swiss and have been to switzerland many times and this is a gem and cheap as well. Food good and a lot of the locals seem to use it a lot that can only show its a good place to be. Will be booking again for next year with my daughter and her friend. If you are english a young english girl called alex is a great help if you find swiss german difficult to speak hope you enjoy 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

Paid a reasonably high price for this hotel and it really didn`t seem good value for what we got. Only booked it as nothing much was open and it was all we could get in April. Situation in town was good but the whole place is quite small.
Never need much help from hoteliers but the reception seemed particularly offhand and unhelpful. On our arrival we enquired if it would be a good time to visit the Jungfrau now and the unhelpful answer was <maybe>
We just took a guess and went anyway. As the trip is extremely expensive a little help from the locals would have been useful.
The whole place was extremely tired and dingy, the bathroom claustrophobic. Breakfast one of the worse ones we experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Location -- Hotel Steinbock is very conveniently located right across Lauterbrunnen station. There is a bus stop and a COOP store at the entrance. Additionally, the cable car to Grutschalp starts just outside the hotel. It is at one end of the main street of Lauterbrunnen with restaurants about 5-7 mins walk across the bend. The Steinbock restaurant is 2 mins away. Staying in Lauterbrunnen proved very effective to explore the Bernese Oberland. It was an excellent value for the benefits of the location.
Room – Ours was on the 2nd floor (No lifts, so had to carry our luggage 2 flights of stairs). The view from the room was pretty basic with some green and view of the hotel behind. The room was decent sized (in the European context). The beds were good and the linen and comforters clean. There were only 2 electrical outlets, one in the bathroom and one next to the door (none next to the bed) which made it very inconvenient to charge mobiles/cameras. The shower cabin was quite cramped as typical of most places we stayed. There is no AC/FAN so on a warm day it could get uncomfortable.
Service --- Personally we found the attitude cold and unfriendly. When we arrived, the lady at the reception did not even bother with a courtesy smile, but just asked us to follow her to our room which was a 2 mins walk in a separate building across the restaurant. There she opened the door and just nodded and left before we could ask her any questions. Even at breakfast, not even a courtesy “Good Morning” or “How are you doing”. For a night we were in a different room and had to shift to the other for the rest of our stay. Although the checkout was at 11 am, the cleaning lady was rushing us out at 9:00am.
Breakfast – The breakfast/dining area is warm and cozy. Breakfast was continental with cereal, bread, eggs, fruit, meat and yogurts and beverages.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlvrFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in a twin room, with a shared batroom facilities for the floor. Room was clean, but basic. Breakfast was not great, but there is a bakery and a shop across the road. Very close to cable car and train station, and only 5 mins from town centre.

Very good value, particularly for the area (100 CHF with discounts for stays over 3 nights).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank City_BreaksUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very convenient location, supermarket downstairs, close to the train station and cable cars to Murren. Yet so quiet. Noise from the train station is not a problem at all as the frequency of trains reduces significantly after 7:00PM. The superior rooms are in a newer building, about 50m away from the advertised building. That turned out to be even better as it was closer to the train station. The room was simple, but very clean and comfortable. Internet could easily be accessed from the room. The attached bathroom was also of decent size and very clean. Our hotel room and balcony looked directly out into the mountains. The view was beautiful. We were so happy that we could see the beautiful cows in the meadows from the room. Breakfast was delicious with good breads, croissants, cheeses, meats, jams, nutella, honey, juices, fruits, eggs, tea, coffee and milk. Overall, a very pleasant stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjt250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The location and dining area, esp. outside was really nice. The indoor areas would have been worn but nice, but the cigarette smoke and its smell was too overwhelming. Food was good. Our room had a fabulous view and a small porch, but otherwise was more like a spacious hostel, everything was threadbare. It seemed like a nice hotel about 20 yrs past its "remodel by" date.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnLady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Very near the train station in Lauterbrunnen. Great dining room overlooking the valley through large windows. Rooms are very comfortable and the staff is wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marietta1_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steinbock

Address: Bahnhofplatz 3822, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: $101 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Steinbock 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steinbock Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing