We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this not a 5 star hotel?”
Review of Grandhotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grandhotel Praha
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vysoke Tatry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We are just back from a 7 day stay in this wonderful hotel. Our family room was luxurious and spacious. We had 2 rooms .-separated by a sliding door and a separate bathroom. We stayed on a half board basis. The food was simply the best. The Pancake Chef in the morning was working flat out and the two Waiters, Daniel and Eric attended to our every need. We cannot praise this place enough. The Spa also was quite something. The outdoor hot pool was so unusual in the snow. It also had a great view of the town below all lit up.
I have run out of superlatives to praise this wonderful hotel. The shuttle bus to the ski resort was frequent and welcome after a hard day's skiing. Thanks everyone- we will be back.
jodyr

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, General Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Jody,

I am very sorry to respond to your review with such a delay. My apologies.

It has been our great pleasure to have you and your party as our guests. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next winter.

Delighted to hear how pleased you were with your stay. The only thing we wish we could change is the weather :o)

Sending our regards to all families and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is situated in the lap of nature, peaks towering to a height of 2000 m are within an "arm´s reach", wonderful view. Directly in front of hotel you can cross the country skiing or use the nearby chairlift. As compared to the previous period, the level of the hotel has improved in many ways, of course, the perfect cleanliness, more pleasant staff, better quality of food and beverages, and in particular many kinds of SPA, which does not mean that it could be even better. I would appreciate more published materials about surroundigs, maps etc and longer opening hours of SPA.

Room Tip: the higher the better, choos a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vale5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Vale5775,

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted you have noticed and appreciated the positive changes in the hotel since your last visit.

We competely agree, there is always room for improvement and therefore we kindly thank you for your tips for improvement in our concierge services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.

Kind regards,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've been there for New Year's holidays from 31.12.12 till 06.01.13. We were lucky to get accommodation in the hotel with good discounts, otherwise I don't think we would come there.
We were excited since the fist step in the hotel. All the staff was preparing for New Year Gala, but everyone was ready to help us.
Gala Dinner was great. And the same I can mention about everyday dinner. Great variety and taste! First two days we had board and then a la carte.
Of course morning board was also good. I was surprised by special cook who was responsible of pan cakes every morning.
SPA of the hotel is must be visited. You can find plenty of special treatments for body and face. Unfortunately I couldn't try all, but I was satisfied more than enough with those I had. I was impressed with relaxing 5 min break in a room with fireplace and a cup of tea before each procedure of SPA center.
Sauna area is well equipped, has Finnish, Turkish, bio and infrared saunas with small cold swimming pool. For swimming you cam try usual pool or outside one or you can relax in hot bath.
Definitely there are a lot of things to do if one is not skiing.
It seems to me the only not so great was the situation of the hotel. It is not comfortable to go to the slopes with equipment from the hotel - it is on the hill and the distance is about 1 km. We were driving to the ski center and back.
Ski deposit is not very big, so sometimes we found out that there is no free place on drying pannel.
The hotel is baby friendly, so it is possible to stay there with a baby. Our 9 months daughter liked the waiters very much.
The only not so great point wad the situation of Praha. The distance to the slopes is not walkable- hotel is on the hill and distance is about 1 km. We were driving there and back.
Ski deposit is not big, so sometimes we found out that all places on drying pannel are busy. But it wasn't a problem.
After all we decided to come back one day because we liked it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataliaTyalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Natalia,

We are delighted to hear of your satisfaction with your recent visit to the hotel. Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you liked the freshly made crepes by our chef each morning and that you discovered the many posibilities and tried the activities our region offers to our visitors.

During your future visits I wish to bring to your attention our complimentary ski bus (8 seater) which brings our guests to the ski slope and back. We also have a new ski depot for our guests - directly on the slope in the Taty Motion Ski Rental Area, which offers a lot of storage area for skis and ski boots of our guests.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grandhotel Praha during your visit to the High Tatras and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon.

Kind regards,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel, build at times of the Habsburg dominion will enthrall you with its elegance and gentility. If you want to end up relaxed, full of great memories and experiences, then this hotel is your cup of tea. The employees of the hotel are kind and caring, any matter will be solved few minutes from the time you adress your complain. You will surely be understood and replied, if you speak either English, Greman or Russian, Slovak, Czech, Polish. The cooking art of the cooks is imposing, most of the time will you be picking meals from Slovakia, Europe and world from rich buffet tables (with the exception of few dinners made in á la Carte style). The rooms are qiute neat and comfortable, and the hotel is gorgeously decorated in a nostalgic style. The another thing that made me think greatly in this hotel is the easy system of skiing - with the Skipass (for the whole High Tatras!), ski centre taxi, Tatracard for various discounts and a spacious ski centre with wide sort of fair quality skitracks. The thing i liked the most is the spa. It has a vast offer of saunas, swimming pools and recreational places - the whole spa complex certainly meets scandinavian standarts.

However, on the other side of coin, the prices arent so low, but it makes up for all the services included. You must be careful, when you book the rooms in the hotel because some rooms in the hotel arent so spacious as they seem on the photos. Spa area is also open only at the short periods of time in morning and evening.

To conclude, this hotel is one of the best options for you if you want to relax - it doesnt matter, in which way.

Room Tip: with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Damir,

Thank you kindly for your review. We are truly happy to hear your stay with us brought you back down the nostalgia lane and more importantly that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Pleased to hear you found our teammembers caring and helpful and the skiing posibilities in our area together with the hotel ski service comfortable.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, perhaps for a summer hiking vacation?

Kind regards,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I visited with the family, parents and sister's family this very nice hotel built in the early 20 th century. All interior exudes a century of history. I would like to pick up personnel reštarácii that NAMA mistake and food truly inspires the true gourmets. After a good meal is also undertaken by the operator in the bar. Staying in a hotel Grandhotelpraha Tatranska Lomnica really meet the expectations of quality services. A bead is perfect to relax in the SPA, which is ideal for relaxing the body and soul.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and perfect view of the Tatras valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Patrick,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor.

I see we had the pleasure of welcoming you during this Christmas period. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your vacation spent in our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the history and ambience of the hotel, which we are very proud of. Also happy to hear you found our cousine inspiring and the newly renovated Grand Mountain Spa a tue relax.

We hope to welcome you and your family again soon.

Wish you all the best in the New Year.

Kind regards,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights in deluxe room with panoramic view of Tatranska Lomnica during shoulder season in mid November. I have to say it was an amazing experience in every single detail. Newly refurbished spotless room with spacious bathroom was far behind our expectation. My wife liked the most Grand SPA with huge range of relaxing massages. Also sauna's world with unique outdoor open relaxing pool just under the stars was an exceptional experience - mainly after dark when the stars went up.

I am glad we had also an opportunity to try fine dining in hotel French restaurant. Perfect food and service delivered by dedicated professional staff under the executive supervision of F&B manager Mr. Radomir Kuban was truly fantastic. Based on my former overseas hospitality background I really liked their high standard of service and knowledge at all. It was always pleasure for us to spend time in any of F&B hotel outlets (open fireplace was another unique area) during our stay in Grandhotel Praha.

Once again thank you for awesome and memorable stay to all hotel staff members. We had a great time at this hotel and we can not wait to come back for next visit. For me Grandhotel Praha in Tatranska Lomnica is a real gem among the High Tatras hotels.

Room Tip: If you book via booking.com, it is better to take deluxe room to get from your stay more. The thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichalLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Michal,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor and sharing it with other travellers.

We are delighted to hear of your enjoyable stay. Pleased to hear you found our new LUX rooms comfortable and enjoyed the infinity pool in the Grand Mountain Spa. Also delighted to hear of your experience with the service and food in our restaurant.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The biggest disappointment I ever had. Please compare standard double room pictures presented on hotel’s web, tripadvisor or booking.com with real photos attached here. Pictures are improved by camera’s inability to capture details like smudges on a lampshades and carpet, scratches on the furniture etc. However cavity on the wall coating, almost 1,5 m long and 0,5 m wide, ready to drop out is clearly visible.
Buffet breakfast is till 10am but since 9.30 they do not refill food on the plates.
Details like, missing handkerchiefs in the bathroom or “do not disturb” label are just the peak of the iceberg.
We had broken socket of the main lamp, so we could use night-lights only. There are no spare sockets for charging phone or camera.

Room Tip: Do not take standard double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela K, Manager at Grandhotel Praha, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Mr. P,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I truly regret to hear of the poor standard of the room, in which you were accommodated and I am really sorry that due to the hotel’s occupancy we were unable to offer you an alternative room during your stay.
We have a wide range of rooms in the hotel, starting from Economy, Standard and most popular by our guests are the new LUX rooms and suites which were refurbished during our most recent reconstruction in winter 2011. We plan to continue with the rooms reconstruction and we hope to modernize all our rooms and thus offer our guests a high standard and comfort in the coming next few years.
We also have a Perfect Room Program in place aimed at fixing maintenance issues such as the ones you mentioned in your feedback. Due to a very busy summer and autumn season and high occupancy levels we were unable to perform the repairs in all the rooms. However the month of November is a shoulder season for us which will allow us to fix these issues and avoid similar guest disappointment in the future.
I understand our Quality Manager has been in contact with you and I am sorry to hear you have not accepted our apology.
We apologise once again for your disappointment and we thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely yours,
Daniela Krempaska
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vysoke Tatry
10.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
3.3 mi away
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
Grandhotel Stary Smokovec
#1 of 1 in Stary Smokovec
225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lomnica
Hotel Lomnica
#1 of 6 in Tatranska Lomnica
64 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horizont Resort
Horizont Resort
#2 of 3 in Stara Lesna
74 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#3 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Praha

Address: Tatranska Lomnica 8, Vysoke Tatry 05960, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Vysoke Tatry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Vysoke Tatry
Price Range: $109 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remarkable architectonic building - Grand Mountain Spa - near the resort Tatranská Lomnica Grandhotel Praha**** is located at the foot of the Lomnický Peak in the town of Tatranská Lomnica, in the heart of the High Tatras. It’s grand opening took place as far back as 1905. The hotel has a rich tradition, stylish interior, and unique cuisine.This 4 stars jewel provides 125 rooms and suites, surroundings of the top Tatras resort- ideal destination in winter as well as in summer, special care for families, place for ideal relaxation not only in luxurious interiors of the hotel but also in relaxation zone. Even the most demanding clients will be captured by the latest news and additions - luxurious Grand Mountain Spa, new rooms and mountain suites, some with fireplaces.Grandhotel Praha**** is the perfect place for relaxation and rejuvenation. The tradition of local climatic spas together with healing effects of the Tatra nature have been the main inspiration for the new Grand Mountain Spa, opened in 2012.Impressive outdoor and indoor facilities, pools, saunas, whirlpools, and relaxation rooms are supplemented by luxurious treatments. The highlight of the spa is the only outdoor heated infinity pool in the area with breathtaking views on the valley and mountain peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grandhotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Praha Hotel Vysoke Tatry
Grandhotel Praha Slovakia/Vysoke Tatry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing