We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 12 days in gorgeous location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
NorthStar...
Wimborne, Dorset
1 review
“Amazing 12 days in gorgeous location”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Despite a few days of unseasonable weather, we had an amazing time spent at this wonderful cottage in the hills. The views and serenity make this place along with the lovely welcoming pool. So peaceful both day and night. Terraces are great for either catching ( or avoiding) sun and the lights at night are very enchanting. Very clean and tidy with everything catered for. Absolutely a 5 star rental - enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillP85
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil, gem of a place”
Reviewed May 3, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 8 nights at this lovely gite near Tavira, if you've ever read 'Driving Over Lemons' by Chris Stewart this is about as close as I can imagine to the idyllic location that's described in the book! The gite is off the main road on fairly bumpy tracks (we had a tiny Ford KA which was fine but I'd suggest not taking a nice low sports car), by the time you reach the gite you feel in the middle of nowhere. It's very peaceful and quiet, other than the sounds of the crickets, honey bees and birds. As others have said, the photos don't do the views and surroundings justice.
The gite was professionally cleaned prior to our arrival, everything was spotless including all the crockery and glasses etc.
The bed was huge, although may be a tad firm for our liking, maybe something to be aware of if you've got a bad back.
There aren't any restaurants or bars within (close) walking distance so thoroughly recommend getting a hire car to go in to nearby towns for meals etc. Cooking facilities are good at the property but there isn't an oven (not that the advert would suggest otherwise) so don't get any pizzas/oven baked things. Also, if you're a BBQ lover, there aren't any BBQs allowed because of the forest fire risk in the national park.
Anne and Georges were fantastic hosts, really genuine, lovely people. They couldn't have done more to make our stay better. If you're looking for a getaway, where you can avoid the rat race of other tourists then this is the place for you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Hello Will,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and comprehensive review of your stay "in the middle of nowhere". We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Quinta da Murteira.
To answer your pertinent remarks and thus to enlighten our future guests:
-The dirt road is probably in the worst condition since we opened our cottage 12 years ago. The months of March and April were (after years of drough) very complicated: storms, very heavy rains, floods.
This road is a public one but the town does not care. So we decided to ask a private company to improve the path (at our expense). The work should start next week (a little late for you ...!)
-The oven: due to urbanistic restrictions we missed the space to place a conventional oven. Instead the cottage is equipped with a sophisticated mico-wave oven. It is therefore possible to cook pizzas or frozen dishes.
-The bedding: we have traveled all over the world and have never found a bed as comfortable as ours. In the rare cases where some people find the bed in the studio too hyge, there is the possibility of sleeping in the other room where the bedding is softer..
-Pictures: All the photos that appear on the Tripadvisor website were made by a professional photographer sent by Tripadvisor. According to them, these photos are exclusive and I can not add my own photos; I may be wrong. I will inquire .
-BBQ: in accordance with the law and located in a Nature Reserve (forest protection zone), BBQ is forbidden during any period of drought ... for example today with almost 30 ° and a strong wind. Instead we provide an electric grill ... less romantic but so much safer.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope that our answers will help future guests to choose their most suitable holiday location.

Anne and Georges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jensdance...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be!”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great and relaxing time at Quinta day Murteira. We can definitely recommend it to everyone who is looking for a place to relax in nature with sounds from birds and views over the valleys. Anne and Georges are great, friendly and helpful hosts who respect the privacy of their guests at any time. Thanks to them for the great accomodation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“if it was possible, more than perfect house and hosts.”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Incredible location, beautiful surroundings, beauty and serenity.
The house is superb, very comfortable, perfectly cleaned.
We enjoyed the fantastic views from the private swimming pool.
And the hosts were more than friendly, always ready to help.
A must in the nicer area of Algarve, near Tavira.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidC196...
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to relax and unwind !”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary. The host couple were fantastic and very helpful. In addition, they respected our privacy and left us to our own devices.

Our private pool was fantastic and we really enjoying walking in the surrounding area. Shopping was short drive down the road and Tavira and other Algarve locations were only 30-40 minutes away.

Would highly recommend staying here especially if you want to getaway from it all !

David and Rhona (Canada)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old60time...
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Amazing escape yet near to the coast.”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is such a great place to stay. if you like countryside listening to the birds and having amazing views it takes some beating. The casa de campo has everything you need plus TV, wifi. The pool was so good to dip into after a hot day out and about. You may notice the odd tractor coming up the valley but just wave at the farmer they are very friendly ( one day we had a tractor and a moped come up the valley!). What made it even more magical was sitting out of an evening and gazing at the stars with the finca, pool etc lit with small lamps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting.
Liked least: Just wanted some easy chairs on one side of property ( but this is being really picky)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing